We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Hotels.com
US$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Agoda.com
US$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Booking.comUS$201
PricelineUS$212
HurbUS$219
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
60
65
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
65
16
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed at Hilltop Hotel for one night only prior to flying out of Tokyo. If you google Hilltop you can read a little of its history but despite its age, everything was well-maintained and the exceptional service was of a level rarely seen in hotels nowadays.
The staff were extremely accommodating, allowing us to check in earlier so we could enjoy one of our last days in Tokyo and delivering our luggage to our room in our absence. They also stored it for the day after we checked out which meant we could enjoy the day out without worrying about bag storage!
Upon arrival we were shown to our room by a really lovely man (unfortunately we didn't catch his name but his service was exemplary) and asked if we would like to enjoy some traditional Japanese tea in our room. The tea was delivered shortly after with some Hilltop cakes which I think you can also purchase as a souvenir.
Our room was tastefully decorated in an older style but everything was clean and the room had been modernised.
Location wise, the hotel is situated close to the university, "Booktown" and an area filled with music shops. We also noted many shops specialising in snow and ski wear. Although the area is fairly quiet it is quite centrally located and we found many cheap restaurants for eating and drinking about 10-15 minutes walk away near Kanda station (the area is called “guard-shita and is under and around the station). After dinner I had a long bath in our room and relaxed in our Hilltop yukatas. I wish I had asked if we could buy one of these as they were really comfy!

We chose the bed and breakfast option which meant we got the choice of a western or Japanese style breakfast in the morning served in a beautiful dining room.
My only regrets of our stay were that we didn't get to try to Bar Non Non (which only seats 9 guests) as I was unwell with a head cold and that we only had one night.
The bed was a little hard but the most comfortable of our trip to Japan.
Overall, a really pleasing stay - thanks to the staff of Hilltop.

Room tip: I believe there are garden rooms available for a higher rate which would be lovely.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. The location was fairly decent, not too far walk from the nearest train station (Ochanomizu) although as the name suggests it is at the top of a very steep hill so taking heavy cases was a challenge! The staff here were very helpful and lovely (as most of the people are in Japan). We stayed in a Japanese style room with tatami mats but a bed rather than futons. The room looked like a film set, really beautiful with an old writing desk. I did find the room to have an odd smell to it (there was an ashtray provided on the table) so I think it may have been stale smoke. I did get used to it eventually. As soon as we arrived we were served green tea and biscuits to the room which was a nice touch. The bathroom was dated and while not unclean it was a little aged. We didn't find there was much in the way of restaurants or nightlife around the hotel, so generally always took the train somewhere else. Nice stay for the 2 nights we were there, was lovely to stay in such an old building. Not sure I would stay again but that's down to the location and not the hotel itself.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fiwirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2016

On our first evening in Tokyo at the Hilltop Hotel, we asked the desk clerk for a sushi restaurant recommendation. He gave us one, and then realized we would have trouble finding it. (It was downstairs in a mall.) So he guided us to it on foot (about 10 minutes), told the sushi chef about our preferences and desired cost, and went back to the hotel. We were astounded. Plus, it was a very good meal. Hilltop Hotel is an older building, but has been modernized. The room was comfortable, the lobby was comfortable and welcoming, and I had a very fine traditional Japanese breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It's not as imposing as it looks in the official photograph (I had expected it to loom over the neighborhood - it doesn't), but it's next to a large university and the neighborhood is lively. We (a couple in our 70s traveling for pleasure) highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exnewyorker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This hotel was truly old fashioned! The service was absolutely wonderful as it used to be in the "olden days" when service was what hotels were all about. We were very impressed by the total attention to our wishes and needs,even though we had language difficulties.I would definitely stay there again,having mastered the subway so we could go all over Tokyo,the station was quite close and easy to get to.We did find that the bed and pillows were very hard,but that was normal for Japan,we were told.The room was quite big,with easy chairs,and tea making facilities so we could sit and read if we didn't want to go out.Many restaurants and a lounge with newspapers,one in English.Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fransje_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is next to One of the Meiji University campues and very centrally
located. Short walk from a few different train options. It is old but well maintained and has a definite old world charm.
Our room was large by Japanese standards and the bathroom in particular was the largest of any we have had during a number of visits to Tokyo. we were on the fifth floor and it was quiet with a lovely view of an enormous ginko tree in a small park next door.
The staff are extremely attentive. The western breakfast was generous and tasty and the service during the meal immaculate. The breakfast room is full of beautiful objects - a very peaceful and satisfying start to the day.
This is not a cheap hotel but if you don't mind spending a little more and want a great location a little more space and old world charm it is a great choice.
the hotel also contains a number of lovely restaurants. We ate in the Tempura restaurant - wonderful experience but very pricy.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susanlam2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews