We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious,comfortable, relaxed and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twelve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Twelve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious,comfortable, relaxed and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Twelve is a delightful hotel with quirky and fun decor, very friendly staff and really spacious contemporary bedrooms. It's great to have a good bar and pizzeria on site, an easy walk to the beach and only a short distance from the city. We loved our stay and the hotel very kindly posted on my coat that I had left behind. Definitely recommend - we got a great value deal, much better than anything in the city

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 102ruthiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    340
    99
    37
    14
See reviews for
302
880
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Monday and Tuesday. Room was comfortable with all needed amenities. The food in the bistro was very good and reasonably priced. Service the Monday night was a bit lacking but they were pretty busy. We ordered 2 beers which didn't arrive and when we asked about them we were told they weren't stocked any more. The same thing happened the second night when we ordered a bottle of wine and were left waiting again only to be told the wine wasn't in stock. I would definitely recommend staying here and we are looking forward to coming back when "The West" restaurant is open so we can try it.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone Co-westmeath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes, disgusted with regard to the negative reviews The Twelve have received by people who have nothing better to do but pick fault with what I can say is a classy establishment with tasty decor throughout, why whinge about mirrors in the hall?, it's not like you're sleeping on them! We had a great experience from check-in 'Alma' was fantastic,extremely informative and professional in her approach, she recommended pizza from the in-house oven,it was excellent, in conclusion I have to mention reservations, Fiona,Thank You, once you heard I was celebrating my 50th you upgraded us to a fabulous suite with welcome treats from the bakery,(their homemade sourdough is excellent) great place,great people,

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Galwaygirleen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my wife RE entry stayed here for 2 nights in December. As we checked in we where offered lovely warm winter punch. As it was our 10 year wedding anniversary when we arrived in to the room there was a lovely plate with a mini dessert selection on it with a small card from the manager. The rooms are very well decorated with a modern chic look with touches of grey.
We had something to eat in the bar that evening we checked in. My wife had a seafood stew. This arrived in a lovely pasta bowl with a delicious selection of seafood topped by a lovely piece of white fish. I had the "study of lamb dish" which consisted of breaded lamb rib,braised lamb loin and a lovely mini lamb shepherds pie. Superb is the only word to describe it.
We had breakfast on both mornings. Now we have stayed in many a hotel over the years but this is the best breakfast by a long shot. I have working in the catering industry for a long time and it's great to see as they call it "an old school" waiter. Tom is old school and top class at his job as I watched him work the whole breakfast area from customer to customer flawlessly. I can highly recommend the eggs Benedict. A 10 out of 10 dish. I will be back for this dish without a doubt!!. A classy hotel with great service in all areas.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank damientuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked out from The Twelve Hotel! Not one bad thing to say about the place. Loved the little cupcakes and chocolates in our room on check in with the handwritten welcome card. It's the little things that make The Twelve stand out. Staff were brilliant especially Vick in the bar and Colm at breakfast! We both had pizza in the bar for dinner last night and they were out of this world! We will definitely be returning to the Twelve! Darren & Emma Torpey.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTorp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barna
7.5 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
4.5 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
6.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
8.7 km away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
6.5 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Hotel

Property: The Twelve Hotel
Address: Barna Coast Rd., Barna, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Barna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Twelve Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve - where history and tradition meet luxury and style. The Twelve is located a beautiful ten minutes from Galway city on the coast road to Connemara. Opened in 2007 to rave reviews, The Twelve won 'Best new hotel in Ireland' and since then has been judged the 'Best boutique hotel in Ireland' every year. Acclaimed for its passion of advocating great food through the use of local, seasonal products, The Twelve has also won every food and wine award there is to win. The Pins Bar really sets the tone with a hip, urban style (awarded Best Gastro Pub in Ireland), this hangout attracts an eclectic crowd. Grab a cocktail and enjoy the best of live music on the weekends. Experience West at The Twelve for the ultimate, gourmet dining experience, then retire to your chic room and consider ordering exclusive seaweed spa treatments to begin your next wonderful day in Barna, Galway. Visit West restaurant and The Pins BarBistroBakery on Trip Advisor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Twelve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Hotel
Twelve Hotel Barna
The Twelve Hotel Galway/Barna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing