We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have any interest in Samurai, this is a must see”
Review of Samurai Museum

Samurai Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.35*
and up
Japanese sword course
Ranked #3 of 418 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Urban entertainment museum centrally located in the Kabukicho district of Tokyo's Shinjuku ward. Displayed under dramatic lighting are more than 70 examples of samurai armor, kabuto helmets and weapons gathered here from Japanese and foreign collections. Detailed descriptions for each display are given in English, Chinese and Korean so that foreign visitors can easily understand and appreciate the artifacts. The Samurai Photo-Shooting corner where you can take your picture wearing armor and helmet is super popular with visitors from overseas. The museum also offers a full range of original Samurai gift items for sale.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best experiences we have ever had at a museum. Our English speaking tour guide (Koko) was very knowledgeable and happy to answer questions. Although the museum is small, they have a lot of interesting items and there is plenty to see. To our surprise, there was even a Samurai sword demonstration, which was one of the highlights of our trip so far.

They do get busy and there can sometimes be a significant wait. There was a 40 minute wait the first time we went there but we returned a different day and were promptly admitted. The tour took almost two hours but was interesting from start to finish. At the end you have a chance to take free photos in some cool samurai gear. Really glad we went back!

1  Thank matt3786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginjiro N, マネージャー at Samurai Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello.
thanks for visited museum and gave us high rating.
we are so happy that if you could have good time in museum and felt what is samurai.
please stop by museum some day when you come to japan again.
thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 115 reviews
"japanese history"
in 70 reviews
"sword demonstration"
in 25 reviews
"private collection"
in 23 reviews
"on display"
in 50 reviews
"take photos"
in 47 reviews
"an english speaking guide"
in 14 reviews
"ask questions"
in 11 reviews
"personal guide"
in 12 reviews
"gift shop"
in 34 reviews
"two floors"
in 14 reviews
"google maps"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 14 reviews
"edo period"
in 11 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 22 reviews
"shinjuku area"
in 16 reviews
"weapons"
in 130 reviews
Filter

89 - 93 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a small museum with many samurai outfits throughout the years (amazing details and craftsmanship). You can go on a guided tour or on your own. The highlight was the free sword performance /presentation that both adults and kids will appreciate. Before you leave, make sure you visit their gift shop for cool souvenirs to take home.

2  Thank Selma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginjiro N, マネージャー at Samurai Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for coming to our museum and reviewing us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Samurai Museum throughly.
We are always trying to make our museum better place for everyone who likes to learn Samurai history and experience samurai spirit.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

After reading an ad in a magazine I picked up at the airport, my son and I had a look at the website for the Samurai Museum. We caught the train and used Google maps to wind our way between many buildings to finally arrive there. There were only 2 people seated outside the museum so we quickly went into the shop across the road to get a late lunch. In those few moments, 4 more people arrived. We sat outside and ate our lunch as more people trickled in. After we ate our quick meals, we went inside to buy our tickets as people queued for a tour. A young attendee ushered us into the tour group. Being honest, I informed him that I hadn't yet purchased our tickets, but would like to be included in that 4.15pm tour. He told me, "Not possible," and that we had to wait for the 5.20pm tour. As we had scheduled this visit into our day's itinerary and had another place to visit, I told him that we couldn't wait the hour, but he was inflexible and would not let us join that tour. It was not packed and he had originally thought we were part of the tour group so we could have been added. Nowhere on the museum's website does it state tour times or number restrictions so we were disappointed with his inflexibility. It was a waste of our time and train fares to get there and the only negative experience we've had in Japan to date.

2  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginjiro N, マネージャー at Samurai Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hello.

we deeply apologize that made you wait and not enough explain at our reception.
that time already a lot of people were waiting for guide tour so we couldnt let you join the before tour because of unfair.
honestly, we wanted let you join that guide tour, however we had such kind of reason.
again apologize that made you bad feeling and couldnt enter museum.
we receive your opinion seriously and make effort to make better system and museum.
thank you very much.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This little museum has a good range of artefacts and an excellent tour, also available in English. The tour lasts about an hour and is informative without becoming boring! You can take photos of all the displays and there are opportunities to dress up too!
A great little place, well worth a visit.
It's about 15 minutes from Shinjuku park/gyoen so easy to do both in one visit to the area.

1  Thank Cymryyncrwydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginjiro N, マネージャー at Samurai Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for coming to our museum and reviewing us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Samurai Museum throughly.
We are always trying to make our museum better place for everyone who likes to learn Samurai history and experience samurai spirit.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We're a family of 5 with two teenagers, and it was a great experience for all. The price includes a guided tour in English, approx 45 min, which was very interesting, both about the Samurai history and culture and about the artefacts.
Also, between 2:00pm and 5:00pm there's a demonstration show of 15 min every round hour, which is also very recommended.
You can take photos and wear the Samurai uniform. Ticket prices are very reasonable.
It was great fun for all and is a MUST if you're in the area.

Thank BOMIWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginjiro N, マネージャー at Samurai Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello,
Thank you so much for coming to our museum and reviewing us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Samurai Museum.
We are always trying to make our museum better place for everyone who likes to learn Samurai history and experience samurai spirit.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samurai Museum also viewed

 

Been to Samurai Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing