We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
2
39
57
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
39
57
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I booked this place because the Pearl Hotel in Yaesu was booked. The Yaesu location is better and newer than this one.
This hotel is a bit old and there are a lot of stains on the floor and markings on the walls (from luggage, and such). The room is relatively small, and is what I would expect from a business hotel.
There is internet in the room with LAN cables that are lent out at the front desk. There is also a fridge that doubles as a heater if you prefer to buy canned hot coffee and store it in your room.

The location is not the greatest because it is about 15 minutes form Tokyo station and about 8 minutes from Nihonbashi subway station. From Haneda is just a little bit inconvenient, although the hotel offers a shuttle from someplace near the airport. The thing is that you have to take a bus to get to the free shuttle and it costs a little more than the subway to Nihonbashi.

When I was reading the reviews from Japanese sites, everyone commented about the great breakfast. In my opinion, it is a good breakfast for a business hotel. It is a hot breakfast buffet and the staff do a good job keeping everything stocked. The food was a standard Japanese/Western breakfast buffet.

Overal, I would recommend someplace else. It is a good alternate hotel if your primary hotels are full. Otherwise, I would go with a different place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Average hotel, didn't have a furo (very disappointing), nice clean rooms. Breakfast buffet was a little strange sometimes.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank Audioscapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Considering the location, this place has very good value.
Although the front desk staff does not speak good English, they helped us a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfr48382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Spent 4 nights here in March 2008. "Perfectly adequate" is the best way to sum it up-I don`t mean that phrase to be facetious. The hotel is convenient to a Tokyo Metro station that is on two lines (Kayabacho), the rooms are clean and made up well every day, the front desk staff are helpful and, though they speak little English, they try their best and usually were able to get us the information we needed.

Rooms have a tea kettle and VERYsmall refrigerators, hair dryers, etc. kettle and VERYsmall refrigerators, hair dryers, etc. They are small but have pretty much whatever you`re likely to need unless you are used to a lot of amenities. The lobby does have internet-capable computers for 200 yen ($2) per 30 minutes.

Here are a few helpful hints: To get there, take the Tokyo metro to Kayabacho station and take the exit numbered 4b. Be careful to choose the right side of the station before you exit the metro, because you can only get to exit 4b if you exit by one side and not the other (though if you make a mistake, don`t freak out, it will just be a little more difficult to find the hotel). Before you exit check the map of the neighborhood inside the metro station-The hotel is on the map!

There ain`t much going on in this neighborhood-It`s strictly office buildings (that`s probably why the hotel is so cheap). But if you hunt around you`ll find some fun izakaya full of blue suit-clad drunk chain-smoking salarymen, who are a heck of a lot of fun once you break the ice.

Families be warned: The televisions have "pay" stations with, The televisions have "pay" stations with, er, ADULT content on them which, if you hit the right button on the remote, will show that content for 30sec or so before asking for payment to be made. So if you have young kids keep that remote out of their hands...

I would stay here again if cost were my primary concern, though if you can pay 3 my primary concern, though if you can pay 30-50% more you can get a room in a neighborhood better for strolling and sightseeing like Asakusa or Ueno.

Have fun in Tokyo-A great city in a great country!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank NeverGetsToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We loved the Pearl - very Japanese Hotel in style - not luxurious but fantastically functional and in a fantastic location for the subway to acces all areas of tokyo.

Our room had two beds with electronic function to raise/lower both ends, a computer with free internet acces and the typical tiny bathroom, English speaking staff, loads of tourist info, vending machines for snacks and breakfast buffet was, again, typical of what you'd get in an Asian hotel trying to cater for western and Asian guests - scrambled egg & sausages side-by-side with miso soup and bowls of rice.

We loved The Pearl.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank matobomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews