We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find out of town, great staff / owner.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Yanque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2017

A gem found on an otherwise poor 2 day 1 night tour from Puno to Arequipa. This was our overnight lodging. Wish we had found it by ourselves! Owner Emmanuel greeted us upon arrival, offered some cool activities, but we were tired. Nice supper onsite as it is a bit out of town, breakfast was also nice (included). Place is peaceful / serene, and chilled me after a rough day 1 of tour. Day 2 started off poor due to original agency, and Emmanuel helped get us back on track with bus pickup. He and his family were all smiles and nice for the duration... Place felt very French, fwiw.. (nice!).. Has onsite observatory, but we missed due to cloud cover. Also has onsite pool, spa and masseuse.

Room Tip: We had room facing terraces and green space (away from frontage road), nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

12 - 16 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2016

When we arrived the owner explained the hotel to us and quoted the
price, 150 soles for a double room which was ok.
Breakfast was excellent and served in the cosy dining - room.
As we had our own transport with us we really appreciated the secure parking with no extra charge. As a resumee we were satisfied
with our stay at Tradicional Colca and certainly will come back some day!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbertwinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoine26, Gerente at Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Thanks very much for your comment, have a very nice holidays in Peru
Best regards Emmanuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We paid a $20 cancellation fee at a nearby hotel just so we could switch to this hotel based on the activities and reviews! We were so looking forward to our stay but almost immediately things went downhill. I've written in detail what happened but the short version is tbis:

An overrated small hotel whose main attractions are easily found elsewhere nearby for very compatible prices (observatory, massages, horseback riding) and whose ownership finds it impossible to apologize, organize activities, or accept when certain foods are inedible. We are travelling South America for the year and this was by far our worst experience in a hotel with customer service and a place living up to expecfations/hype.


We had called in advance (the day prior) to make our reservation and were quoted a price that was significantly lower for a 2 nights stay - so we opted for that. Upon our arrival one of us was extremely ill so we asked the owner if we could pay for one night and let him know at dinner if we would, in fact, need the second night. Of course we paid the higher one night fee agreeing to pay the difference for the second night later. We had been looking forward to an introduction to the native horses (and wanted to book a ride) but nothing was mentioned or offered about horses.

Regardless, it was time for all the activities we heard about! Since the included hike was leaving in 10 minutes the owner assured us we could join the next days tour and perhaps do other activities for the day. We decided on mountain biking, massage, and the planetarium tour after dinner and drinks. Here's what actually happened:

Massage: Waited 30 minutes in the lobby as owner and employee assured the Maseuse would be there shortly and appeared to be cleaning the room? After more than 30 minutes and a very keen sense that massages weren't often requested, decided to save our money for the much more luxurious and similarly priced massages at the Colca Lodge nearby. No apologies from management, just a shoulder shrug and guarantee that if we had just waited a little longer it would have been ready.

Mountain Biking: Was one of the main reasons for coming and we were assured at check-in there were bikes available. When it was time to go, employee showed bikes all of which were broken (brakes out, and we even reset the chains on one). Only one was functional and it was child-sized. No helmets or safety gear was offered. Went for a beautiful dun in the area instead. Again, no apologies just a "hmm, they need to be fixed."

Dinner: We're quite easy going and despite our afternoon not having gone as planned, we were excited for good food and drinks. Upon walking in the owner let us know that our room WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE and that we would need to check iut in the morning. We were very confused but as we already did not like the hotel, thought perhaps it was a blessing in disguise? We sat down to eat.

The menu was pricey and the waiter did not speak English so the Spanish-speaker in the group had to translate. We ordered a margadita to which the waiter enthusistically replied "oh! Those drinks havent been available for years! The only cocktail available is the Pisco Sour." Pisco Sours it was! We ordered the menu del dia... a beautiful and fresh salad, followed by a very average piece of grilled chicken and a puddle of mashed potatoes (which, despite their appearance were quite tasty) and a piece of dry, but good orange cake. With an employees recommendation we got a second dessert to pass time before the show: a chocolate mousse. He walked to a small shelf by the reception, took a recent in out of the cabinet and returned to the table with the dish. It looked quite old and had a dark chewy crust on top but what shocked us was the salt! Surely their cook had substituted salt instead of sugar as none of us could manage to take more than a bite. We said something immediately to the owner (shouldn't he know so he could stop serving it?) And he immediately went to try one. He arrived to our table to let us know that the flavor we were experiencing was dark chocolate (a flavor that we quite enjoy and know well and would have loved to taste)... ! We agreed to disagree and he went as far as to try our half-eaten mousse then exclaim that it was definitely not salty. It was exhausting to argue with him so we opted to be quite, smile, and use the spotty WiFi to book activities nearby and find a new hotel.

The observatory was ok....very small, a nice guide who was enthusiastic...we observed three quite far-away subjects after watching a terribly recorded video on the lower level (think high school science class). The highlight was the guides enthusiasm and pointing out constellations in the night sky. It was a nice enough way to spend 45 minutes in the evening.

The icing on the cake came when we asked the owner why he booked up the hotel when he knew we were most likely staying, or why he had given us the option to let us decide at dinner then - within a few hours - book the room. It seemed like a very good strategy not to lower the room price for a second night, so we were quite frustrated. He claimed that we only paid for one night so that's all we would be guaranteed, and at no point did he offer an apology.

A very long story short, we were happy to move hotels - and we found a hidden gem just a few minutes walk from this hotel, we went on an excellent horseback ride somewhere else in town, and we were able to visit the sights that we missed by not being able to hike with the hotels guide. We truly hope the owner learns how to treat guests, that he updates his menu, and that the activities he offers require less waiting time for future guests.

Room Tip: None have WiFi but the 3 bed had a loft and were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cperron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoine26, Gerente at Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016
Google Translation

Lamentamos mucho su malestar, y todo nuestro equipo se junta a mí para expresar sus sinceras disculpas. Sin embargo quiero aclarar que de ninguna forma sucedió lo que usted esta mencionado, y que la forma irrelevante de su opinión solo tiene objetivo personal a ensuciar el nombre de nuestro establecimiento y calumniar mi persona y mi equipo. Pero eso lamentablemente no podemos cambiarlo porque sus palabras están expresadas para dañar.
Con la honestidad que nos caracteriza, lo que sucedió es que la clienta tenía interés quedarse más noches en nuestro establecimiento, pero por falta de disponibilidad no pudimos atender su solicitud, lo cual con anticipación le informábamos el día de su llegada, y ella se encontró totalmente a gusto con todo nuestros servicios hasta nos felicito. Sin embargo el día siguiente cuando le informamos que no se libero ninguna habitación, la clienta se molesto mucho y empezó a expresarse con mucha cólera.
Deploramos que algunos clientes utilizan Trip Advisor solo porque no pueden recibir algo que no corresponde a su exigencia y calumnian a los hoteleros responsables que somos, lamentablemente nuestra ética profesional no permite expresarnos más y nuevamente lamentamos lo sucedido nuevamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We loved our impeccably clean and spacious room. There was plenty of hot water for showers, which we keep short due to water shortages in the desert - but still, it is nice when they are hot. The breakfast was tasty. Warm bread provided in traditional pottery pots was a treat. We had an excellent dinner then enjoyed Emmanuel's talk on the stars of the southern hemisphere. Seeing various stars and planets and particularly the Magellanic cloud through his telescope in the the observatory on site was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teamturtledmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The hotel is located just outside the town of Yanke, by the main route to Cruz del condor, the place is small and the service is very personal, the staff is magnificent and we loved every minute there.The rooms are good but like most places in colca a bit on basic side, very well decorated and with views to the mountains and a nice shower.The lobby have free pool table and football table plus a wide selection of books and board games.The restaurant food is good and all cooked fresh in front of you.The place have their own observatory and they offer a astronomy display free of charge and the chance to see stars and planets through a telescope, because Colca is so remote, the view of the stars is amazing and the first time I was able to see The Milky Way with the naked eye.The hotel have a indoor swimming pool and sauna.In the afternoon they offer a free trek to the nearby mountains and finishing in the thermal baths of Yanke.

Thank davodiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanque
1.6 km away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
0.8 km away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
677 reviews
1.5 km away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Casa Andina Standard Colca
3.5 km away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#9 of 15 in Colca Canyon
218 reviews
35.2 km away
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
#1 of 2 in Cabanaconde
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca

Address: Avenida Colca 119 | Carretera Principal, Chivay, Yanque 0000, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Yanque
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yanque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yanque
Price Range: €31 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Confortable lodge with several activities within the turistic complex and the surroundings. Within the cost of the room comes included: buffet breakfast, temperated indoor swimming pool, trek to Uyo Uyo ruins, astronomical observatory and planetarium, and horseriding initiation with peruvian paso horses. We offer as well, non-included: Sauna, Relaxing massages, Horseback riding with peruvian paso horses from a few hours to a few days, trekking. Our hotel offers the service of a restaurant with a terrace and a fireplace, and an ample garden. See you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradicion Colca Canyon
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca Yanque, Colca Canyon, Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing