We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for our purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Initially, we were not off to a good start. We arrived at our triple room to find one of the duvet covers quite obviously stained. However when we contacted reception about this matter, housekeeping came immediately to change it. The next morning the manager spoke personally to me to apologise and to assure that things have been put in place to avoid a recurrence. Glad that this was dealt with quickly. The room was not overly large and it was a bit cramped with 3 people and two suitcases. was a triple. It was quiet and comfortable and did us well for our 6 night stay. The bathroom is a good size and the shower had good pressure and temperature. There was a small fridge and kettle. One side of the hotel has wonderful views of Skytree, the other side has a nice enough view of the vast Tokyo skyline. It is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the train station and the subway is directly underneath the hotel which is extremely convenient. This hotel was well placed for us to access the Tokyo Dome and was a good location in general although the area did not seem to offer an overly vibrant nightlife. A shuttle bus to Disneyland is included in the rate and this was another attractive feature. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but purchased our needs from the 7/11 style convenience store across the road (there is also one in the hotel ground floor). The staff were helpful and efficient and I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a view of Tokyo Skytree, ask for a room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8pairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017

Miracles do occur.......if you put enough work into it. I was in Japan on business and found out there was a sumo tournament happening, of course vastly sold out. After trying to find a hotel in the Ryogoku zone I miraculously got a booking via Hotels.com for the Dai-ichi and really didn't care much about what was going to happen other than it was close to the sumo. I was pleasantly surprised.

Check in was smooth and efficient and the staff spoke competent English (though he did remind me three times that check out time was 11am). I was happy about this because all I wanted to do was run to try to scalp a sumo ticket.

The room was small, but not by Japanese standards, and efficient. The bed was comfy and clean. Ever important to the biz traveler, the wifi was solid and easily accessible. There were two complimentary water bottles in a small fridge which is a nice touch. The view was pretty nice, aimed right at the Skytree from the 24st floor.

There is good access to subway stations from the hotel.

I will stay there again given the chance.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Excellent location for Sumo tournament as well as easy access to Skytree. Most of the staff were wonderfully friendly except when we requested an extra pillow for the night. We were promptly told no by the English speaking staff member. As the pillows are feather they squish to nothing leading my partner to have a sleepless night. We then asked the lord very lady cleaning our room who promptly organised 2 for us with a lovely smile.

Some +, the view and size of the Twin room, excellent.

The cleanliness is of the room, excellent

Getting tickets from Concierge for Skytree, meant no queue.

The concierge who organised our taxi, excellent

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bron2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

A clean and quiet hotel, located just next to the Tokyo Metro subway exit. The hotel receptions were very attentive and their services were excellent. The hotel sales explained to me how to reach the hotel and reserved my family with a complementary bus shuttle to Disneyland. I like the Skytree view very much ! Overall, we enjoyed the stay in this hotel very much. We will choose this in my next trip to Tokyo. Thank you to all the excellent services provided by the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Highly recommended to choose the skytree view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

My family stayed in early April. We booked this hotel due to their good reviews, larger room size and close location to the Ryogoku train station.

In Japan, A/C may often mean "centralized air" which means the whole hotel runs on a central system and you aren't able to individually control your room temperature. The first night we were there, the centralized air was on heater. The room was HOT the ENTIRE night and we barely slept. We complained at 5am and they said there was nothing they could do, and suggested opening the window (there's a very small panel that cracks open, but you can hear all the street noise) or opening your door. WHO WOULD SUGGEST YOU LEAVE YOUR HOTEL ROOM DOOR OPEN WHILE YOU SLEEP? Absolutely not.

Needless to say, we were not pleased. We requested to speak to the manager when they arrived and instead spoke again to a nice front desk person who tried to explain the situation in English. With barely any sleep on our first night in Japan, we accepted their apology and breakfast voucher and fans. The next night the heater switched off and the temperature was bearable with our fans on.

Besides that, the rooms are spacious by Japan standards, the location to the train station is very close and there are a few convenience stores and restaurants in the area. Unfortunately, most everything else we came to see was quite far away, so we spent all day and night out and returned to our hotel to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumida hotels
0.5 km away
Ryogoku View Hotel
Ryogoku View Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sumida
80 reviews
1.3 km away
Tobu Hotel Levant Tokyo
1.6 km away
Lotte city hotel Kinshicho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
#7 of 18 in Sumida
350 reviews
2.1 km away
Richmond Hotel Premier Tokyo Oshiage
0.5 km away
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel
Ryogoku Pearl Hotel
#13 of 18 in Sumida
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku

Address: 1-6-1 Yokoami, Sumida 130-0015, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Sumida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels / Ryokan in Sumida
Price Range: €70 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daiichi Hotel Ryogku is located in the heart of Tokyo, taking only 10 minutes from Asakusa and Tokyo Sky Tree.Accessible to popular sightseeing spots in Tokyo within an hour.(Odaiba,Tokyo Disney Resort and more) We provide free Shutle bus service direct to Tokyo Disney Resort. The hotel is connected to the Ryogoku subway station, and most rooms have a view of the Tokyo Sky Tree tower. Rooms at Hotel Dai-ichi Ryogoku come with free wired internet and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dai-ichi Hotel Ryogoku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Ichi Hotel Ryogoku
Dai Ichi Hotel Sumida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing