We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There for the crack!”
Review of Crotty's Pub B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crotty's Pub B & B
Ranked #2 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2015

If you like Irish hospitality, Guinness, Irish music, good company, and great food this is the place for you. We got a wonderful welcome from Kevin & Rebecca the owners and felt part of the family in no time at all. The barman Jack was also great and looked after our needs, real customer care! The rooms are not the best in the world but are adequate for a short stay (in our case 4 nights) being clean with comfortable beds ,we slept really well. The food was great especially the full Irish breakfast which was all made with fresh local produce. There were specials on every evening as well as a fairly extensive menu (one for lunch and another for evening meal).

There is lots to do within a short drive from Kilrush we enjoyed in particular; Loop Head, Killkee, dolphin watching, the Dingle peninsular (Connars Pass), and the Burren. Rebecca sorted out our trips personally, we felt like we had our own travel agent.

We will return in the next couple of years, but first we have to learn some folk songs, we were asked to sing at the traditional music sessions but this time were not able to oblige.

Room Tip: Room 5, 6, 7
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Crotty's Pub B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

On another visit to the lovely town of Kilrush, we once again went to Crotty's Bar for a meal.
The Summer Menu had a varied selection of fish, meat and Vegetarian dishes.
I ordered Seafood Platter and to my delight it was beautifully presented.
Generous portions of crab meat, smoked salmon, prawns, homemade coleslaw, cherry tomatoes all on a light bed of salad greens. The platter was garnished with sumptuous Crab Claws.....again a most generous portion.
This meal was so fresh and at a most reasonable price of €18 approx.
My companion had Scampi. Big fresh prawns coated in a light batter... again, a most generous portion, served with fresh salad and skinny fries and Marie Rose sauce. Delicious!!!!!
Will be back as usual on our next visit.
This is a wonderful restaurant within an old world tradition pub surroundings.
Well done to Kevin & Rebecca for their consistency in providing "Excellent Food" over the years.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Mairead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Fantastic pub with great food and a warm welcome. Beautiful rooms and a great place to stay. Probably the best Guinness and Irish coffee we had on our tour too!.

The pub is full of character with lots of interesting "snugs". Food was hearty with generous portions and very reasonable. The rooms are beautifully decorated, reflecting the overall charm and antiquity of the building. Ideally placed on a busy market square, so some noise from the pub and surrounding area is inevitable. Staying here was a big highlight of our trip and we would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Some noise to be expected from the square.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We had a week stay in kilrush in July.
Enjoyed a few meals and evening drinks
Food was very good..seafood chowder great..portions were good..value for money.. Staff were very nice and kind to our children.. Messing about making sure they ate it all or no dessert.. The only negative I would say was a man walking around on a few of the evenings we were in having drinks.. He was very unhappy looking and unpleasant.. Looked like security.. It was mentioned to me he was the owner by a staff member after I enquired about him..people all have things happening in their lives.. Maybe it was an outside influence that had him grumpy.. But keep it at home.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank sheilaoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Our 1st day in Ireland met with a warm welcome from Rebecca one of the owners. Gave us a choice of rooms. We took the one in the back (she mentioned it may be quieter from the pub sounds). It was. Did not hear a thing. Bed was comfortable. If you have any issues climbing stairs this wouldn't be for you. The bathroom was tiny. Could have used a shower caddy because of its size. If you are a medium built person, It would be challenging picking up your toiletries on the floor in the shower. Not much wiggle room. I slept well. The breakfast was excellent. You have a variety menu. Coffee superb. We would come back again!

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, pick a room in the back, away from the pub
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilrush
23.3 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,314 reviews
11.9 km away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
380 reviews
22.5 km away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
0.2 km away
Buggle's Bed and Breakfast
0.6 km away
Innwood House
Innwood House
#3 of 8 in Kilrush
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotty's Pub B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotty's Pub B & B

Address: Market Square, Kilrush, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range: €77 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing