We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place I will never forget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crotty's Pub B & B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crotty's Pub B & B
Ranked #2 of 8 Kilrush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place I will never forget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This pub and town are incredible. Completely incomparable to anywhere else I have been. The people are fun-loving, generous, ridiculously helpful and kind. I can't really explain how much fun I had there. The pub is very traditional, with everything from a warm fire to a long wooden bar. It has a warm and contented feel about it; which may have something to do with the fire, but more likely, something to do with the people. They are so much fun to be around. From the moment you sit down, you will be surrounded by friendly people wanting to chat about anything and everything. After the first day almost everyone I spoke to was refering to me by name. I had an amazing time and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    52
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
79
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Walk-in. Stayed one night (Tuesday) end of September

A very quaint pub/hotel on the town square. The rooms are accessed through another door on the street next to the pub/restaurant part. There is a real mixture of different rooms, all nicely decorated with antiques, ensuite bathrooms, TV. Some of the rooms front onto the town square, but aren't noisy.

The main pub/restaurant is very nice, what you call a real Irish country pub it feels like you've stepped back in time. The restaurant had a good menu and the food was also very good.
There is public parking right in front of the hotel, although you will have to pay for a ticket during the day (10 till 6).

Overall, this was an excellent place to stay in, friendly, helpful staff, and very central to the west coast of Ireland.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Crottys is quirky and fabulous! The rooms are above the pub, and due to it being an old establishment, the stairs are narrow, so hard work carrying suitcases up them. The landlord kindly helped us. All the staff were very helpful and courteous, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was good, and the room clean and very comfortable. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hi Kevin & Rebecca,

I wanted to drop a line to say thank you for your hospitality over the weekend. In terms of atmosphere, ambience & service I was very impressed. You have great staff where nothing was too much bother. The family meal we had was excellent and the seafood platter a joy. I would recommend Crotty’s to anyone visiting West Clare.

I look forward to returning in the future and apologies to Simon and the crew for keeping them up on Saturday night!!


kindest regards,

Simon Shearman.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I like Crottys but I had lunch there last week and gone were the home made chips replaced with frozen French fries. I hope this is not a trend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joetraynor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilrush
0.0 km away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 km away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.0 km away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 km away
Buggle's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crotty's Pub B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crotty's Pub B & B

Property: Crotty's Pub B & B
Address: Market Square, Kilrush, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilrush
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilrush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crotty's Pub B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing