We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$150
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo(Shinjuku)
US$338
US$280
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku(Shinjuku)
US$116
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$151
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Tokyo(Nishishinjuku)
US$373
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Tokyo(Nishishinjuku)
US$808
US$515
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$572/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
143
242
56
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
242
56
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suiteshuttle busuniversity districtauthentic japanlounge roomlovely hotelbubble bathquiet neighborhooddated roomsregular shuttlehotel providedbeautiful parkhotel restaurantsubway stationbeds were very comfortablegreat roombathroom amenities
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Royal is the exact description of the decor when you step into Righa Royal. it's the old school royal luxury of lots of gold and ornate drapery. The hotel lobby is large and welcoming, after you've already been warmly welcomed at the door. You sit during the check in process instead of standing and the lobby area is never rowdy or noisy.

The room is comfortably packed to offer all the necessary amenities, including an air humidifier. The bed is adequately soft and had no complaints over the 7 nights stay. The hotel offered the largest array of bathroom amenities I've every seen. And wonderful heated toilet bowls are the norm in Japan I guess. Don't bother with the television unless you can understand Japanese.

I had the daily breakfast and some dinners at the buffet restaurant. No complaints about the food quality but some changes in the buffet offering wouldn't hurt. The largest annoyance however was that the gym and pool facilities required additional fee for entry. This wouldn't be so much an issue if one payment for the whole period of stay, but it is for every time you want to access! Totally unexpected for this level of hotel.

Free regular shuttle to the Takadenob

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sramrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here twice, for a total of six nights, while on our honeymoon. It’s a very good hotel - the first time we had a junior suite, the second a standard double.

The rooms are very large. Friends warned of tiny hotel rooms in Japan, but at the Rihga Royal they are enormous with a large bed and sitting room too. The junior suite was massive but the standard double was almost as good.

The rooms are not that cheap, but they are comparable for Tokyo.

Ask for a room overlooking the gardens: the views of Tokyo are fantastic. We ended up on the other side for our second stay here and the views are near zero.

This is not a central area of Tokyo and the metro is relatively slow. However, a free shuttle bus runs to the nearest Japan Rail station and you can get quick trains into the main attractions so the location was fine for us. Also, as it’s more of a residential area (Waseda University is nearby), there are plenty of places to eat - and they are authentic Japan rather than tourist traps. We ate in a superb sushi restaurant round the corner the hotel recommended one night.

The staff are wonderfully polite and helpful.

There’s really very little I’d change about this hotel. However, the cost of the swimming pool is exorbitant - like around $30. As normal Japan pools cost a fraction of this price, I don’t know why they try and charge it. They need to reduce it.

This was the second best hotel we stayed in while in Japan - it was only beaten by another RIHGA Royal Hotel, in Hiroshima.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel is located on Okuma Garden next to Waseda University so it is very convenient and also has complementary bus service between the hotel and Takadanobaba Station. The hotel restaurant serves a buffet breakfast which is an outstanding way to start the day, and the bar is very spacious and a nice way to end a long day. The hotel staff is very friendly and professional so it makes for a most enjoyable stay. The rooms are spacious and the huge bathtub is ideal for a long and relaxing soak. A great place to stay in Tokyo.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eugene M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We recently stayed at the RRH for four nights recently. This is an excellent hotel. Outstanding service, a spacious lobby and spacious rooms. There are three restaurants on sight and many others nearby. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent with both a western style buffet and a Japanese buffet. A continuously running free shuttle goes between the RRH and the Takadanobaba Station (about a 10 minute ride) where you can connect to several lines to get you around Tokyo. This hotel is most convenient to the Haneda airport. The Haneda airport is about a $70 cab ride or, if you don't have much luggage (one rolling piece) you can use public transportation for far less to Takadanobaba Station and then catch the RRH Shuttle. We will be back in Tokyo in May and will stay at the RRH again.

Room Tip: You'll save money is you book your room with breakfast. The pool is extra, $30 per person per use.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gkdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

On my last trip to Japan the RIHGA chain of hotels became the one step choice for lodging. At each location (Osaka, Hiroshima, Tokyo) the RIHGA provided spacious rooms and quality service. And I do mean spacious! The concierge service in each location was excellent, enabling us to buy event tickets and arrange car rentals with ease. Food was good and reasonably priced. Each location provided regular bus service to nearby train stations.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank McXiCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews