We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
227
107
29
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
227
107
29
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews busy road four poster poster bed park broom main road double glazing an evening meal one night stay last minute booking packed lunch en route to scotland friendly welcome long drive lovely room good nights sleep dog carlisle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

Lovely place, wonderful hostess, very comfortable bed and the most amazing breakfast.
We thought this place was the perfect stopover on our journey from the north of Scotland to the south of England. Yes it is close to a busy road but the glazing is very good and we honestly did not get woken up by the traffic.
Also a great price, really highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank W5644WAnickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a wedding and would recommend it. The hostess was so friendly and accommodating (earlier check in time being one) The room we stayed in (11) was large, there was a balcony attached and an en suite shower room. We found our stay very comfortable and slept well. The room was clean and welcoming. The only slight criticisms we have are the creaky beds/floors, a cracked sink and that the hotel is on a main road- however we never had any issue with traffic noise and it is an old building. We both had a full Carlisle breakfast which was fresh and tasty. All in all would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 249janinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020

We stayed here last night as a stopover to break up a long drive from Sussex to Inveraray. We had our rather excitable Jack Russell and our 18 month old with us hence the need for a break. This place was perfect. We explained when we booked we were looking for somewhere with interconnecting rooms if possible. We were given a room that you walked into a little hallway space with two bedrooms and a bathroom off of it. This meant little one had his own room but still within our own space (hope that makes sense). This was ideal to make sure we all got a good nights sleep. One very happy mumma. The room was immaculate and beautifully done our. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and great with both the toddler and dog. We had a lovely meal in the evening and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Really lovely little place and wouldn’t hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amanda1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2019

My husband and I have stayed here on a couple of occasions recently.

The beds are comfortable and room very clean plus it is pet friendly so our 2 little Cavalier King Charles Spaniels were very happy!

The management are very friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough for you. The breakfast menu was very good and the food in the evening also excellent.

We would not hesitate to stay here again as it is reasonably priced and is handy for exploring lots of different areas including the Lakes and Northumberland.

Thank you to the lovely hard working staff for a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Goldf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at how nice the recently refurbished room was. Lovely hosts in Lorna and Gary.excellent dinner, breakfast, beer and wines. Pet friendly. Close to town but far enough from town in the country. Great for business, pleasure, hiking and a rest on a journey to Scotland. Highly recommended. Under new and much improved management.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hawkthestayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews