We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our 1st choice but very happy. ”
Review of asador astillero

asador astillero
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is a large, busy, restaurant in the port of Getaria. It should be in your records.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We were advised to visit Getaria as we are turbot lovers and this town apparently serves up the best . We wanted to eat at Elkano or Kaia Kaipe but both were closed on the Monday we came but our hotel recommended this place . It is in an old warehouse so do not expect salubrious surroundings but we were here to enjoy fish and it was very good. The kitchen is open for all to see and you are more than welcome to go in and watch the chefs in action , we had clams to start and a huge turbot to share , it was exceptionally fresh and lovely tasting , to drink a couple of bottles of Terras Gauda Alborinio wine which is perfect with turbot and great value in this restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank phillipg601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2018

You have to climb stairs to have access to this restaurant. The windows overlook the fishing harbor. The waitress was very patient as she waited for us to make a choice. She showed us the fish before it was grilled. The for was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kilese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Made a special effort to eat here based on Trip Advisor Certificate. Compare to fish dinner the night before - it was a huge disappointment. Price double dinner price from previous night, and the fish was just average.
I suspect this is a place for locals and they are treated differently and given menu of the day option.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

1st make a reservation! you will more than likely not get a table if you do not. This place is located right off the fishing docks but came super reccommended due to price and food. Be prepared that some places to sit are a very tight fit. Our table was not ready when we arrived so we stood at the bar in an inconvienent spot, servers had to pass through there and we had bags and just felt in the way. About 10 minutes passed and we were sat. We got a nice table at the window looking at the bay and fishing boats. We ordered a langostine salad to start and then a hake fish dish cooked in two ways. Fish is very fresh! Ingredients are minimal. Together this makes for a delicious meal. The Service was not very attentive nor did they suggest anything, after clearly knowing we were tourist and had never been there. I speak spanish but had to google all the fish names and how they are prepared on the menu as I had never heard of them before. They took a while to get to our table for refills and the check. I did notice how other patrons were treated and clearly I felt our lack of top service was due to us not being from Spain. We are Mexican, not that it mattered. The food was delicious but I doubt I would reccomend this place due to the mediocre service.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamvelez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Excellent see food in a nice environment. Very fast service and very good quality. Hopefully, we will be back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank martamanresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed asador astillero also viewed

Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to asador astillero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing