We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
10
36
29
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
36
29
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tokyo metro yamanote line fridge bed station
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

a really good, cheap-priced business hotel. highly recommended if you are traveling alone to Tokyo.. there's a convenience store right next to it, and if you walk for another 1 min, there's another supermarket that opens 24 hours (Seiyu)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank rikigede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel and although the room was extremely small we thought our stay in the hotel was perfect for us. It is located less than a 5 minute walk from the JR Yamanote line - which is the main line to most tourist attractions and nightlife (including Shibuya and Shinjuku). There are also loads of cool bars/restaurants around the hotel - we found a little gem opposite called Takoyaki stand where we tried our first octopus dumplings. Wifi in the room was very quick - we even streamed a film from our laptop! The room was cleaned everyday and the cleaners did a great job, one day we slept into the afternoon as we were jet-lagged so she left fresh towels, water and tea/coffee which I thought was lovely. The hotel has all the essentials you need and if you need extra items such as an iron the receptionists will provide them to you. There are even vending machines and washing machines! The only downfalls were the room size and the noise in the hotel - I am still unsure whether there was an earthquake or whether the cleaners/guests were making that much of a force it caused the room to shake and the banging noise woke us up. I would recommend this hotel and if we return to Tokyo we would most likely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashleighux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
スマイルホテル巣鴨, お客様担当マネージャー at Smile Hotel Sugamo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016
Google Translation

ご利用ありがとうございました。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

A nice quiet hotel in a nice quiet part of Tokyo Prefecture. Sugamo is quite small but has a lot packed in with many places to eat right outside the hotel, including fast food and family diner style restaurants. It is at the top of the JR Yamanote circle line with trains to Ikebukuro and Shinjuku, and Ueno and Tokyo every few minutes. It's a nice easy train station with only 1 platform and clear signage, which made getting to and from places during the day (and night) very easy even when you can't read any Japanese.
The hotel is literally around the corner from the station, very clean, not too compact- I had a single occupancy room with a single and a half bed and shower/bath. You get a free bottle of mineral water and 2 tea bags every day, there's a small but efficient kettle, heater and what I assumed is a de/humidifier but I didn't try that out so can't say whether it worked well or not. The bed however is rock hard, which is great if you like your mattress like that (I do) and the pillow is firm but not very high.
The cleaning staff are very polite and do a fantastic job, they speak no English however so ask a member of staff downstairs if you require anything. There are vending machines on two floors with soft and alcoholic drinks, and washing facilities near the top floor which were very good, 300¥ for detergent and wash, and 100¥ for 30 mins drying. There are no English translations for the machines however a very helpful member of staff came up with me to show me how to use both of the machines when I asked about them.
I would happily spend another 2 weeks here!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
4  Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

If you are not fussy about accommodation, then you'll be happy with Smile Hotel Sugamo. Have all basic necessities, clean, great location - near train station and various local places to eat are around, also good price deal! It is an old hotel and bed is a bit too hard for me, but who cares after a long fun yet exhausting day. Wifi and LAN cable are available for each room.
All in all, if you prefer a quite local neighborhood to stay or just don't get any luck with hotel in Shinjuku or Shibuya, this hotel is really a great alternative.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tinkathink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Pros:

- All amenities as listed including a dusty dehumidifier and a humidifier.
- A/C and lights controlled from bed headboard.
- Windows work (they open unlike at other hotels I've seen).
- Complimentary mineral water daily.

Cons:

- Shower does not have an adjustable design and powerful as hell
- Hairdryer is the exact opposite - so weak it's like it's yawning
- No wifi, but free internet via LAN cable only
- Suspicious white stain on desk seat (there's a porn brochure in the desk, so I'm avoiding that spot)
- No blinds. Sliding window covers.
- Pillow is literally rock hard.
- No water heater or electric kettle. A hot plate with a metal cup is provided (be careful! Very hot!).
- Non-smoking room / floor, but I suspect some of the residents were breaking that rule.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SynCity2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews