We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
30
16
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
16
7
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

I was thinking on staying near Bari or on the coast when I stumbled on this gem. That's what I was hoping for anyway. The drive up to Vico Del Gargano is fantastic, great roads and wonderful views, that's till you get to Vico. You drive up the main road and you see run down building and broken old apartments and I thought this isn't good, then there's the Maremonti Hotel all faded and worn out looking just like everything else.
Were welcomed by a very nice gentleman and his beautiful daughter at reception, but also the smell of mold and old cigarette smoke. I wish I could say the room was better but I can't. The paint didn't look too old but it wasn't enough to cover up the old building smell. Bed was as old and worn out as the rest of the place. On a good note the bathroom was nice and clean and the shower worked well. What I really liked was the front door security, the door had been Jimmied with a screwdriver so may times that you could see into the hallway even with the door closed. I now understand why another reviewer said he didn't feel the need to lock his door !!!!
With a map in hand from the nice gentleman at the front desk, we headed out to see this wonderful town. It had just started raining so we hopped into the car. 5 or 6 more blocks of run down buildings we hit the center of town, a statue. Nothing of any history here, so we continued up to the castle at the top of the hill. What a disappointing site that is, just run down and dirty.
Were just a couple of Canadians here to see and experience Italy, but place was so ..... Not the 4 to 5 star rating that's for sure. Maybe to the Italians this town has some appeal that reminds them of days gone by, but we didn't find anything nice or special about Vico.
So back to the hotel we went, to make sure our bags were there. The day started to clear up so we drove down to the beach, about a 20 min drive. Easy to find parking in early Oct. as the place we deserted, nothing open or going to be open. That's OK, we can have a nice long walk along a beautiful beach all to ourselves. Not 5 mins into the walk we were swarmed be sand flies, couldn't shake them so we ran back to the car.
We ate dinner at the hotel, the service was fantastic and the food was great. The seafood was so fresh, the pasta was too salty for my taste but that seems to be the case all through southern Italy. €30 for a two course meal for two is a good value.
Lucky we had a great dinner as breakfast was not. Just a croissant, jam yogurt and coffee. No buffet choice, that's all they bring you.
Honestly I don't recommend this place to others, I can't read all the Italian posts, but I certainly disagree with the two posts I can read. 2 stars is being generous.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ricktadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMaremonti2013, Proprietario at Hotel Ristorante Maremonti, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015
Google Translation

Grazie per il vostro cortese e gentil pensiero,Tommaso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The hotel sits 3 blocks from the heart of Vico which is easily accessible by foot and reasonably priced. The hotel clerk was very helpful with every request and the rooms are very clean. We also never locked out doors and never worried. Ample car parking as well. We had 2 rooms for a week and they were very nice. The restaurant on premises is very good but no menu's so you need to ask what is avail for the day and the food was excellent (we enjoyed the pasta and octopus, calamari and cheese plates for appetizer . Breakfast is included and simple. There is also a cafe bar in the lobby for afternoon and late night coffee rests. There is also a supermarket right next door. The hotel is about 3 miles from the coastal road which you can take to any of the coastal cities north and south as well.

I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to my friends.

Room tip: In Europe in general I always order a larger room then I need as European hotel rooms are smaller then in the US which I am used to.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMaremonti2013, Direttore at Hotel Ristorante Maremonti, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015
Google Translation

la ringrazio per la sua bella recensione. sono molto contento che il nostro albergo le sia piaciuto e anche la nostra cucina. contiamo di rivederVI presto in nostra compagnia e nell'attesa inviamo un cordialissimo saluto. Tommaso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was my first time in Vico and I spent only two nights at the Maremonti, but, thanks to the owner, it has become a favourite. I travel alone and they made me feel very welcome and completely at ease. The food in the restaurant is excellent and they are very accommodating. The beaches and the forest are easily accessible and the town is a gem yet to be discovered. The only problem is accessibility - there is, as yet, next to nothing in the way of public transport from Vico, so having your own transport is a bonus.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariamogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: le stanze verso la piscina hanno una vista più piacevole . quasi tutte le stanze sono grandi, alcune anche per più di due persone.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rucc0, Proprietario at Hotel Ristorante Maremonti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews