We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Spionkop Lodge(Ladysmith)
US$148
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nauntons Guest House(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Memra Guest House(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ladysmith)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$84
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$53
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Lodge(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller's Rest Lodge(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peaches & Cream(Ladysmith)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
194
50
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
50
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketsgame driveslovely outdoor showerthe reserveluxury tentscomplimentary sherrysense of humourhis knowledgewonderful experiencesafari tentair conditioningbubble bathfantastic dayswelcome drinkthe food is greattea and coffeeevening drive
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We spent an extra night in Nambiti Game Reserve following a weekend at another lodge within the same reserve, due to car trouble. The game rangers and management were extremely helpful, efficient, and friendly. Same goes for the friendly waiters in the restaurant and barmen. The receptionists can perhaps though do with a bit more of a welcoming attitude towards their guests.

The tented room was well kept, a foam bath with candles was waiting on us when we arrived at night, and the bed was very comfortable. The outside shower first thing in the morning was the perfect way to prepare for our journey home. The sherry in the room adds a nice touch to the experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank philvdwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Manager at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you or your review and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your unexpected nights stay with us and that we were able to be of assistance. Thank you for bringing the comment regarding my receptionist to my attention as that is definitely not the first impression anyone would like to portray and I will personally be spending more time training with regards to a more welcoming attitude towards guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Wow, what a treat. Put aside the spectacular game viewing - rhino, elephant, lion, cheetah and so much more - the entire experience was amazing. From the time you arrive to the time you leave the staff are friendly, helpful and make you feel at home. We had the most awesome guide - Beth - his knowledge and passion for what he does is really so encouraging. The tented accommodation was lovely and the personal touches (as we were celebrating our 12th wedding anniversary) of the card, bubble bath and candles made us feel so special. Oh and of course the food was delicious. Springbok Lodge, thank you and am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Manager at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we are happy to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves in the small personal touches and are glad to read that they are appreciated and don't go unnoticed. Thank you for your positive comments about Beth and I'll be sure to pass on the good feedback to him.
We most certainly look forward to a return visit in the not to distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We loved the simplicity of tents on a concrete base with air conditioning and very private outside shower. Food was delicious and well presented. Rangers were very good indeed. Game viewing was exceptional.

Room Tip: Upper tents offer more privacy, quiet and better view over the reserve
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Manager at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Springbok Lodge. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the accommodation, food, rangers and the Game Drives. All of which makes Springbok Lodge a truly special place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My parner surprised me with a 3 day stay for my birthday. We were spoilt from the moment of our arrival. The service was excellent, the tents were comfortable and private and the food to die for. Will be back ....

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank banks932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Manager at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to Review Springbok Lodge. We are honoured that we were able to be part of making your birthday Surprise a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We spent 4 days in luxury air-conditioned, tented accommodation at Springbok Lodge and the experience was superb. The staff are friendly, you are welcomed with a cool wet facecloth to edge off the heat of the African summer, there are refreshing lemonade drinks waiting when you walk in and you are faced with the stunning deck area overlooking the pool as your first impression.

The accommodation is spacious with a king-sized bed in a really big room, a lovely deck overlooking the bushveld and a separate bathroom with his and hers basins, bath and an outside shower (with some privacy of course).

You park your own vehicle in under-cover parking for the duration of your stay and then enjoy 3-4 hour game drives twice a day on the lodge's own game viewing vehicles. The 5.30 am and 4pm starts ensure that you get the best of sunrise and sunset viewing. Its simply awesome.

We were allocated Shaun, who was our driver and guide for 4 days. He was excellent and knew EVERYTHING about every bird in the book and knew his animals intimately too. It was wonderful to learn a lot from him, even though we had my own son, an expert in birds in his own right, in our party.

We saw an abundance of game on the plains including, on one afternoon, a gathering of just about every species (minus the predators of course) imaginable. It was like the Serengeti for a while.

We saw Lion, Cheetah, Elephant, White and Black Rhino, Buffalo, Hippo, Giraffe, Kudu, Waterbuck, Impala, Red Hartebees, Oryx, Black and Blue Wildebees, Warthog and lots more that I can't remember. The animals are all disease free and in excellent condition - the park was very green with lots for everthing to eat. One of the black rhinos was born without ears and she now has a calf and proudly showed her off to us at close quarters, so that was a special sighting.

You will be stunned by the size and beauty of the Kudu specimens and how unafraid they are of the game vehicles. I think, because all the vehicles are identical and the only people allowed to drive are qualified professionals, the animals are treated to consistent behaviour from us humans and are therefore not skittish and frightened. Its not a zoo, so don't read this into it. Its just really good to be able to see these beautiful creatures at close quarters.

The Lodge provides a very impressive table and the food is really top notch. We ate in the Boma with a lovely big fire in the middle, on 2 evenings. Everything but drinks is included in the rates with tea and coffee on the boil all day for free too. Its very hard to find fault with anything at Springbok Lodge. Accommodation, food, walks in the protected camp, game drives, staff, ambience - its all there.

The tents do not have fridges and you don't need to take any drinks or food yourself as its all provided for you. If you add up what you are spending and what you are getting, its really excellent value.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties, ask for a room close to the lodge. The furthest rooms are about 500m from the lodge.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charlieboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P, Manager at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your very kind and detailed review of Springbok Lodge and the team that are here to create these memories.
You truly have captured a day in the life of a guest at Springbok Lodge and we look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews