We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning setting, beautiful place, excellent...”

Review of Garth Barns

Hafod Barn from pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn Garth Lake at Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn
Garth Lake at Sunset
Hafod Barn
Hafod Kitchen
Bedroom 5, Hafod
Bedroom 1 Hafod
Bedroom 2 Hafod
Oak Wood on the Farm Trail
Ty Nant Lounge
Bedroom 2 Ty Nant
Bedroom 1 Ty Nant
Bathroom 4 Ty Nant
Siteplan, Garth Farmhouse, Hafod and Ty Nant
Hafod floorplan
Ty Nant floorplan
Winter sunshine!
Ty Nant, rear view
Ready for the Dinner Party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
19 Bedrooms, 19 Bathrooms, Sleeps 48
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
writer451
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, beautiful place, excellent welcome”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Garth Barns is a magical place. Spacious, beautifully presented and with a flexible layout perfect for large groups.

I hired the two barns for four nights over Easter for my 50th birthday, for me, my partner and six other couples - everyone was blown away by how lovely the setting and the accommodation were.

The kitchen is incredibly well equipped and the large dining area perfect for group meals. We were lucky with the weather and were able to use the bbq and boating lake as well as the sauna and pool table. The setting is incredible, with rolling hills on all sides and we did a variety of walks from a stroll up the stream into the forest to a six mile round hike to the nearby dam.

Llanidloes is a very picturesque and friendly village about 45 mins walk but a quick car journey away. It has excellent delis, fishmonger, butcher etc with fantastic local produce and other food - the fish and chips from Evans' are definitely recommended.

Booking was easy, Veronica answered all my questions immediately and there were no issues about the fact we were bringing our (large, rather slobbery) dog - just a very warm welcome from start to finish.

All in all, the best birthday ever - and some of our group are already talking about booking for future occasions. I'd definitely recommend Garth Barns and can't wait to have an excuse to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Luxurious feel, space and light, views and fab kitchen
Liked least: Wish we had booked it for longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark t
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"AMAZING LOCATION, AMAZING HOSTS, AMAZING ACCOMMODATION, SIMPLY AMAZING!!!"”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Book with confidence (but please don’t make it so busy we cant return each summer!!).

If I could give more I would but I’m limited to 5 stars so here goes.

Firstly, Veronica and her husband are 1st Class hosts, they have a perfect balance between being helpful in every way, and letting you enjoy your time at Garth Barns without feeling “watched”. Veronica’s communication via email and phone before arrival is excellent and very reassuring when parting with money etc and planning your stay. Nothing is too much trouble.

Facilities:
The two Barns are exceptional, both have different characters but both are immaculately clean, finished to a high spec, fully, and I mean FULLY, stocked with everything (pots/pans/plates/glasses etc etc) you could possibly need or want to enjoy your stay. There was always Hot water for showers (we had 20 people staying so clearly shows it can handle the capacity), the barns are spacious and finished to a high quality.

The views and surrounds are typical beautiful Welsh Countryside and my Grandparents loved having their breakfast out on the balcony while watching the world go by, in the form of sheep and wildlife as the road is a good few hundred metres away and quiet anyway.

We weren’t blessed with the best weather but never were we bored or short of things to do. Devils Falls (45min impressively scenic drive away) is fabulous, the local Steam Railway got rave reviews, there are walks galore for all abilities, and a drive into the Countryside will leave you speechless. At the barns themselves, you have a sauna/steam room, CV equipment, Bowls green, Boating / swimming lake (complete with boats), Pool table, Children’s playframe, Sky TV etc etc etc. If you get bored there is something wrong with you, not with Garth Barns!

Garth Barns is very child friendly, but obvious care is needed with young Children as there is the lake and a lovely little stream running through the grounds, our children (2 & 6yrs) never had any issues with it at all and not even a slight “near miss”.
Dogs are welcome but there are certain restrictions on where they can be due to the sheep in the fields, but the dog owners were not in any way put out by this.

Any recommendations?
As I have said above, this place is phenomenal and we are returning in August this year too because we are so impressed with it. If I had to be picky I would recommend having 2 large BBQ’s as when cooking for 20+ people the one BBQ was a little limiting. The one that was there was also a little worn with the “fat collection tray” missing and requiring new “coals” (lava rocks), but that is literally the only recommendation I could make and clearly isn’t stopping us returning this year for our family get-together.

Group - Family get together, 20 people, 2 dogs, age range from 2 - 80yrs visiting from every corner of England/Scotland to be there.


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo G
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - thoughtfully planned accommodation in a beautiful part of the country.”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The accommodation is tastefully appointed . It is spacious and has been planned with thoughtfulness and consideration for families with children of various ages; we covered the range from 1 years to 18 years. The kitchen facilities are particularly good with lots of large pots and serving dishes, glasses and crockery.
The camp fire was great and the boating lake offered lots of fun. The treasure hunt was a lovely extra.
Veronica and John Hollis were extremely welcoming and helpful but not intrusive in any way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My cousin booked the barns for a long weekend, and a fab choice! We're already looking at next years dates. The two barns were to an excellent standard with all the facilities you could need. Plenty of space fir us all, and lovely location. Can't wait to go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBentley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Garth Barns is impossible to fault. We stayed there for a stag-do over Midsummer and every single person there was completely blown away by how good it was.

I could wax lyrical about its fantastic features, gorgeous location, endless beauty or warm, friendly owners, but I'd run out of superlatives.

You quite literally could not find somewhere better for a holiday for a large group. Highly, HIGHLY recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing