We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
615
65
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
65
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla desiradenice roompastriesthe location is perfecta real treatbeautiful gardenbeautiful hotelat homepierrebelleislandilecottageselection
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

La Desirade is a gorgeous family run hotel on the equally fabulous Belle Île. Although it’s 3*, the hotel feels 5* in everything from the rooms, to the amenities and service. Rooms are cozy, quiet and very clean, with decor matching the blues and greens of the island. I’m not sure I’ve ever had the occasion to say this in a review, but they also smelled fantastic (wish I’d asked what fragrance they use in the diffusers!) The pool area and spa (with a jacuzzi), as well as the many sun beds dotted around the garden are perfect for relaxing with a book. Breakfast is a standout, with a range of savoury and sweet local snacks. To take in the natural beauty of Belle Île, you can rent electric bikes from the hotel - a great way to get around the island. Finally, special mention needs to go to the friendly, warm and attentive service - you can tell this is a passion project for the couple who own and run the hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Katinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre R, Propriétaire at La Desirade - Hotel, Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thanks for your detailed and encouraging review!
Yes, we are a family run hotel … and we are very proud to cultivate the spirit of "La Désirade"!
And yes, we are also aiming at offering ideals services to our guests, including our ability to help them discover Belle-Ile!
We could say that we try to offer the best of 2 concepts: the atmosphere of family owned B&Bs, and high level services of modern hotels!
And we are sincerely proud that you call this a "Passion project": this is really what it is!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Very nice human adventure. The owners have a passion for Customer relations and thus, have gathered employess and customers matching their values : kindness, sens of humour, open minded etc... Having a break at la Désirade allow a very peaceful and pleasant stay wether it is for a week-end or for holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank Sacha1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre R, Propriétaire at La Desirade - Hotel, Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear guest, many thanks for your recommandation.
Unfortunately only few foreigners know Belle-Ile but those who come really love it and find it a bit addictiv!
Hoping to welcome you again.
best regards,
Bénédicte and Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We have been to Belle Ile 8 times in 13 years and the last 3 at La Desirade. For us it is the perfect place to stay. It is very relaxed . Pierre and Benedicte make you feel that you are their only guests - the food in the 'ordinary ' restaurant is better in our view than any other restaurant on the island! The A la Carte restaurant must be out of this world. The location is perfect being very central. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We have stayed at other hotels, rented houses and Air B&B but we will come back here in preference to all of these.
Jeremy and Ruth Aitchison and family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre R, Propriétaire at La Desirade - Hotel, Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Aitchsion family,

thank you so much for this warm and detailed review. We were delighted to welcome you, as usual! Each of your stays becomes epic, regarding the transportation, nevertheless you remain “zen”! We try to make La Desirade a special place: combining the spirit of a guesthouse with all the services of a hotel. We are glad to see that you feel at home, as the other guests, enjoying being together whilst not having to worry about the daily tasks. We hope to see you soon, family and friends.
With our kind regards,

Bénédicte and Pierre Rebour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Go there, if you can! We were surprised that it was only described as being 3 Stars. Gourmet food in high class accommodation in an excellent location and very accommodating staff. What more can one want?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank rectangle113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre R, Propriétaire at La Desirade - Hotel, Spa & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for you kind review ! We were glad to welcome you and spend very nice moments with you. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay. Feel free to share your experience with your friends and family in Wales so as to enable them to discover Belle-Ile and La Désirade.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

With our best regards,

Bénédicte and Pierre Rebour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

La Désirade offers the discriminating traveller privacy, comfort and a high standard of catering in pleasant, gentle surroundings.
Returning to the hotel for the third time in the last four years, we found the same high standards of service and professionalism, with that distinctive personal touch of a family concern.
La Désirade is ideally located for exploring the magnificent scenery of the island on foot or by bicycle.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mijoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews