We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good”

Schokolato Bar Gelateria
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Wallisellen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Takeout
Description: SCHOKOLATO is a REAL ARTISAN GELATERIA (ice-cream parlor) and a COFFEE-BAR of SUPREME quality. We are a corner of Italy in Zurich. In our store we strive speaking German (we're going to school), but we certainly speak good ITALIAN! :-) Here, you will find real PIADINA ROMAGNOLA, PROSECCO D.O.C.G. Of the award-winning wine cellar "Ponte Vecchio" di Valdobbiadene, Menabrea BEER, CHINOTTO di Savona, bitter ORANGE drink made with Gargano I.G.P. Oranges, LEMONADE with Amalfi lemons, pistachio from Bronte (Sicily), SAN DANIELE del Friuli ham, cherry tomatoes from Campania, Squaquarone cheese from Emilia Romagna, CANNOLI SICILIANI, etc. In brief... All we offer is made "come Dio comanda!" Or at least, how you would command it in a place with the highest standards of service and product, in Italy. Are you curious about Italy? Here you'll also find a small library on Italian regions, cities, artists, CULTURAL MOVEMENTS and .... OUR FOOD !!! In short, SCHOKOALTO is the RIGHT PLACE in the RIGHT SQUARE (translation of our address: Richtiplatz, 2). In front of the GLATT shopping centre in Wallisellen, Zurich. :-)
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I liked the offerings however I should say the variety of the baked goods were limited and the lady at the counter fixing our drinks was pretty impatient.

Thank Azadeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo76, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Schokolato Bar Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

The idea of "fixing a drink" brings back to the memory Joan Collins in DINASTY as "Alexis Marissa Morell Carrington Colby Dexter Rowan" [WHAT a NAME!!]...
HAHA HAHA HAHA HAhAAAaa :-D

Well, what to say to our LOVELY Schokolato Ladies?! :-o
Not sure, as they USUALLY are SOOOO patient...

Just to set one point straight... Schokolato is Bar Gelateria and our offering of baked goods is obviously limited. We have variety of some 12 different backed items daily... Not always available at all time, as we bake them fresh.
That is usually considered more than pleasing by most people...

Maybe in the town of Ames (State of Iowa, USA) the average choice is wider?!
Possible... In the US, everything is GRAND!

Well... The truth is that we can't stop thinking about Alexis! :-D

"Now, Alexis... Stop it! You already had your gin!!"
(Cit. Dinasty, Season 6, Episode ?!)

GREAT... GREAT Joan Collins!! :-)

SORRY... we couldn't resist!!
:-D

----

Did you know that you can now find #Schokolato's #GELATO also downtown?
(+) #SayChocolate in #Europaallee (Lagerstrasse 28, 8004 Zürich)
(+) Dani's #JuiceMarketZurich (Augustinergasse 42, 8001 Zürich)

---

#SCHOKOLATO è #BAR e #GELATERIA
Siamo aperti tutti i giorni (incluso #domenica) per il vostro #piacere!
#Sunday #OPEN #Sonntagsverkauf #Sonntag #OFFEN #APERTO

Ecco una selezione delle cose che potete trovare a #Wallisellen 7 giorni su 7
#enjoy #gelato e #sorbetto
#ilGELATOartigianaleVERAMENTE #GELATOallesANDEREistGlace
#espresso #cappuccino #latte #macchiato #croissant #painauchocolat
#cannolo #sfogliatella #Napoli o #Amalfi, #codaDaragosta con #Nutella
#tartellette al #limone o #lapone, #berliner, #souffle al #cioccolato, #muffin con #cioccolata o ai #FRUTTIdiBOSCO, #eclair al #caffè #apero #aperitivo
#Spritz #Aperol #Cynar #Soda #Ramazzotti #Hugo #Negroni #Prosecco #Brut
#Crodino #Cedrata #Tassoni #Chinotto #Lurisia
e... molto altro ancora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic ice-cream and coffee. Very friendly staff and close to the big shoppind centre which is conveniant

Thank KasiaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo76, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Schokolato Bar Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

True, true!

Schokolato is a #Bar #Gelateria.
We are conviniently located next to #Glatt #Glattcentrum, in the new #Richti Areal.

Richtiplatz 2 is our address, and this LOVELY square is simply FA-BU-LOUS!

Did you know that Schokolato now offers to play BOCCE?
It's the Italian game you play with friends.
Two teams, made of 2 people each, compete to thow their BOCCIA closest to the "BOCCINO", the jack.
The team that gets closer scores one point.
Double if the 2 closest BOCCE belong to the same team.
The first team to reach 13 is the winner!

Come play any time.
SUNDAYS are the best moment... and YES... WE ARE OPEN SUNDAYS!

-----
Sapevate che si può' ora trovare il gelato di Schokolato anche in centro città?!
(+) #SayChocolate in #Europaallee (Lagerstrasse 28, 8004 Zürich)
(+) Dani's #JuiceMarketZurich (Augustinergasse 42, 8001 Zürich)


-----
#SCHOKOLATO è #BAR e #GELATERIA
Siamo aperti tutti i giorni (incluso #domenica) per il vostro #piacere!
#Sunday #OPEN #Sonntagsverkauf #Sonntag #OFFEN #APERTO

Ecco una selezione delle cose che potete trovare a #Wallisellen 7 giorni su 7
#enjoy #gelato e #sorbetto
#ilGELATOartigianaleVERAMENTE #GELATOallesANDEREistGlace
#espresso #cappuccino #latte #macchiato #croissant #painauchocolat
#cannolo #sfogliatella #Napoli o #Amalfi, #codaDaragosta con #Nutella
#tartellette al #limone o #lampone, #berliner, #souffle al #cioccolato, #muffin con #cioccolata o ai #FRUTTIdiBOSCO, #eclair al #caffè #apero #aperitivo
#Spritz #Aperol #Cynar #Soda #Ramazzotti #Hugo #Negroni #Prosecco #Brut
#Crodino #Cedrata #Tassoni #Chinotto #Gazzosa #Aranciata #Lurisia
e... molto altro ancora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I've been there with my daughter. We tryed the gelati "soft ice" and we loved it. As Italians we felt "come a casa"
Worth every penny.

Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo76, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Schokolato Bar Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Of course, we are very happy that you felt at Schokolato "come a casa"! :-D

We are not completely sure about what you mean by "soft ice", though. (?!)
So we think that we should clarify...
Schokolato produces only #ItalianGELATO and #ItalianSORBETTO.
Our #gelato and #sorbetto are NOT anything near "soft ice", or "frozen yogurt".
Both of these come out of a pipe delivering a frozen product, which is different to what we offer with pride! :-)
Maybe you refer to the smooth and creamy texture of our gelato?
Most certainly! :-)

#Enjoy Schokolato responsibly!

Did you know that you can now find #Schokolato's #GELATO also downtown?
(+) #SayChocolate in #Europaallee (Lagerstrasse 28, 8004 Zürich)
(+) Dani's #JuiceMarketZurich (Augustinergasse 42, 8001 Zürich)

#SCHOKOLATO è #BAR e #GELATERIA
Siamo aperti tutti i giorni (incluso #domenica) per il vostro #piacere!
#Sunday #OPEN #Sonntagsverkauf #Sonntag #OFFEN #APERTO

Ecco una selezione delle cose che potete trovare a #Wallisellen 7 giorni su 7
#enjoy #gelato e #sorbetto
#ilGELATOartigianaleVERAMENTE #GELATOallesANDEREistGlace
#espresso #cappuccino #latte #macchiato #croissant #painauchocolat
#cannolo #sfogliatella #Napoli o #Amalfi, #codaDaragosta con #Nutella
#tartellette al #limone o #lapone, #berliner, #souffle al #cioccolato, #muffin con #cioccolata o ai #FRUTTIdiBOSCO, #eclair al #caffè #apero #aperitivo
#Spritz #Aperol #Cynar #Soda #Ramazzotti #Hugo #Negroni #Prosecco #Brut
#Crodino #Cedrata #Tassoni #Chinotto #Lurisia
e... molto altro ancora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Amazing ice cream with a wide variety of original tastes! My favourite is the "Dark Chocolate Sorbet" (with small chunks of cacao). They also serve a really good coffee and have a (warm) lunch dish

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carel_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo76, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Schokolato Bar Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

True, true!! :-D

Besides our #piadina, #focaccia, #toast and #rustichella, you can also #enjoy #spaghetti alla #carbonara, #lasagne alla bolognese, #tortelli #speck e #brie, #pennette al #salmone, #tagliatelle al #sugo di #carne, #melanzane alla #parmigina (FANTASTICHE!!!) :-)

Did you know that you can now find #Schokolato's #GELATO also downtown?
(+) #SayChocolate in #Europaallee (Lagerstrasse 28, 8004 Zürich)
(+) Dani's #JuiceMarketZurich (Augustinergasse 42, 8001 Zürich)

#SCHOKOLATO è #BAR e #GELATERIA
Siamo aperti tutti i giorni (incluso #domenica) per il vostro #piacere!
#Sunday #OPEN #Sonntagsverkauf #Sonntag #OFFEN #APERTO

Ecco una selezione delle cose che potete trovare a #Wallisellen 7 giorni su 7
#enjoy #gelato e #sorbetto
#ilGELATOartigianaleVERAMENTE #GELATOallesANDEREistGlace
#espresso #cappuccino #latte #macchiato #croissant #painauchocolat
#cannolo #sfogliatella #Napoli o #Amalfi, #codaDaragosta con #Nutella
#tartellette al #limone o #lapone, #berliner, #souffle al #cioccolato, #muffin con #cioccolata o ai #FRUTTIdiBOSCO, #eclair al #caffè #apero #aperitivo
#Spritz #Aperol #Cynar #Soda #Ramazzotti #Hugo #Negroni #Prosecco #Brut
#Crodino #Cedrata #Tassoni #Chinotto #Lurisia
e... molto altro ancora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

The Ice cream was really amazing, but ... 7,50 CHF for a really small cup called medium was really more than I would have ever expected.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myself_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niccolo76, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Schokolato Bar Gelateria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

We believe you are "really more than" mistaken.
Actually, we don't believe... we KNOW that you are REALLY more than mistaken! :-)

We have no cup ("#coppetta") for 7.50 CHF. We have it for 7.00 CHF.
Unless you added also whipped cream on top of it... which is ONLY 0.50 CHF.
Please, note the "ONLY"! :-)

Be informed that our MEDIUM cup is 120 ml.
Yet, we generously fill it with about 140-150 ml of gelato. Always.
If there is a mistake, that is for giving out a larger cup. Not a smaller cup!
:-)

Oh, and by the way, there is really nothing that should surprise you about our prices.
They are REALLY well-written in arabic numbers... So, that people can take an informed decision any time they enter our premises!
:-)

We invite you to try out OTHER #gelato places to taste the difference in quality and cup-size. Of course, we are talking about Zurich! :-x
You will find #gelateria which mention they offer 2 flavours for 3.50 CHF... yet, that will come in a 60 ml size, and even without expensive-to-produce varieties in their offering.
Not to mention, we know that there are also smaller cups on the market!

We find that less than 80 ml of gelato is actually TOO little quantity to truly enjoy a good gelato... that's why we offer 2 flavors for 4.50 CHF in an 80 ml cup, which contains about 90-100 ml!

Make your calculations about what is more convenient yourself, and decide what you really like.

That is what really matters: WHAT *YOU* LIKE!

On our side, we REALLY know what we do! and what *WE* REALLY LIKE! :-)

There are also perfectly-fine INDUSTRIAL ice-cream on the market!
Of course, they are something different to what we offer!
:-)

Enjoy! :-)
- Team Schokolato

#IlGelatoArtigianaleVeramente? Da #Schokolato, naturalmente! :-)
Tutti i giorni.
Anche la #domenica #Sonntag #Sunday
#gelato #gelati #sorbetto (non #glace o #icecream #ice #cream!!)
#amarena #cioccolato #cioccolata
#schokolade #caffe #coffee #Kafe
#bar #gelateria #eisdielen
#zurich #zurigo #wallisellen #glatt #glattzentrum #einkaufszentrum
#piadina #espresso
#SayChocolate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schokolato Bar Gelateria also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Schokolato Bar Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing