We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After researching every village and hotel in La Rioja, selecting the combination of Laguardia and this hotel was a winner. First, the staff is outstanding, just amazing. After the first morning's breakfast, my second cup of coffee always appeared just as I was ready for it! The breakfast itself was superb, probably the best breakfast we have enjoyed at a hotel. We tried to dine elsewhere in the evening but always made our way back to the hotel where Jean-Marie treated us like royalty and selected an excellent wine for us to enjoy with our dinner each night. The hotel has a wide selection of types of meals from which to choose - from complete menus to a la carte items to lighter fare. Our room was large and comfortable with restful colors and beautiful decoration. The bed was wonderful and the shower, bathroom and dressing areas luxurious. The lounge on the second floor is perfect for finding a quiet place to read or just relax with a glass of wine. We could not have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSM406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    106
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
70
369
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelwona BC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The modern hotel located on the main square in Laguardia was wonderful was our home for our two nights in La Rioja. Our king-sized-bed equipped, spacious suite overlooked the plush, art decorated second floor lounge and up to the skylight. The glass enclosed shower open to the room and marble bathroom were beautiful and the heated floor helped with the cool February weather. We were well-received and taken care of by the staff and owner on check-in. The elevator took us to the 3rd floor where a glass-floored catwalk over the lounge took us to our room. We had a wonderful evening of tapas and wine in the subterranean cellar bar housed in ancient tunnels that honeycomb below Laguardia. Our bar hostess was generous with wine and olive oil tastings enabling us to select an olive oil to purchase. Staff of the hotel helped us select two wineries to visit the next day, one located within the village. The second evening we dined on pizza and wine in the lobby bar after a full day of wine tastings and touring in La Rioja and Laguardia. We enjoyed two excellent breakfasts in the well-appointed breakfast room whose glass floor looked down on the cellar bar we enjoyed the first night in Laguardia. The hotel has a personal feel and the staff and owner made us at home. Parking and getting luggage to and from parking which is outside the walls of the village was the least satisfactory. We would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

First beware arrive early for two reasons, firstly parking can be a chore , secondly because you will regret not spending every moment possible in a superb hotel and wonderful town.
We happened to stay for my birthday and they kindly laid on some bull running! As someone in the trade it can be too easy to notice the little things some miss but here I found myself immersed in another world where pleasure and luxury flowed.
Thank you madam owner and family and team for a perfect stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hareandhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazos Bottom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We spent 2 cold and wet days in Rioja based in Laguardia. This is a good spot for touring and lots more food options close by than any of the other small villages. This hotel could not be more welcoming or hospitable. The rooms are large and well decorated, the bar and restaurant area very comfortable. We wish we had eaten in the restaurant but alas we spent both nights @ El Bodegon ( same family ownership) because it was so good. The family management is what sets this place apart. Their commitment to hospitality and the comfort of their guests is admirable. We highly recommend Los Parajes.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the parking outside the walls. Find a place and walk to the middle of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days on our honeymoon in October 2012. We spent A LOT of time researching where to stay in La Rioja. It was important to us to find somewhere that was romantic and well-designed--we have a pretty modern, minimalist aesthetic, and the standard hotel room decor simply would not do. In the end, nothing else in the area came close to what we found at los parajes. We booked the top-floor suite and could not have asked for a better place to enjoy our honeymooon!

The Suite: The suite is roomy, with a loft, huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and a lovely "terraza" with a view of the central courtyard in LaGuardia down below. We were concerned initially that the bathroom had only a tub and not a shower, but rest assured for you Americans, there is a shower. Every evening we would open a bottle of cava and sit on the terraza watching the hustle and bustle in the courtyard below as tourists entered LaGuardia for wine and dinner in the little sidewalk cafes. Although the room overlooks the main courtyard, we slept soundly and were never disturbed by noise. The terraza has a lovely view over the rooftops of LaGuardia and beyond to the surrounding mountains. See our photos of this stunning view and the rest of Rioja here: http://www.perennial-blog.com/2011/11/photojournal-la-rioja.html

The hotel: Service was excellent--just what you would want on a honeymoon. There was no problem speaking english, but I preferred to use spanish as much as possible. The staff were kind to let me practice on them. The restaurant is excellent, and I enjoyed dining on the sidewalk drinking glasses of vino and eating pichon (squab). Breakfast was free every morning, and was basic but scrumptious. Jamon Iberico (por supuesto!) with fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurt, granola, toast and jam, and eggs made to order. And coffee of course, but I was usually too busy rehydrating from all the wine and cava to have much :). Upon arriving we were greeted with a free bottle of cava and vouchers for glasses of wine in the below-ground cellar.

LaGuardia: Cutest little town EVER. Coming from the states, I had no idea how Old World Rioja would look. All of the towns, including LaGuardia, are perched on hilltops and surrounded by stone walls as a medieval measure of protection. Streets are horse-and-buggy narrow and made of stone. Many of the homes have intricate stonework just behind their wrought-iron entrances. There are several restaurants and cafes in LaGuardia where you can find wine, pintxos, or dinner, although I found the restaurant at Los Parajes to be the best. There is a nice path that winds around the edge of the town, and we enjoyed going for strolls or a jog there (warning, Americans in jogging attire look comical to the laid-back natives in La Rioja. but we still enjoyed our run).

In summary, our trip to La Rioja was the best trip of my life. A year and a half later, my husband and I still talk about it often. Staying in the suite at Los Parajes was an important ingredient to our magical stay, and I highly recommend it to other travelers, especially couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
0.7 km away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
254 reviews
0.1 km away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
6.6 km away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
598 reviews
14.9 km away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes

Property: Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Address: Mayor 46, 48, 01300 Laguardia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing