We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place, worth repeated visits”
Review of Sasaya Cafe

Sasaya Cafe
Ranked #8 of 138 Coffee & Tea in Sumida
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Oyokogawa-Shinsui Park is a long park walkway that runs alongside the Oyokogawa River in Sumida, eastern Tokyo. It's a gorgeous park where you'll find fishermen, children, joggers, the elderly, dog-walkers, and an entire range of people who live in and around the tall apartment buildings that dot both edges of this narrow but winding green space. The Sumida area of Tokyo might be more residential than central Tokyo but this park is alive - and safe - twenty-four hours a day, with all-night police patrols.

Towards the northern side of the park is the Sasaya Gallery and Cafe. Admittedly we only went in because they offer free WiFi, but even after just a single visit we became very regular regulars.

The staff are not entirely multilingual but they are incredibly warm, friendly, and welcoming. The menu is in Japanese and English. The cafe specialises in organic vegan food. Not usually my preferred menu but the kitchen but a great deal of care and delicacy into creating wonderful little creations - salads and tiffin-style eating, as well as homemade cakes, all made with with ethically- and locally-sourced ingredients.

The decor is functional but pretty (think MUJI meets Charles and Ray Eames), with both tables and sofas. The music can be a little loud, but when we visited it was mostly jazz and soul, so I wasn't too bothered about the volume. The prices are reasonable, and they have refill (organic) coffees.

If I were to make Sumida my base, this would be my Central Perk.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ah-m_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2016

My friends and I walked a good 20 minutes out of our way to try this place and it was absolutely worth it. I ate at a lot of vegan restaurants in Japan and this restaurant was my favorite. I got the fried tempeh dish which resembles katsu and it is the best tempeh I have ever had. I also had their blueberry cheesecake for dessert. It was delicious and tasted very close to the real thing!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justavegangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

A former warehouse next to a beautiful river and a small park, this spacious and relaxing café / gallery space offers an excellent dining experience for families with children, and couples.
Open for breakfast, brunch, and lunch, and offering organic and vegan food, I decided to pay a visit.
I ordered a vegan curry on brown rice served with a side salad, potato, spicy soup, and some seasonal vegetables, and despite the great taste, the whole dish came to me cold. The only heat was from the cold spicy soup, (maybe gazpacho, so not to repeat Arnold Rimmer, I chose not to mention it to the friendly staff).
For dessert, I had the vegan ice cream (vanilla) -- perhaps the best ice cream I have ever tasted, which fairly brings the review of the food up a notch.
I wouldn't return to Sasaya Café again for lunch, but I would definitely come back to enjoy the surrounding nature, waterfalls, and steams, and visit just for the ice cream, and perhaps a homemade organic cake.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fohristiwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

I've been to Sasaya cafe a couple of times now, for lunch at the weekend, and it is a really lovely little cafe. Located in Shinsui park it's very easy to find. Take the Asakusa Line metro to Honjo-azumabashi and exit at A2. When you get onto the street, just keep walking straight until you come to the entrance to Shinsui Park on your right (about a 7 minute walk, you'll go past a 7-11). Head along the path in the park, following the water. After about a 10 minute walk, you'll see the cafe on your left (it's inside a large park building, but you can see the signage in the window)

There is such a nice atmosphere in this place, it's very family-friendly. I've missed breakfast (served until 11am) but I am eager to try the tofu cheese toast, so I will be going back. I have had a couple of the lunch sets, which include a small cup of soup, salad, and choice of drink. I had the veg sandwich - delicious bread, hummus, lots more salad - and also the fried tempeh, which came with rice and was amazing. Very filling and a good price, 993 yen. They also have a small shop that sells coffee and some natural products. Unfortunately, they close at 6pm so it isn't a place for dinner. But it's close to the Skytree,so if you're up that way, give it a try.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dagny70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sasaya Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing