We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
325
221
62
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
221
62
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amalfi coast beautiful pool dining room would love to come back crazy driving an hour beautiful place roads car grove hazelnut menu mountains country gps travel towns
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Last week we spent 5 nights at the Villa Rizzo Hotel and Spa in San Cipriano,Picentino Italy. It was very serene and beautiful. Located high in the mountains it created a very special aura of calm. The rooms were wonderful, staff very accommodating ,restaurant with good food and an European breakfast included.The views were beautiful with mountains on all sides. The challenging roads up to the resort were worth the effort because upon arriving you feel like you are in a really good place. It also has a beautiful pool with a side cafe/bar. Great place for a getaway from all your cares yet a short ride to the shopping and restaurants in Naples,Pompeii and Salerno.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shoeguys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We booked our room through Travel Zoo. If you decide to stay here, take the toll roads and do not take any detours. Our trip from Rome took 5 hours, as opposed to the 3 that it should have taken, and required us to traverse a mountain as well as lots of very small Italian roads.

There was no fitted sheet on the bed or comforter provided. The "fitted sheet" provided was a top sheet and the "comforter" was basically a heavy sheet.The A/C unit was also a little tricky to figure out.

Villa Rizzo is beautiful and the grounds are well-maintained but communication between the staff and guests is lacking. For example, dinner is served in different locations some nights. Without warning. Thankfully, the hotel isn't that big so if you do have to walk to a different location it isn't a trek.

There are hazelnut groves and vineyards that are open for exploration. The pool is also really beautiful. One waiter in particular, named Nicola, was very patient and helpful during our stay.

Be aware, though, that Villa Rizzo is not "near the Amalfi Coast" as advertised. It is, in fact, about 1.5 hours from Amalfi. The local area is beautiful, however.

Although the hotel technically has free internet, the service is terrible and spotty at best.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jthompson706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

From the moment we booked we knew there was going to be an issue. After being directly asked about the menu in the resturant, the answer was only regarding the 'cuteness' of it. Nothing regarding the food. Asking questions about rooms, of course the answer was minimal and inaccurate. We didn't stay to use the spa facilities but if these other issues were to be taken to not account... so glad we didn't book anything.
Food- terrible. Pasta was over cooked and the mushrooms were not only grainy with dirt but the nuts on top still had nutshell bits in them. Granted we chose to order ala carte due to a wine promotion and the wines being paired with pork, it was still unacceptable. We specifically inquired about food because of a pregnant woman in our party and we would have gladly gone out to somewhere local. But they didn't answer our question ( asked in perfect Italian).
Room. We asked if beds we indeed double beds and we were told yes. Well, no. They just took a double bed and seperated it so we had two smaller than twin beds. I'm not a giant but my feet hung completely off of the bed. If I wanted to have them on the bed, I needed to throw the pillow (flat) on the floor and put my head up against the head board.
Personnel- reception was ok but again I'll say... no direct answers to questions but at least she was pleasant. Dining room personnel had a lot to be desired.. in fact, as hard as we tried to be nice and accommodating to them because of a young child in our party, we ended up just being aggravated by the lack of care, attentiveness and professionalism in general..
we had a better experience food and service wise at a bar with a hot table in a small little town on the road.
I do hope Management reads this.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DBaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

My boyfriend and I were here for three days of our stay. Our room was called La Pesca (the peach) and we had a villa with a terrace overview of the entire hazelnut grove. It was breathtaking and quiet. We would relax each morning with the beautiful view of the mountains surrounding us. The breakfast each morning was small but we did go to the restaurant for dinner which was really good. They had a really good hazelnut semifreddo for dessert. The rooms were really clean and the staff was very friendly. They had a pool but it was still a bit too cold. We didn't want to leave. The Wifi wasn't working but it was nice to power down a bit while we were there to relax and enjoy the scenery. There are signs around the nearby towns to direct you to the hotel which is really good and its located about a half hour from Salerno and about an hour and forty minutes from Sorrento. We would love to come back someday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

If you have a car, you will want to book this resort. We found ourselves there as part of a "discount package" vacation and were leery as we wound through the back country roads and past buildings that looked partially abandoned. When we found the gate to Villa Rizzo, we collectively exhaled as we drove up the tree-lined, gravel path to the quaint reception area. The Villa was once a working hazelnut farm and trees are still everywhere. The grounds are meticulously kept as are the rooms. The rooms are well appointed and the bed that initially seemed too low was actually very comfortable. One day we had trouble getting hot water and we were told that we are on solar heat, but they quickly corrected the problem. The pool and spa were very inviting but due to the cold climate at the time of our visit, we did not use the pool and had no time to arrange spa treatments. The breakfast that was included was a generous buffet and the kitchen and staff were happy to provide cooked eggs in addition. We had dinner in the dining room one night and were very happy with the quality of the food and presentation. I would like to take away one star for the fact that wifi was not working but in fact, our stay was so delightful and the staff so pleasant that they truly deserve a 5 star rating. This hidden gem would be an affordable place to headquarter your visit to the Amalfi coast area. Relatively close to Salerno, you can drive down the coast, take the ferry to Capri or drive down the autostrada to Naples easily. We look forward to returning if we find ourselves in this part of the world again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MinkysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews