We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Landa Holiday Houses
Nearby Hotels
River Garden Resort & Camp Site(Belihuloya)(Great Value!)
US$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Glenrock(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belpeak Cottage(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Water Garden Hotel(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Glenrock(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mount Field Resort(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hilro(Belihuloya)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
22
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
14
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslush green environmentclose quarterspaddy fieldsrooms are cleansri lankathe riverpanwatreesfoodsbirdsmiddleblendvegetablessoundforestnature
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Our family stayed at Landa for only one night, but it was an enjoyable stay with hospitable staff and amazing Sri Lankan cuisine.

The rooms are slightly dated, but it adds to the charm of the property. A little stream runs across the back stretch of the lush, green, slightly overgrown garden and is a lovely spot for a picnic. The climate is nice and cool compared to the congestion of Colombo, and it is a really nice place to get away from the hustle of the city. The rooms overlook the paddy fields & hills surrounding the area.

There a lots of birds and other wildlife on the property but we also encountered a few creepy crawlies in the garden so make sure to stock up on repellent.

The dining area is very homely and the food prepared by an old lady is absolutely heavenly!

Overall it was a pleasant trip and we would return to the property again.

Room Tip: *Avoid the tree house if possible. It looks good in photographs, but is not all that spacious.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandG_DeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Landa is a wonderful spot to get away from tourists in a quiet charming natural setting. We booked the treehouse but they offered an upgrade to the "honeymoon room" which overlooks the river. The staff were wonderful - the elderly woman cooked delicious meals, the young men were eager to help with anything, and the manager was very accommodating. They couldn't have been nicer but their English is just ok.

Ask for the tour of the local village which was a highlight for us - bit of an adventure walking through the river (in the water), climbing up steep muddy slopes and twisting between dense trees, but then you emerge to walk through the never-ending terraced rice paddies - we even saw a couple peacocks!

It's a 4 hour drive from the intl airport (as with everything in Sri Lanka, since it's very far).

We would recommend this for anyone willing to take a risk with a more rustic location and way off the beaten path. We used this as a base for World's End hike and Baker Falls.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank weissguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Ours was a 3 night stay for a group of 5 en route to a week in Unawatuna. The choice to stay at Landa was to use as a base for some walking and sightseeing in the hill country.
After flight delays we arrived at Landa some 3 hours later than anticipated at around 9pm.
Being not too sure if food was available, we were astonished when they knocked up amazing fish and chicken curries for us. We ate there every night and the quality of food being so amazing.
The location was off a reasonably busy road, but dropping down the narrow drive, you are immediately transported into a secluded plot with lovely gardens. Two of the rooms were of good quality. The third (in the room overlooking a waterfall) was not as good.
All of the staff were very friendly and bent over backwards to be accommodating. A wonderful start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two rooms attached to the main property
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barrington2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Was delighted at how well kept and beautiful the huge garden area was. The houses were very comfortable and luxurious with wife and cable TV. The staff was very friendly and the morning breakfast was exquisite! Definitely recommend a visit. Very near to the Bambarakanda waterfall (highest waterfall in Sri Lanka) and the Lover's mountain range. Within an hour's drive from Horton plains.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank SuW-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely property with my family members and had a fantastic time. It was just one kilometre away from the main town and located in an area of lush green surrounding with a peaceful environment. Staff were friendly and courteous and always willing to prepare our preferences. Rooms were large and comfortable and most importantly they were very clean. They even had arranged us an outdoor barbecue grill too. Overall it was an awesome stay.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kumudu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews