We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

The Twice Brewed Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Twice Brewed is set amongst some of the most breathtaking scenery in England and stands in the shadows of Steel Rigg, without doubt one of the most dramatic parts of Hadrian’s Wall. The Inn is situated on the B6318 (The Military Road) midway between Newcastle Upon Tyne in the East and Carlisle in the West and is close to all the main Roman sites – Vindolanda, Housesteads and The Roman Army Museum. The Inn is on the popular Pennine Way route and welcomes walkers with a drying room and other facilities. We are also on the Hadrians Cycleway (Route 72) and near the Sandstone Way cycle route. We are 4 miles away from Haltwhistle train station and 15 miles away from Hexham train station
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Called in after a visit to hadrians wall. Dog friendly. Great food.I enjoyed the lamb roast .Kevin had the steak pie. Filled to the brim with melt in the mouth meat. Gravy worthy of a round of bread.

Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiceBrewed2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Heather A,

Many thanks for leaving us such a great review, praise indeed on the gravy and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018

After being told what a great place to it turned out to be the pits .
Our food arrived my partners meal smelt of and she said it didn’t taste right took it back and was egnord and not offered an alternative mine came with out any veg and we had to ask for cutlery we were totally disgusted give it a wide birth it’s a rip off

Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiceBrewed2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Edward S,

Your partner's meal smelt of....what? I am very surprised to hear you were not offered an alternative which is our common practise if we have been show to be at fault, it is certainly not our practise to ignore people so if this did happen we are very sorry.

I am sorry in this instance you didn't enjoy your visit, we are working on training to iron out any service issues so if you did happen to pop in again I hope you would find us much improved.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Was staying next door at the Sill so had a lunch and a couple of dinners here. There was a group of us so we had a variety of meals, some of which were good, others not so good. The steak sandwich was good, as was the catch of the day. There was initially a nice selection of beers but they soon started running out which is surprising as there is a brewery on site. The place is ok but lacked atmosphere. Some dishes seemed a bit pricey like the bangers and mash.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlanHull_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiceBrewed2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear AlanHull_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave as a review; we are sorry to hear the beer kept running out - in our defence, it was a particularly busy weekend and as we only have a small brewery we did struggle to keep up with demand, in fact, after this weekend and after reading your review we have invested in another fermentation vessel so we are able to produce more beer so running out is a thing of the past!

Hope you might visit us again,

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We stopped by after 10 miles of hiking on a hot and sunny day. They were pleasant enough though not particularly engaging with any of the many hikers. Food was not served until 6pm so there were many who came in at 5pm looking for a snack and there were no options. We found the beer to be the highest priced beer that we have found anywhere in the UK so perhaps they realize that they have a pretty captive market. That being said, I would go back in a heartbeat.

Thank Stork6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiceBrewed2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Stork6066,

Many thanks for leaving us such a great review, noted about the beer though we do regularly check with our competitors and we are all about the same, however we do hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We had dinner here whilst walking along Hadrian's Wall Path in April. The food was tasty, and the beer that they made locally was good, and the service was quick, although none were spectacular. However, the main reason for the 3/5 rating is that although the place had apparently been renovated recently, it now lacks any sort of atmosphere; the place had the feel of a dining room in a large generic hotel, whereby the dinner experience was functional rather than particularly special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AW41T3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwiceBrewed2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Twice Brewed Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear AW41T3,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks. Sorry to hear you felt the place lacked atmosphere, not a problem we have encountered in the past but we shall do what we can to fix this!

Best wishes,

TB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Twice Brewed Inn also viewed

Haltwhistle, Northumberland
Haltwhistle, Northumberland
 
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Twice Brewed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing