We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of Il Padrino

Il Padrino
Ranked #45 of 135 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Il Padrino is the new Italian in the heart of Ormskirk bringing great food to you at affordable prices. Authentic Italian dishes served to you in style!
Reviewed 7 April 2019 via mobile

My daughters and I visited this lovely, cosy place mid-week and the food, atmosphere and service were really good. Reasonably priced and a good menu. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuwP40, Manager at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hi Julie,

Always a pleasure, never a chore! Be sure to call in again very soon!


Il Padrino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2019 via mobile

Terrible!
Scammed us. Made us pay way more than we should have because of alleged “wrong menu” placed on our table.
Made us feel like 3rd class citizens. Never going back! Spoiled birthday celebration.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Takemeawayfromthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuwP40, Manager at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019

Hi there,


We are sorry that your party was spoilt, this was entirely our fault and we can not apologize enough. It appears to have been a combination of poor planning and lack of training on our part. We recently changed the price of cocktails and printed new menus. The old menus were destroyed – most of them, we thought it would be a good idea to keep a few on the wall as decorations. Of course, it was not a good idea and the inevitable happened when an old menu got on to your table. We should have anticipated this and we can’t apologize enough that it happened.

You ordered from the menu you were given and we should have honoured those prices. The waitress did not think that she had the authority to change the till prices and she would get into trouble (she would not). You should have been charged the price on the menu & we have issued instructions to the waiting staff should this happened again – which it will not. If you could call at the restaurant we will be more than pleased to refund the difference plus a voucher against future meals.

Sorry again.

Il Padrino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2019

Been here twice recently. First was lunchtime when we had pizza and pasta. Absolutely top drawer, tasted like they used really authentic ingredients, as if I was back in Italy. Very pleasantly surprised. Much better and cheaper than a few flashy Italian places in the area I could mention, but won't - some Italian restaurants make everything too doughy, so it just feels like you've got a mouthful of white flour. This place gets it just right

Second time was in the evening, we both had cod which tasted like a masterchef winner, unbelievably tasty and half price! Great service too. You probably need to book in the evenings because their deals are such good value, this particular 2 for 1 being an example.

There was a big family group next to us making lots of noise, which I don't have a problem with, but they were keeping their kids "quiet" by frying their brains with incredibly loud electronic devices that made other customers wince. Consequently everyone had to shout over the robotic screeching coming out of the machines. Maybe a prohibition notice should be put on the website and the menu?

It didn't really detract from the evening too much as the food and wine were so good, best Italian in the area IMHO (and I've tried em all)

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spencerisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuwP40, Manager at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. We hope to you call in again so we can give you the best experience possible!


Il Padrino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

A very welcoming warm place to walk into. No problem with seating 10 of us at all .
A child friend menu too with tasty meals and make your own pizza. Loved the specials board. A very hard choice with the normal menu with many meals to pick from.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suecG2935TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal at Il Padrino today for Mothering Sunday with my family! Our first visit, service, food and atmosphere fabulous!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Bennetts704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuwP40, Manager at Il Padrino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Hi there,

Thanks for spending the special occasion with us! Here is to many more!

Il Padrino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Padrino also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
 
Ormskirk, Lancashire
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to Il Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.