We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hub of the town”
Review of Crotty's Pub B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crotty's Pub B & B
Ranked #2 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This stay was excellent. The rooms are spacious, if somewhat old fashioned, and very well maintained. The bathroom was large and contained a roll top bath. There is little else of note in the town but Crotty's is the place to be anyway.
Great food and great staff, this is where the locals go to eat.
Live music Tuesdays and Wednesdays

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor if you would like a little more quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Crotty's Pub B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Went there forlunch with friends, one of whom is coeliac. Menu limited to two items . Salad without crutons and baked potatoe. On ordering they ha. d run out of potatoes. As we left the owner looked equiringly and we told her why we were leaving . Her rude reply was "ye held up thd table long enough" No "sorry about that . She walked off. My friend the coeliac followed her and told her that was no way to treat a customer -to which she replied "YOU are not a customer. Not a good attitude from the owner herself. We will NOT be retuning

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine1064758, Owner at Crotty's Pub B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We offer fresh salmon, smoked salmon, prawns, gluten free club sandwich and toasted special, gf soup great fresh salads made to order.. Lots there and more for a customer to choose from but you never became one.. Just took the table for an hour and a half while waiting and meeting your company you ordered nothing not even a beverage..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Called for lunch yesterday. Should have read the Trip Advisor reviews first. I had a beer and a chicken taco with salad and chips. The meal was all fajita and no chicken. Totally inadequate. The salad was a damp leaf with a few tiny pieces of chopped onion or something. My wife went for the chowder with the "homemade soda bread" The chowder was OK 5 out of 10. The bread was from a sliced pan. Overall a very disappointing visit and definitely not recommended. Having said that, the staff were friendly and the venue is quaint.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BronzeTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The accomodation was clean. The rooms are old but nicely decorated.
Plenty of space, coffee & Barry's tea
The staff were nice.
The food was good though the Guinness could ve been better.
A nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Travelling with family (6) we stopped one afternoon looking for a bite to eat, hot beverage and a warm hearth after an afternoon of touring Co. Clare. We chose Crotty's Pub in Kilrush and we were disappointed.

While waiting to place our orders we had a chance to look around, we decided it best to skip the meal. The place is far from clean enough for food service in our opinion. Being cold and wet the group did however decide to chance a hot drink.

We ordered 2 cappuccino, "tea for two" and 2 hot chocolates.
Even though the pub was not busy at all, our drinks arrived within 20-25 minutes.

The tea drinkers agreed the tea was fine. The two hot chocolate drinkers have just confirmed that the hot chocolate was OK. One of them rating it 3/10- which I'm not sure qualifies as OK.

The 2 "cappuccino" did not have even a hint of coffee flavour.

Kilrush is a lovely town and we found people there very friendly.

If you're looking for a warm place to have a meal and/or hot beverage maybe ask a local for a recommendation.

P.S. Loophead Lighthouse is well worth a visit, even if it is raining.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilrush
23.3 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,315 reviews
11.9 km away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
380 reviews
22.5 km away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
0.2 km away
Buggle's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 km away
Innwood House
Innwood House
#3 of 8 in Kilrush
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotty's Pub B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotty's Pub B & B

Address: Market Square, Kilrush, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range: €77 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing