We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Booking.com
US$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
FindHotel
US$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Hotels.comUS$58
PricelineUS$59
HurbUS$66
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,868)
Filter reviews
1,868 results
Traveller rating
635
928
223
58
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
635
928
223
58
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,868 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We are a family with 4 adults and two young kids. We booked 2 rooms via trip.com and all the while our preference are non-smoking in all our past bookings. When check-in at hotel metropolitan, the staff told us all non-smoking rooms are occupied and can only allocate smoking rooms. Unless, we pay extra (7200 yen per room per night) to upgrade our room to non-smoking room. I could not accept the concept of paying more for non-smoking room. The hotel is so unconsiderate to put family with young kids and elderly at the smoking floor, with unpleasant smell once the lift door is opened. Due to language barrier and already took us more than 30mins to checkin, we ended up staying at the smelly stinky room for 2 nights. We later found out our friend who checking in at the same time but different counter has managed to get a non-smoking room without paying extra. The hotel location is excellent but really disappointed with their service

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank siutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotel_metropolitan2, 支配人 at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear siutin,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro for your recent stay. I am deeply distressed to hear about your experience and sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered. It pains us greatly to have even one guest leave this hotel with a less than satisfactory experience. We truly value all the feedback and comments we receive from customers, and use it as a resource to improve our service.
We understand that the quality time one spends with family cannot come back. However, we would be grateful if you could give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Director of Rooms
Mamoru Arasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before heading to the port for a cruise.
Hotel staff were lovely and friendly. Hotel was ideally situated for the station terminal after getting the bullet train from Tokyo. Booked day excursions and were picked up from the hotel.
Fab hotel for food outlets, shopping and central for getting out and about . Ate out locally every evening where food prices were very reasonable.
Would highly recommend xx

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GrandTour22049948593
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotel_metropolitan2, 支配人 at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear whendiebushell,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review on your recent stay at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro. It is an absolute delight to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Convenience is one of our biggest strengths as we as surrounded by department store, restaurants and transportation facilities.
The Hotel Metropolitan strives to craft pleasant memories for guests by showcasing the best of Japanese hospitality.
We hope you give us another opportunity to showcase our gracious hospitality.
Sincerely yours,

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Director of Rooms
Mamoru Arasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019 via mobile

Had an enjoyable 10 days stay during my family holiday in Japan. I have 2 connecting rooms for my family of 4. The staff was attentive and creative. Everyday they will make up room and set up the bed with different design using my kids soft toys. The Hotel customer relationship officer Miss Suzuki also assist me in surprising my wife for our wedding anniversary!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SweeKiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotel_metropolitan2, 支配人 at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear SweeKiat,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review on your recent stay at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro. It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your wonderful feedback has become a source of motivation and encouragement for all us.
The recognition and appreciation we receive from guests is by far our biggest reward. Thank you for acknowledging our sincere efforts in making your stay a memorable one.
Our diligent team strives to craft beautiful memories for our guests by providing personalized and attentive service.
We hope you give us another opportunity to showcase our gracious hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Director of Rooms
Mamoru Arasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

We spent five nights here as part of our Overseas Adventure Travel tour of Japan. We were greeting by female bellhops in uniform whose smiles were matched by their attentiveness. Our room - a bit small by western standards but immaculate and you haven't lived until you've experienced a Toto "Washlet" toilet with heated seat and bidet! The breakfast buffet was the best we've ever experienced with a huge selection of both western and traditional Japanese offerings. Upstairs in the bar, the bartenders a class act (not talking cruise ship theatrics), the selection excellent and the "pours" quite satisfactory. Located about two minutes from the Ikebukuro train station and the incredible Tobu Department Store which has more restaurants that you can imagine! Overall, the perfect place to stay on your next Tokyo visit!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Leartest81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotel_metropolitan2, 支配人 at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Leartest81,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review on your recent stay at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Convenience is one of our biggest strengths as we as surrounded by department store, restaurants and transportation facilities.
Our diligent team strives to craft beautiful memories for our guests by providing personalized and attentive service.
We hope you give us another opportunity to showcase our gracious hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Director of Rooms
Mamoru Arasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

Nice location,
room was on the smaller side. If there was one less piece of furniture, it would open up the room a little bit more. Rooms may need some updating?
The only issue I had was, at the time of check in, I was given a keycard to a room which was already occupied. This was corrected right away. The hotel staff was VERY apologetic.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 53Ruta_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotel_metropolitan2, 支配人 at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear 53Ruta_R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review on your recent stay at the Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro. It pains me greatly to hear about the problems you encountered during your recent stay. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and appropriate training has been imparted.
The Hotel Metropolitan strives to exceed guest expectations and provide a unique experience.
I hope you give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Director of Rooms
Mamoru Arasaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews