We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This hotel looks beautiful and has potential but the hospitality could do with being updated.

Firstly, we used a Grabone voucher for a 1 night stay with a 6 course degustation meal and breakfast. My partner contacted the hotel to confirm that we could use the spa facilities and to request a bath in our room as the description said 'bath or shower' (we are from the UK and due to travelling haven't used a bath for 2 years so wanted to make the most of the spa bath). Also to say that we were there for both of our birthdays. The reply came back to say that the rooms only had showers and they could move us to a garden apartment which had a bath - we were happy with that. However we were told that the spa facilities were out of use due to being upgraded - fair enough we understand that places need upgrading so my partner asked if could have any discount on a massage due to us not being able to use the facilities, baring in mind it doesn't mention this ANYwhere on their website. The answer was no.

We arrived to find a bit of a building site which wasn't a big issue. When we finally checked in we were satisfied however the weather was terrible as in torrential downpours. Now the weather can't be helped but we couldn't use the spa and there was no wifi so we couldn't even stream a film/netflix. I called reception and they said it wasn't working... what a fun day this was turning out to be. We didn't even have a tv in the bedroom so we were slightly annoyed by this point. The room next to ours which had lovely views over to Auckland was empty, why not give us a room with a view instead of a car park view?

We went for dinner at 6:45pm which was nice. The soup was lovely and the meals after were good but they were not satisfying. We weren't full after dinner as obviously the portions are small in a 6 course meal but they are usually rich and these were not. It would have been nice to have some chocolate dessert too. My partner had asked if they could a little cake or something for my birthday but the response was that he had to pay.

Overall we were really disappointed with our stay, especially as it was supposed to be special for a double birthday celebration and the hospitality was poor at best. We didn't even receive a free birthday glass of bubbly or even a card in our room. I go away every year for my birthday and the hotel has also left me a little something. We won't be back and would't recommend unless the service is drastically improved.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your review and we regret your stay at our Hotel did not meet your expectations.

At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate we have never had a separate spa facility available. We do however have external massage providers able to provide massage services in the guest rooms.

The Hotel has a significant number of package options that can be booked for special occasions. We recommend selecting a package that includes a bottle of bubbles for special occasions.

Our Hotel wifi has recently been upgraded with a new high speed system which is accessible form all of our accommodation and public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Room was great, updated bathroom with fabulous shower and the most comfy bed. Warm and roomy. The food was incredible. Will def stay here again... Would recommend for small wedding group as well as beautifully manicured gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The grounds, views of Auckland and the surrounding Waitakere Estate are phenomenal!

The location within the park is ideal for the beaches and at the same time reasonably close to Auckland and Auckland International Airport (30-45 minutes depending on traffic). This deserves a 5 Star Rating.

The hotel, however, by itself is a 4 Star Hotel and could be better. We had the two "loft" rooms with a view of Auckland. Great view but poor rooms. Other rooms in the hotel seem far better from what I could see. This one was very small, the twin beds small, uncomfortable and one kept moving, the windows are "heritage" and could use modernising. Very clean! WiFi only available in the lobby and the slowest from our whole NZ stay. Check in requires an unusual amount of time due to antique software issues. Restaurant is OK, not exceptional, and overpriced. However, if staying in the park area this hotel is your best choice by far.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Loft" rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HelmutS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the Hotel and the surrounding Waitakere Ranges Heritage Park. Where possible we reommend guests book our Deluxe rooms. The Deluxe rooms are a little higher priced than the loft rooms however they are larger and have private juliert balconies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover. Oldish buildings tucked away in a very quiet part of town. Wood paneled walls from the 80's and 90's are all in good shape, but reflect an older style.
However, as I've said time and time again, it's the people that make the difference. The people here are realistic, friendly and know their profession well. Service in New Zealand is often hard to find, but not so here. The restaurant, with stunning city views, is superb. The food is fantastic and the attention to service is impeccable. A well kept Auckland secret.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the service provided by our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Definitely worth the drive even on a 4 seasons day. Took my 4 friends here for 1pm high tea as a thank you gift. I called in with traffic issues and they were polite and understanding. Accommodating to for one who was allergic to nuts. Everything was exquisite. It was the perfect day and the perfect treat. The view was amazing and the set up clean and service impeccable both at front desk and from our waiter. The grounds are beautiful, i really fell in with the place. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank dominiquem_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your High Tea experience at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
8.6 km away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
144 reviews
19.2 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
19.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
32 reviews
19.0 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
20.2 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range: €99 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Boutique Waitakere Estate is set in a stunning rainforest setting only 30 kilometres from Auckland City and the Airport. The property is a 21 room 4 star boutique hotel with restaurant and lounge bar facilities. The hotel's ridge top setting provides magnificent views of the surrounding rainforest and of Auckland City. There are extensive bush walking options on-site and in the surrounding Waitakere Ranges Heritage Park. The spectacular West Coast beaches are also neraby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing