We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Cite des Telecoms

Cite des Telecoms
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cité des télécoms gathers the Radôme (a huge 50-meter-high dome housing, for the past 50 years, a horn-shaped antenna) and a 3000-m² exhibition center dealing with the history of telecommunication.A half day of visit, activities and games.
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

There is a big emphasis on space based communications technology at this museum - with the show in the Radome being the centre piece. It is an excellent sound and light show utilising this enormous satilite receiving dish as a prop. The dish (enclosed is the 200m wide done) was used 1960s with the world's first telecommunications satilite Telstar.
The rest of the museum traces the history of telecommunications, from morse code to today. There is also a big space element with satilite and launch vehicle mock-ups. There is also a cool section on the international space station. Be aware the cafe is not open in the off season so bring a packed lunch as you will spend 4 hours here. However, the ticket allows you entry for the whole day - so there is no panic if you want to go off, eat, and come back.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank EastPier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"light show"
in 4 reviews
"morse code"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 3 reviews
"exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"museum"
in 5 reviews
"telecommunications"
in 5 reviews
"tv"
in 6 reviews
"section"
in 3 reviews
"hands"
in 3 reviews
"antenna"
in 3 reviews
"satellite"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 8 reviews
"french"
in 8 reviews
"undersea"
in 2 reviews
"breton"
in 2 reviews
"cafe"
in 4 reviews
"dish"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

We enjoyed this museum which retraced the history of telecommunications, below sea cable laying and the first transatlantic TV program. Lots of artifacts and history related to this location. Worth the detour. The site also offers exhibits tailored to kids.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank claude_monnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We went there on a dull day weatherwise hoping to occupy our 11 year old grand-daughter for an hour. Two and a half hours later hunger drove us away. Lots to see and do, very clean and well presented. The son et lumiere show was only in French but we managed to understand bits and pieces. I've got the attention span of a goldfish where science is concerned but really enjoyed it. I'm old enough to remember the first transatlantic television pictures but had no idea they reached Europe in such rural surroundings. We wouldn't have left when we did had the café not been shut.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Lots of things to see and to do, not only for children! The first part, on early communication systems, is very interesting in itself - we had never seen the laying of deep-sea cables explained, for example. But maybe you'd better save your time for the other sections on satellite communications etc. And then there is the "sound and light show". It's OK if you understand French, or else attend the English version (Summer only). It is held in another building, so you have to go out through a door on the 1st floor next to the toilets. Spectators are seated in front of the giant antenna, the working of which is explained using various light effects.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Michelois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Lots to do and see - tried to improve our French while watching the show. 7 year old loved the short 4d experience- good afternoon out very reasonable kids under 12 free.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Juliet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cite des Telecoms also viewed

Pleumeur Bodou, Cotes-d'Armor
Pleumeur Bodou, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Pleumeur Bodou, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Cite des Telecoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing