We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
12
11
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
11
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on business. The hotel has very nice decor and the rooms are very comfortable, however parking is very limited and you can only exit by going down a very steep ramp, dangerous on wintry icy conditions. The restaurant is inside a wine cave and the food is first class. They also provided great service for breakfast. Would recommend this hotel if you're staying in the area. The hotel is also outside a small town market, you can also park there when it's not market day.

Room tip: Find out when market day is, limited parking when the market is on.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polymer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We absolutely LOVED our week stay at the Hotel Lay Haus. The owner was very professional yet courteous. ALL the staff were friendly and provided great service for breakfast, our afternoon beers on the patio, and our dinners in the wine cave. The room was newly re-decorated, bed very comfortable and the 2 chairs in the room made relaxing in the room even easier.
Our room overlooked the cobblestone square; if you are there for the Farmer's Market, don't miss it! I found a few good souveniers, and plenty of fresh fruit, sausage and pretzels of course.
Staying at the Hotel Lay Haus was an excellent location for our exploration of local towns Thalheim & Lichenstein for ancestral ties; both about 30 minutes drive. At the end of a day of touring, dinner in the wine cave is NOT to be missed. The cave is original yet cozy; food is well-prepared and the owner delivers it your table some nights. A true hands on owner. We especially appreciated his authentically rebuilt hotel and the ability to use his fax machine on short notice. The blend of 'old & new' made it a perfect choice.
Be sure to relax in the lobby, look around at the vintage photos in the hallways, and especially the 2 huge photo albums documenting the total restoration they have completed to create this beautiful Hotel !

Room tip: Try a room on the street side. You can open your windows and overlook the town square & market held once a week
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveLynnWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews