We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the heart of Shinjuku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 and two nights (05/23-05/26). Pros: (Yes there is wifi in every room :) )

Great location.Great room views. The Tokyo Metropolitan building is just 2 stations away or around 20-30 mins of walking. Tokyo hotels are small by standard so dont expect too much of what you're used to about hotels. There are vending machines for food and drinks next to the elevators in every level. This is where you also get your hot water for tea since they only only provide non electric kettle for hot water in your room. You can have the option of buying a prepaid card pass if you want to access the English movies,cartoons,series and etc. for 1000 yen or around $10 but it has a limited time of 12pm to 11am next morning great for kids but a bit expensive. Staffs are very accommodating and can speak conversational english. The lobby has a business center where you can access a computer if you don't have one(100 yen for 10min). They also have a xerox machine for documents and a currency converter machine there.

Shinjuku itself is a great starting point you can go anywhere around tokyo in just a short distance by walking or the metro. So many great places to see close by like ramen and conveyor belt restaurant in front of the hotel.
Also shops like Don Quixote a 24hr shopping store 2 blocks away where they sell everything you can imagine from candies and drinks that are only unique to Japan to household item and gadgets. Uniqlo and Bic Mac an electronic store that's very popular in japan is just walking distance.


Cons: The lack and quality of pillow. If you're someone who is used to having more than a pillow in bed you may get a bit uncomfortable. Me and my brother stayed in a twin room so each of us had our own bed. They will only provide 2 pillows each bed.One medium size for your head which is flat and always feels moist because of the cover and a small useless decorative pillow. No drawers or closet so if you traveled with big luggages it will cramp up your doorway and bathroom exit. No lotion, humidity in hotels in my experience can be a bit dry unless you can figure out how to use their humidifiers in Japanese, so if you've forgotten to bring one or decide not to especially the ladies you may have to buy outside.

All in all remember in Tokyo you will barely spend time in your hotel because there are so many sights to see but it does still add for a great vacation stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms from 15th flor and above. Specifically left side because the view is more spectacular a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 324 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was basic but it's pretty much a standard in Tokyo at this price range. The location was great, very close to the Shinjuku station, very close to many restaurants, eateries, food markets. Everything was tiny but you don't spend time in your room anyway, it's Tokyo! Coffee shops like Starbucks and others in the same building. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at in a very long time. The room was tiny, even by Tokyo standards. The bathroom looked like it was from an airplane, and was about the same size.

It is at Shinjuku station, but still requires a 20 minute walk to get to any of the main lines.

The lobby looked straight out of the 60s or 70s, and was gloomy and underground.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colourwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sure its small, they inform you upfront that it is 15 Sq. Meters.(150 Sq. Feet). we spent five nights with no trouble about space. I had our suitcase strategically placed between the front door and bathroom door so that both can open without touching it.
Finding the hotel from the JR Shinjuku Station the first time was confusing and took us about 20 minutes. Our third trip to the station took less than 5 minutes. Actually, when you get off the JR Yamamanote Line, look North and you will see the building. It has a Uniglo Store on its lower floors. Look for the East gate and proceed straight, sort of following the rail tracks. Its only a little more than a block away.
Contrary to what other reviewers have said, we had free high speed wifi throughout our stay. They had a 29" LED TV in superb HD. The room is quiet, air conditioning was perfect, an electronic safe, a nice refrigerator, not a minibar, they are not selling you anything. The beds were very comfortable with perhaps the finest linen I have ever used. Service was great, my request for extra pillows took about 30 seconds. The shower was powerful and the deep soaking tub was very relaxing after a hard day of sight seeing.
No room service, but with 5000 eateries around, who cares.
Travelers today carry a lot of gadgets. We have an ipad each, she has an iphone while I carry an android, a personal wifi, a portable charger and my camera batteries. I counted 8 useable outlets in this small room.
The prices are reasonable.
Most of all, it was immaculately clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this Shinjuku for second time. Last year and this year in the same month May. This year because of the high allergy season, I think the hotel added the clean air in the room, it does help my water eyes and running nose. The good location of the hotel with the jr train line and subway easy access to near by cities and many restaurants and shops around the hotel. The hotel staffs were good and understanding English. We had high floor 23 deluxe-double room, it's Japanese style small room compares to US, but very clean, neat. Overall the room was good and awesome views over Shinjuku. I recommend this hotel for great location and clean hotel.

Room Tip: room level 23 for views of tokyo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#13 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,524 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,659 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: €104 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing