We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, well appointed in great...”
other travellers have booked this property
L\'Aigle à Les Hirondelles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L\'Aigle à Les Hirondelles
Outside Eating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
L\'Aigle à Les Hirondelles
Outside Eating area
Iris Gardens in May
Força Real View area
View from Mantet above Fuilla
Coastal walk in March
Nearby Villefranche
Square in Villefranche
Ridge above Les Hirondelles
Winter Sunset over Mont Canigou taken from les Hiorndelles
Walking in Carança Gorge
Carança Gorge
Walking along the Canal de Mosset
View From Mosset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fuilla, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cardamoms...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent rental in isolated location”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed here recently with my husband and baby. There are some things we really enjoyed (lovely, old barn; beautiful terrace; all the stuff you could want; pretty views) and others that were a disappointment (uncomfortable bed, isolation, lack of hosting).

Accommodation:
Pros: The star of the Gite is the terrace, which is comfortable furnished for enjoying the outdoors and beautifully maintained. The converted barn in which the rental is located is lovely with fieldstone walls, which keep the flat cool even in 30 degree weather. A wide variety of stuff is available at the gite - toys for kids, lots of cooking gadgets (even an immersion) blender, and guidebooks and dvds.

Cons: The full-size bed in the master bedroom was not comfortable. If two are sleeping on this bed, any move made by one person is immediately felt by the other. For my husband and me, a comfortable bed is really important and this just did not meet that mark. We found the living room furniture was also a little short of comfortable. I think we would have been a lot more comfortable here with an upgraded mattress sofa, and armchair.

Location: Fuilla is located about 7 minutes up a mountain road from Villefranch de Conflent. There are no amenities in Fuilla. You must go by car or bike to Sahorre or Villefranche (or further) to even buy bread. This isolation might be just what some people desired (although, isolation doesn't necessarily mean quiet as their are two other gites and the owner and, in our case, her family all sharing the same outdoor area), but we would have preferred a few more amenities being within walking distance.

But, the huge benefit of this location is that there is a large variety of villages, abbeys, mountain walks, etc. available just 15 to 30 minutes away. We really loved visiting Jujols - a jewel of a village perched on the side of a steep mountain up a winding mountain road. The village itself is gorgeous and three mountain walks leave from there, one of which is family friendly.

Hosting: Based on others' reviews, I think we had an atypical experience, but nonetheless it was our experience. We missed the feeling of having a host who could help make the best of a new place. In a 12 day stay, the host only checked in on us the day before our departure. And we didn't otherwise see them around. I think this might have been due to a combination of their having a lot of house guests when we were there, and our being people who don't like to bother others. Ironically, one of their house guests did more to point us to good local spots than did the actual hosts of the gite. In the absence of the hosts in holiday rentals, I always value a local info sheet that points the way to sites that might not be in guidebooks. While the gite featured a list of restaurants and a binder filled with tourist pamphlets, there was no insider local information written down. This seems like a lost opportunity.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Maria, It is with disappointment we read your account of your stay in Fuilla. We are sorry you feel we were unhelpful, we do however endeavour not to encroach in guests space, but yet if approached, as invited to on arrival, or we encounter guests in the courtyard, we will always guide them with whatever their interests. Unfortunately we did not meet under these circumstances. I was only in the courtyard at the same time as you twice and regrettably you were engaged in conversation on both occasions.
Regarding the bed, we were totally unaware of the problem as it had never been brought to our attention, but on your comment it will naturally be noted and replaced for next year if needed.
We hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home, and enjoyed Bilbao. Penny & Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulandru...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Very comfortable, well appointed in great location and terrific hosts”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The gite was comfortable with everything we needed, plenty of room for 2 couples, good outdoor sitting area. Penny and Mike were ready and willing to help out with their local knowledge. We found there were plenty of lovely villages and towns to visit a short drive away, take a trip on the Yellow Train or stay around the house and enjoy the views from there. We would highly recommend Les Hirondelles
Paul and Ruth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal base for exploring the area”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Very comfortable and well equipped gite in a lovely village. Beautiful scenery, lots of places to visit and fantastic walking country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding countryside.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celine M
San Gwann, Malta
1 review
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay in Fuilla. The scenery is magnificent and the place was very clean and also very well equipped. The owner, Penny is so sweet and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. A car is a must because although the neighbouring towns such as Villefranche and Vernet-les Bains are relatively close, without a car you would be stranded.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday in Real France”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A super gite with very friendly hosts who provided for everything. Great location in friendly vllage. Plenty to do around and about from walking , to eating, to wine tasting and drinking, to visiting the coast for superb fresh fish. Our week passed far too quickly and we shall return to sample its delights once again. We found a new part of France that was very welcoming and warm as well as being full of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome and excellent gite
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing