We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Der Rindererhof(Hintertux)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$204
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler(Hintertux)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Berghof(Hintertux)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernerblick Apartments(Hintertux)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
254
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski holidayski schoolhintertux glaciercourse dinnergreat atmosphereski liftnothing is too much troublemain gondolasauna and steam roomchildren agedwonderful hospitalitywonderful family hotelfriendliest hotelmin walkplace settingsindoor playgroundcaring staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

The family Kofler and the staff at the hotel were the most hospitable and friendly we have come across. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very enthusiastic and happy in their roles. We had a great time. Great food great wine great company.
Very comfortable and well appointed rooms.
Thanks

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank TPB123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

If you don't know it, Hintertux is right at the head of the valley, well beyond Mayrhofen, and much higher up. The lift to the glacier ski area is a couple of hundred yards from the hotel. The bus down to the connections to the main Mayrhofen area goes from the same place. So it's very convenient. And you really can ski back down from the glacier. The resort overall is predominantly red runs. On the other hand, there's very little there- a few hotels, a couple of bars, the ski school, a hire place and the lift. So you need to get on the bus for night life.

But why leave the hotel? There were excellent four course meals (five if you wanted cheese), with a choice of four main courses (save Monday when the family served a game buffet for the kitchen's night off), a congenial bar, and various activities, like tasting the local (English-run) microbrewery's output.

The (Austrian) wine was really good, the daily recommendations were more than acceptable and mark-ups very reasonable.

There's also food to graze on from 2-5 every day (including a salad bar, not just the cakes). And a great breakfast, including bread baked by Mrs Kofler Sr.

Very much a family set-up, three generations in evidence, and other staff v friendly too. Good English spoken. Hotel well constructed, modern interiors. Extra lighting was supplied on demand. Shower a bit small would be my only criticism.

Despite the "Kinder-" prefix it was not overwhelmingly child-centric, though I'd have been more than happy to have taken my children there when they were younger. Certainly not intrusive.

Good choice of single rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We have just spent the weekend here with mates for a ski trip. Everyone at the hotel were so friendly. Veronica was superb at ensuring we were over fed and drinking the best local wine. Christian Jr was excellent on his tux beer tasting! A great friendly family hotel!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank breconberwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Without doubt the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The Kofler family have established a hotel where the absolute focus is ensuring every guest is looked after. Nothing is too much trouble, whether it be booking mountain restaurants, taxis or catering to individual meal preferences. The food is excellent, the rooms spotless and its location, 300 metres from the main ski lift is great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hintertuxerhof, Inhaber at Kinder- & Gletscherhotel Hintertuxerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Rodney,
Thank you very much that you took the time to make such a great review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be glad to welcome you soon again.
Your family Kofler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

This was our fifth visit for a ski trip.The welcome was as warm as ever and we had a great time chatting to the staff whom we feel we have come to know well.
Our rooms were in the main hotel and the suites were very comfortable and spacious with fabulous views towards the slopes.The showers worked wonders on tired limbs.We loved the meals .Breakfast is hearty and the evening choice is varied with traditional dishes and even a Game buffet on our last night.The salad bar is great.An excellent choice of wines enjoyed with the waiter’s advice.Can’t wait for next year!
All this and Apres ski at the Hohenhaus Tenne you can’t go wrong.

Room Tip: 107 had great views
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hintertuxerhof, Inhaber at Kinder- & Gletscherhotel Hintertuxerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Peter,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are very happy that you had a good time in Hintertux and we are looking forward to welcome you again - hopefully next year.
Your Family Kofler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews