We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
64
8
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
8
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts during our stay large swimming pool at home peace and tranquility stunning views double sinks many thanks underfloor heating perfect holiday evening meal three days scrambled eggs alan cortijo meals el
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very hospitable,
Beautifull food,
Very friendly landlady and landlord,
Very nice location, beautifull scenery,
A beautifull place to be, inspiring ambiance,
Beautiful environment,
Very very pleasant,

Many, many thanks!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JurgenSteeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abstractAmsterdam, Owner at Cortijo Puerto el Peral, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Jürgen for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself. That's what we always aim to do, that is our pleasure.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Just spent four days at this hotel and loved it. The hotel is beautifully situated in the countryside overlooking El Torcal. A car is necessary due to the rural location but any additional cost is well worth a stay at this hotel. The proprietors, Alan and Hetty really know how to look after guests. Breakfast is included when you can sample Alan's scrambled egg (one of the best we have tasted). Lunch and dinner can be ordered at breakfast if you wish to eat in that day. Again we would recommend trying some of the delicious meals they create, especially the fish dishes. All ten rooms are luxurious and the beds are very comfortable. The dining terrace situated at the rear of the hotel overlooks the fabulous scenery including El Torcal and is a lovely setting for all the meals. The swimming pool terrace has a similar view with a good sized pool.

The hosts are a lovely couple and add to your expereince with their knowledge of the local area and ideas of what is worth seeing/doing.

Will we be back? - definitely

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I can't praise this hotel enough, lovely hotel in a great location. Alan and Hetty ensured we had a fantastic stay. Lovely breakfast and if you wanted an evening meal you just had to let them know in the morning and Hetty would cook a fresh healthy meal that was fantastic.
You need a car to reach this hotel but worth it when you find it.
We will be back without a doubt.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful 7 day vacation at Cortijo Puerto el Peral. We were warmly welcomed by the owners Alan and Hetty who looked after us superbly during our stay, along with their lovely polite and attentive staff. Their local knowledge was invaluable when locating places of interest to visit/eat at. The hotel is a large house which is beautifully decorated, the bedrooms are spacious and spotlessly tidy. Our room had air conditioning with a remote control which was very useful at night, turning the AC on and off with ease. The ensuite was modern with a good separate shower. The large swimming pool allows for a very good swim with stunning views over the valley, and there are facilities round the pool which again were very well maintained, and a fridge stocked with soft drinks and beers, which you just add on to your bar list. We had three lovely meals at the hotel and the breakfasts on the terrace were excellent. We would thoroughly recommend Cortijo Puerto el Peral for a truly relaxing stay with plenty of local things to see a short drive away.

Room tip: Some rooms have a small balcony
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidW5020YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This is a small family run business run on more a B&B basis rather than as a hotel.
The building is a new-build Cortijo which is magnificent. The decoration has been done with considerable taste and style and there is a large pool. However, in late March, even here in Andalusia, the building is quite cold. The rooms have aircon/heaters, which are probably more powerful for air conditioning than for heating, and the bathrooms have underfloor heating which works well. However, this is often turned off by the staff when the rooms are cleaned meaning a cold room upon your return. Also the hot water system is not on all the time meaning requests have to be made should you want hot water outside the normal timing. These comments may well be irrelevant between June and September, although being a distance in from the coast and reasonably high up, the place is apparently pleasantly cool even in summer. This would be an considerable benefit in the height of summer but not necessarily so in early and late season.
The family is very welcoming and helpful for suggestions when visiting the surrounding area. The food is of good standard both for breakfast and dinner, although north European (the family is Dutch/English) not Spanish. Being a small business, dinner choice, if requested, needs to be confirmed at Breakfast.
The location of this place is such that it is possible to visit Granada, Córdoba, Ronda, and Antequera each within a day, as well as Malaga. However, although the road surfaces are generally extremely good (far superior to U.K country lanes) this is a mountainous area area. The first 30km in any direction is slow with many hairpin bends. When you reach the motorways they are fine. There is a restaurant in a local village which is Spanish and good, but there are not many choices close by and we ate in most evenings.

Room tip: Our room overlooked pool and mountains which was fine, but maybe they all do.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews