We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price paid.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
292 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good for the price paid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

After looking at the prices for a 6 night stay in tokyo we settled on Shinjuku Prince. This hotel was a good 300 pounds cheaper than anywhere else we looked and for the price we paid we enjoyed our stay.

The check in was a easy process and the room was good. We expected a small room and that is what we got with just enough room to walk around the side of the bed, but we have stayed in smaller room. And the bathroom was almost like portable toilet but was fine for our needs.

The location was good and right in a busy area , which we really liked. We had a great time at this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    434
    226
    46
    23
See reviews for
155
259
122
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I chose this hotel based on the good reviews that I found in Tripadvisor. I must admit that it was a terrible choice!. The Hotel is clearly outdated and the location is terrible. The service is the worst I ever seen in Japan. the rooms were a real inferno with temperatures at 26 degrees. When we complained about the room temperature, we were provided with a fan since the air conditioning was not programed to cool down. In summary, please avoid this hotel. If you really want to go to the Shinjuku area, look for a Hotel in west Shinjuku and avoid all the junkiies and prostitutes around the Prince Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here after our connecting flight was canceled due to a hurricane. We scrambled to find a hotel and decided to stay here after my fiance stayed in Shinjuku the previous year. The hotel was ok. It was in an ok location. It was walking distance from the metro station but a little too far from most of the Shinjuku action. The room was small but who cares when it is either a small room or stuck in the airport for three nights! My one big complaint was that the room, and the whole floor smelled like smoke. And the internet was REALLY hard to figure out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Situated just a one-lane street away from Kabuki-cho, Tokyo's notorious sex district, this hotel stay was the scariest one in the five years or so that I have been visiting Japan. There was nothing actually wrong with this hotel, it is just a pretty average property but situated in a very, very unfortunate location.

I did not choose this hotel, the company who arranged for my work trip did. Check-in was fast and efficient - the staff spoke good English and had all the paperwork done in a matter of minutes. I was given a single room, which was nicely decorated with modern furniture and fixtures. It might be a small space, but it's actually pretty comfy.

The bathroom though, was in pretty bad shape. I could smell a faint stench coming from behind the fibreglass covering that hides the piping from view. The WC tank had probably clogged or something, and while not outright unbearable, I would still want to hold my nose while washing my hands or brushing my teeth in the tiny bathroom.

I ran into trouble the first night I was there, and I had not even stepped out of the hotel proper. A business associate had asked me to wait at the hotel door for him to pick me up and take me to a meeting venue. It was not two minutes standing outside when a dark suited guy with dyed blonde hair came up to me and started speaking to me in a threatening tone. I understood Japanese well enough to know that he is assuming that I'm some sort of gang member, for whatever reason he made the assumption I have no idea. I pretended to not understand him, and I was rather panicked by that time. Thankfully, he got the idea after a while and left.

This incident left me very shaken, and was unfortunately not the end of my woes staying there. Another old man, who looked to be in his 50s, started following me to and from the hotel doors to the 7-Eleven across the street. After the second day, I did not dare to venture out of the hotel once it was dark. By day three, I was uncomfortable staying there that I wanted out. I requested my business associate to book another hotel for me, and moved to another Prince property - the Grand Prince Takanawa. Thankfully, the rest of my business trip was made very pleasant by the excellent service and safe, residential area location at the Grand Prince Takanawa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Prince hotel Shinjuku is amazing value for money!! It is very clean, comfy,has awesome staff service and is in a great location! The rooms are very small but thats expected in tokyo.Breakfast time was a bit tricky as there is no real place to eat food in the hotel except for in your room. Overall it was a great place to stay and would recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rberlin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,680 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing