We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover. Oldish buildings tucked away in a very quiet part of town. Wood paneled walls from the 80's and 90's are all in good shape, but reflect an older style.
However, as I've said time and time again, it's the people that make the difference. The people here are realistic, friendly and know their profession well. Service in New Zealand is often hard to find, but not so here. The restaurant, with stunning city views, is superb. The food is fantastic and the attention to service is impeccable. A well kept Auckland secret.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the service provided by our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Definitely worth the drive even on a 4 seasons day. Took my 4 friends here for 1pm high tea as a thank you gift. I called in with traffic issues and they were polite and understanding. Accommodating to for one who was allergic to nuts. Everything was exquisite. It was the perfect day and the perfect treat. The view was amazing and the set up clean and service impeccable both at front desk and from our waiter. The grounds are beautiful, i really fell in with the place. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank dominiquem_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your High Tea experience at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. Great grounds and food. Stunning setting for a wedding.

Things got bad when the wedding ended. We had the rooms directly underneath the wedding party room. And from midnight, when the wedding ended, until 2:15 that morning they prepared the room for the next wedding.

Lots of noise including hoovering, moving the whole dance floor to another place and setting up the room for another wedding. I eventually walked upstairs and asked them why they were doing this now, got the response 'it's what we are paid to do'. Thanks a lot Jason, very helpful. No apology, no stopping, noise continued.

A complaint the following day confirmed there was plenty of time to do the change in normal work hours and there was no need to do it immediately. We did get a 20% discount...ok but not really customer focused. And even then it brought the price down to an overpriced ($200 per room) rather than ridiculously overpriced.

What's more I don't believe they will do things differently for the next wedding. If you are in room 245 expect the worst.

Breakfast was also somewhat Fawlty Towers and we thought the waitress would never be able to understand which room we were in. We got there eventually.

The icing on the cake was that we left a phone charger behind. I've never had to pay a courier fee before to have things returned before. It was an opportunity for them to make up and make me into a satisfied customer. When I pointed this out I was told 'we've fixed that'. So we pay a $10:40 fee for a $5 courier.

We had hoped for this stay to be the first of many given the location is ideal to explore the Waitakeres. We won't be staying there again.

Stay here if you have low expectations on customer service and are prepared to pay a lot for it.

Thank MichaelGaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stayed in the 1960's style apartment two days ago and was told I was getting it at a great rate ($180) because it is very dated and about to be demolished next week.

The view was spectacular, I felt like we were in our own wing looking out over Auckland city with nikau palms etc fringing the view. Huge big windows.

The room was actually great, really grand, but it won't be there in a few days. So will comment on the rest of the place.

Amazing location, friendly reception, an excellent breakfast with those spectacular views over bush and bush clad valleys. Retro 1970's styling in the reception, lounge and breakfast area is something I loved. So cosy and secluded.

An excellent and no doubt luxurious getaway in the other rooms, which I glimpsed on my way out. All other rooms had been refurnished except the one we were in.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the about-to-be-demolished apartment, am very glad to have been one of the last to stay in the apartment, which would have been primo in it's time.

No.1 selling point is the location/seclusion. I can see there are amazing bush walks around too, but it was rainy that day.

Room Tip: Amazing views, historical location. Enjoyed reading about the history of the place and the family be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the stunning and secluded rainforest setting of our Hotel. While the demise of the particular accommodation room referred to will be the end of a time for this apartment there are a number of new rooms going in that will have the same spectacular views and some great new amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Waitakere Estates was a nice place to spend our first night in New Zealand. We enjoyed feeling tucked away in the Ranges but still close enough to grab a bite to eat in Titirangi and to see Auckland from our balcony. Our favorite part was waking up to a myriad of birdsong in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AucklandsWaitakereEs, Owner at Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. At Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate we have an extensive pest eradication programme in the surrounding rainforest which assists to enhance the bird life around the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiatarua
8.6 km away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
156 reviews
20.2 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
18 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
19.2 km away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,454 reviews
19.6 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate

Address: 573 Scenic Drive, Waiatarua, Auckland 0650, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiatarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waiatarua
Price Range: €95 - €416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the heart of luxury at Auckland’s Waitakere Estate and retreat to the peaceful surroundings and breathtaking scenery of the native rainforest, only thirty minutes from Auckland. Escape the everyday and experience the magic of this spectacular rainforest retreat, featuring sweeping views that overlook the lush forest and native bush, on to Auckland and the Hauraki Gulf. Great in every season, Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate offers luxury accommodation and premier facilities within easy reach of the city. We have something for everyone, whether it’s relaxing amidst our beautiful grounds and gardens, exploring the magnificent open spaces of the Waitakere Ranges, or tempting yourself with a superb meal or high tea at our stylish restaurant. No matter your agenda or interests, our friendly welcoming staff will delight and indulge you, ensuring that your holiday is a truly authentic New Zealand Experience. Book today and immerse yourself in this elegant rain forest setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland`s Waitakere Estate Hotel Waiatarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing