We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
2
20
35
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
20
35
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

This is outdated as others reviewed.
Breakfast is buffet, but not western style. It means no bread.
Good for smokers.
Good access to Akihabara, Tokyo, and Nihonbashi. From Tokyo to the hotel, it was less than15 minutes walk.

I recommend the hotel if you wish a cheap stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 930keit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I completely agree with other reviewers saying this place is outdated, a smokers paradise, limited western brekky choices.

The rooms here however are pretty cheap, I found the bed in my twin room to be the most comfortable for my whole japan trip, very cheap laundry facilities, will hold luggage prior to check-in, and after check-out, plus you're 1-2minutes away from ryogoku station (JR), the sumo stadium, and a large number of restaurants/bars.

Fortunately I stayed here the same time as the summer basho, which meant that the whole atmosphere of ryogoku was awesome. It really made the stay at the hotel a hell of a lot more enjoyable.
I highly recommend staying at ryogoku the same time as a Sumo tournament.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I used this hotel during cherry blossom season. The proximity to Asakusa and Akihabara is nice. It's right in front of the Ryogoku station so you won't miss it.

Pros - good/convenient location (close to station, convenience stores, restaurants), complimentary breakfast (self-serving style; simple but enough, both western and Japanese style), reasonable price ( It was 6000 yen cheaper than the View Hotel across the street), will keep the luggage after checkout for you to go sightseeing more

Cons - small and outdated room (especially bathroom), old-fashion key (the door doesn't tightly shut), sewer-like odor front the bathroom drain that stinks up the entire room (I couldn't stand it!), noise from outside (loud and clear, including the train announcement/bells from the station), smoke all over (in general Japanese business hotels are filled with smoke, but this hotel was especially smokey)

This hotel will be OK for one night but no more than 2, unless you don't mind the noise and smell.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank icandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

OK. You're in Tokyo. You're a solo traveler. You're on a budget. You've traveled in many parts of Asia before. You speak a little Japanese. You've tried the capsule hotels and the hostels, and they're just not your bag. So we have the Ryogoku River Hotel....it's rooms are tiny, the bathroom even tinier, it was probably last renovated in 1969. If ever. But.....do you really want to spend all day in your hotel room? No! You probably just want somewhere reasonably tidy, with a reasonably comfortable bed to lay your head for the night. That is what the Ryogoku River Hotel is all about.

And its location is great! Just outside the west exit of the JR Sobu LIne Ryogaku Station, 10 minutes from Tokyo station. From the hotel, you can walk to many interesting sites up and down the river. This is the older part of Tokyo, with lots of neon-lit street scenes that look like they're out of a 60's yakuza movie. There is also much cheap eating in the station area, along with restaurants that serve chanko nabe, a hearty stew the sumo wrestlers eat.

The price for a room of your own is about 1000 yen more than a Tokyo capsule hotel. Probably you can afford that. So, taking these considerations into mind, you decide....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulippx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Interior decor: Outdated - need renovation badly.
Exterior appearance: One of the old hotels in Ryogoku area of Sumida Ward in Tokyo
Location: Very close to JR Ryogoku train station, and convenient to walk to Ryogoku Kokugikan for watching sumo sports events.
View from the room I stayed at: Building next door at very close distance - poor
Room size: Very small at 13 square meters.
Room: Smells. Need to freshen air!
Price value: The price was less than half of what I paid at hotels in Akihabara nearby, but still, it's not worth paying for the poor quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews