We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly felt like tourists................”
Review of asador astillero

asador astillero
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Getaria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is a large, busy, restaurant in the port of Getaria. It should be in your records.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We had our first meal here while staying in Getaria. Although we were given a smile when we arrived, we were stuck at the furthest away table in an awkward corner. No explanation was offered when I tried to ask about how (various) fish were cooked. Our whole roast turbot was excellent - although it came with absolutely no accompaniments. Service was correct, but without charm and we noted on departure that everyone else appeared to have sliced roast potatoes alongside their fish and all the decent tables were given to Spanish people - with a foreign couple being stuck at the opposite end of the restaurant to us, also in a poor position. It was expensive and we would not go back as compared to the service and way we were treated at other restaurants in town, this one did not come anywhere near.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Lulu187175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Had a wonderful meal here as a part of "A Taste of Spain" mini tour.
Great grilled prawns, clams and grilled turbot.
Washed down with some local Txakoli wine, overlooking the harbour.
Simple food done simply.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pjamieson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We went as 3 vegetarians in a group of 12. They had no concept of vegetarian food and unwilling to adapt what they had. So only had asparagus for starter, tomato salad for main (!) and a desert. No vegetables even.

Even the omnivores complained about no vegetables for anyone; and one wasn't served until after some had finished main course. Some deserts sold out. Wine that was ordered for specific people was just served to whole table. The only restaurant in a week that didn't provide (free) tap water, only bottled.

Suffer from arrogance and conceit. Avoid.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Ayjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The reviews for this place are mixed, we ate there three times and twice in other local restaurants, all meals were fish, to eat anything else in these places is sacrilege.
We had no trouble either with the food or service with no duff dishes, even when the place was full.
This is not a Michelin star pretender, basic room and tables, it is full of locals who all seemed to know what they were getting and enjoyed it as did we.
The turbot was exquisite followed by great sea bass, marzula (hake) flash fried shrimp , wine list a bit short in the white category but fair prices and had to get the waiter to use wine glasses not tumblers one night which was no problem.
The likes of the turbot are priced per kilo and not cheap but this ort of fish is not cheap anywhere now so one is entitled to expect quality and here we got it, enjoyed every meal, if you go up the road to Kaia Kaipe the kilo price is double, fine restaurant though it is you are paying for a little better meal and white tablecloths and penguin waiters, you take your choice.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wiggiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

What a find , great seafood had the fresh lobsters from the charcoal grill ! They were so fresh tasting. We both had them and the style of cooking lobster was so unique. Will be back to basque country for more

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bredadolan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed asador astillero also viewed

Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
Getaria, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to asador astillero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing