We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location if you are with a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is by far the cheapest hotel location you could find in Porto with such a high standard. The hotel is on the way from the Porto Airport to the City Center. You can easily reach it with the high way, its next to the Exponor Exhobition Grounds. During my stay, there was a Classic Car Exposition. Day before I arrived at this location, I checked the internet rate which came up to be 45 EUR, as I did not reserve it at that time I thought I would have to pay the normal rate of 70 EUR, but to my surprise once I told at the check in that the rate was 45 EUR, they agreed upon it. The hotel is fairly new with standard Holiday Inn Express Rooms and bathrooms, you would not need more for such a short stay. We were recomended by the stuff to visit a local street with all the great fish restaurants where I ate Grill Sole with some garlic spinach - amazing taste for a fair price. As to the location, you can park the car on the hotel grounds without extra charge. As in each and every HIE the breakfast is included in the rate - it gave a good start to the day. The only problem is with the location, it is far from the Historic Part of the town, so if you don't have a car, don't bother to stay here. On my way back from Vigo I have stayed again at this place.

Room Tip: You can use PC's for no extra charge next to the reception desk
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed one night while waiting for our connecting flight. I agree with Sweetviking's review except that on my stay I did not get free wifi.
Porto was very nice, I wish I had more time to explore it. The bus service is excellent. The cheapest way to the hotel is to take the bus. The 601 bus right outside the airport leaves you a the door of the hotel after a 20 minute ride (Assoc. Emp. Portugal stop right after the Exponor stop). The same bus line takes you to the city center which was a nice little excursion. To return you take the same bus line at the final stop downtown and 20 minutes later you'll be back at the hotel. The buses work until midnight. To go back to the airport, take bus 601 which passes by twice an hour (1.75 euros for a one way ticket). It is comfortable trip even with some bags.
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast as described by MikeLizT.
I agree that tourist may want to stay closer to the city center but if this is the most affordable option, given the excellent bus service and the 20 minute ride each way, choosing this holiday inn express may be a good idea. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esculapio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Maybe it was because the other experience I had in the Holiday Inn of Gaia had been so nice that this one was so disappointing. I chose this hotel because I had business to attend nearby and I only stayed one night. Of course it is a 3 star and it shows. Although it is so modern, the rooms and beds are quite small and they offer no bathroom ammenities at all not even the shower cap or a small soap if you do not like to wash your hands with shower gel on dispenser. After a tiresome meeting I retrned to the hotel at 10,30 pm and asked if they had something that I could eat. No cafeteria or room service only a vending machine wher I bought a sandwich,The receptionist said there were several restaurants not very far away but I did not feel like going out so late and alone.The other option, he said, was to order from pizza hut because they delivered to the hotel. The only good think was the coffee and tea perculator in the room and the pillows on the bed. Even the parking space was mostly occupied and I had to look for a far away place to park when I arrived in the evening.The other people that attended that meeting stayed in Tripp hotel and had a more pleasant experience so next time I will also go to that hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here 2 nights to visit Porto.
There was a lot of free parking space in front of the hotel and there is also a busstop in front. The ride to the centre take 20minutes and is not expensive (1,75 euro per ride).
The hotel staff was very friendly, when arriving we were asked if it was the first time in Porto and because it was the first time, we got information on Porto and info on what bus to take,...
The room was,like the other Holiday inn Express hotels we stayed in, rather modern and clean.
The breakfast was good and enough choice (only the orange juice didn't have much taste when we were there).
There was wireless lan available which I tried to use with my mobile, but in the evening it was very slow, in the morning it was less slower, but still slow.
But nevertheless it was a good value for money to spend your nights there when visiting Porto.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed a night when we flew in on holiday. It is a 12 euro ride from the airport. It takes about 15 mins to walk to the beach and some good places to eat.

The rooms are what you would expect, clean and comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and breakfast was an 'extended continental' i.e. there was also cheese and ham.
The plus for us was that they have a car hore company in the hotel 'Aluvia' so the oick up was easy and then they drove us to the airport on return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeLizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leca da Palmeira
0.9 km away
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matosinhos
334 reviews
5.8 km away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#48 of 108 in Porto
832 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 6 in Matosinhos
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Porto Mar
Hotel Porto Mar
#4 of 6 in Matosinhos
66 reviews
1.7 km away
Urban Hotel Amadeos
Urban Hotel Amadeos
#5 of 6 in Matosinhos
125 reviews
5.1 km away
Park Hotel Porto Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor

Address: Avenida Doutor Antonio Macedo 163, Leca da Palmeira 4450-617, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Leca da Palmeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leca da Palmeira
Price Range: €65 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor is the only one from this brand in Porto.The hotel is situated in front of the Oporto International Fair (Exponor) with easy access and connections to all major city ring roads. It is also minutes away from Francisco Sa Carneiro International Airport (shuttle service on request) and Oporto City Centre. This fantastic location and accessibility makes the Holiday Inn Express Porto Exponor an ideal base for business or pleasure! All bedrooms, including accessible rooms, are equipped with air-conditining and Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious Complimentary continental buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor Hotel Leca Da Palmeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing