We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely little farm

We decided to visit after a friend recommended it. Never heard of this place but glad we visited... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2021
allumamontana
,
London, United Kingdom
Beautiful and free if you use the public footpath

The lavender fields are lovely but quite expensive if you add in parking and entry for a family... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2021
I7949MJjamesh
via mobile
Read all 674 reviews
  
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
340
228
61
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
228
61
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take photos entry fee cupcakes end of the season gift shop car park bees camera oaks tractor plants bloom acres toilets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019

Gorgeous location. Great opportunity for lovely photos. The staff are lovely too. The children tried lavender ice cream which they loved.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Auntyvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldlavender, Owner at Mayfield Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Thank you for your very nice comments about the farm and the staff. All the staff work hard to be welcoming and friendly so it is really nice to have it acknowledged. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

I took friends from Jakarta to Mayfield and we all thoroughly enjoyed the time there. I was impressed by the number of non-Surrey visitors.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank gjpw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldlavender, Owner at Mayfield Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

A nice place to walk around with your loved one or family. Beautiful, vibrant purple lavender to look at, take a selfie with, and smell. Great little cafe with lavender tea, scones, even lavender hot dogs! Just skip the tractor ride... you can walk faster and don't see anything special.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank alwaysew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldlavender, Owner at Mayfield Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

The farm is a bit of a trek from London and it's not particularly big. I think you just need 2 hours if you take your time walking around, have a look at the gift shop and have a snack in the cafe.
Having said that, it's a beautiful place. About half the area is very bright at the moment whereas the other half is duller - I don't know if that's a different type of lavender or if it isn't in full bloom yet. I loved how the lavender changed colour depending on the sun/light - it looked very different from one minute to the next. It is a bit trampled in places. I guess people can't always be bothered to walk round a row which is a shame.
There're definitely some great photo opportunities but there're a lot of people about so it's quite difficult to find your own spot and you have to queue for the phone booth.
I had a hot dog in the cafe which I'm sorry to say was pretty poor but the lavender lemonade and ice-cream were lovely. The gift shop is nice. It's only £2.50 to enter the farm and you can redeem that £2.50 at the gift shop anyway - I didn't realise until I got home as I just pocketed the ticket immediately without looking at it.
The staff are friendly. There's a tractor ride for kids, a flower garden and beehives. I hate Portaloos like most people but I understand the reason for them.
I think if you're willing to make the journey it's definitely worth going to. Just be realistic about how many people you're going to encounter once you get there and how relaxing/peaceful you're going to find that. For me personally it was worth both the journey and the crowd and I had a good time.

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank violet339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldlavender, Owner at Mayfield Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Thank you for you thoughtful and detailed review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

I visited the Mayfield Lavender Farm at Surrey Downs from London. The “Southern Train” service is frequent from London Victoria station to Sutton or Cheam. Sutton is the 1st stop followed by Cheam. The quickies route to reach the farm is to take cab/minicab from the station. The entry fee is £2.50 per person. On arrival, you will be mesmerized by 25 Acres of bright purple blossoms. Purple horizon is sight to behold. There is a nice café with seating overlooking the field. The food consists of sandwiches, waffles, ice cream and you can purchase Lavender biscuits and shortcakes from the Gift Shop. The heart shaped Lavender biscuits (SEE photo) were well prepared and tasty. The Lavender white chocolate block was creamy with a hint of delightful Lavender (SEE photo). You will find the regular Lavender infused body care products such as creams and soaps available. Make sure you get the Lavender ice cream before leaving the farm (SEE photo). By the way, there is a 15 minutes Truck ride around the field, with Jordan (SEE photo) for £2 per ride. This place was dreamy and delightfully beautiful.

SEE photos.

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank Ghadeer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfieldlavender, Owner at Mayfield Lavender Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Thank you for your very nicely detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews