We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food, visited twice!”
Review of Le Zagare

Le Zagare
Ranked #3 of 141 Restaurants in Porto Cesareo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

It's really nice , family run restaurant with the menu changed every day. We visited this place twice in our week holidays . Food is really nice, fresh and they use local ingredients when possible! Black pasta with crab was delicious, so as lemon pasta with monkfish , really nice "tiramisu" like dessert. Its better to book a table , as its gets busy , specially weekends.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 331ekaterinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2019

The best dinner we had in our trip in Italy! Typical Italian food, good advice of the staff and the black pasta with mussels is to die for!
Just one advice; make a reservation and enjoy!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sjuul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

On our recent trip through southern Italy, this restaurant was recommended to us by our Italian cousin. It was a little off our route heading to Lecce, but it was well worth the detour. Located in the beautiful seaside town of Porto Cesarean, they specialize in seafood.
We started with a variety of appetizers, including fried shrimp, squid in an amazing Cece bean sauce, and clam balls, all of which were the best I've ever tasted. That was followed by squid ink pasta with lobster...incredible!! We skipped the secondi piatti because we were too full. Service was impeccable, and the owners, Aurelio and Antoinetta could not have been nicer!
Overall, this was a wonderful experience, and we will definitely return the next time we are in Puglia.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cathyt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Born in Calabria and a frequent visitor to Italy I was told by my cousin who owns restaurants of his own, to visit Le Zagare during my visit to Lecce. We were not disappointed. It was one of the best meals we had. We let Aurelio, owner, order some of the house special appetizers and they did not disappoint. Most were his original creations. The black ink squid was spectacular. In short fantastic. The Resturant is spotless and in season has outdoor seating. He and his chefs are trained in Lecce culinary schools and have been rated # 1 regional Resturant many times. WELL WORTH THE TRIP. In fact we returned to eat there prior to leaving the area another day.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank domtt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Zagare also viewed

Torre Lapillo, Porto Cesareo
Torre Lapillo, Porto Cesareo
 
Porto Cesareo, Province of Lecce
Porto Cesareo, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Le Zagare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.