We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
594
189
60
21
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
189
60
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh seafood four days oysters sea view massage pleasure france bicycles cycling island
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The hotel shuttle from the port to the hotel is free and perfectly organised. Staff are friendly and professional, the classic style. The hotel location is behind the wild and spectacular Ocean cliffs. An oasis with big trees and with an interesting view. Having a drink on the lounge deck is very romantic. The rooms are of good quality and perfectly in shape. Room renovation is ongoing. The Spa has many rooms for treatments, sauna and hammam is not very big. Dinner in the Café Clara has a nice view. You have to decide between buffet or the menu. This is not easy. Breakfast is also in the Café Clara which is of rich and good quality, but expensive. Few alternatives restaurants are within miles. The Castel Clara is the best hotel on the Isle, a nature place, you need a good budget to stay there and having treatments.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hansheiri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Beautiful location, excellent staff and restaurant, but they have gone bananas about being "green." Body wash/shampoo was bolted to the wall in the shower and hight and to the left of the double sinks, a very inconvenient location. The first trime I tried to get some soap for the sink, I got sprayed in the chest. The separate toilet room in our suite had an sink, but NO SOAP.

Internet is extremely slow, not what we expected in a Relais et Chateau 4 star facility.

No room air conditioning. Windows open, but there are no ties for the drapes to prevent them from blowing out the windows in the wind.

Otherwise, an excellent hotel.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denniscB9727FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

We spend 6 days at this resort and just loved it. Location is real nice and quiet, other than some children running around and noisy, but it was holiday season. Breakfast was superb and dinners were quite good. Staff was excellent and as helpful as could be. We had some issues with picking up our son that was meeting us, and we're helped every way. We would love to return. The island is just unbelievable.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank exportm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This hotel truly is lovely, though expensive. The staff were wonderful. We stayed for five days in a sea-view room, and, though the weather was not always ideal, simply looking out of our window at Port Gopher was a delight. We found the gastronomique restaurant to be very fine. Certainly we would stay here again, though probably not during the school holidays.

Three things to keep in mind: The amenities are not provided in miniature containers in
order to reduce waste. Of course this is fine, but the pump bottles of shower gel, etc.,
were bolted to the wall, which made them difficult, in some cases, to access as well as giving the guest the feeling that management was afraid the guest would steal them.

There were a LOT of families at this hotel in the month of August. One glance, at night, into the Café Clara gave the impression of a Day Care Center rather than a pleasant
restaurant. We were indeed happy we had opted for the other dining option.

Also, the wifi is rather slow.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Hmmm..fiendishly expensive, almost justified by superb location, friendly staff...but some niggardly touches which leave some poor taste, eg one towel, corked wine, unreplenished water in room..I could go on. Gastronomic restaurant not yet up to scratch.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Rafehasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews