We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Staehle(Schuettorf)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alte Feuerwehr(Schuettorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Haus Drossel(Schuettorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
17
14
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
14
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business and found the hotel to have all you needed for a comfortable business stay

Rooms are large and clean with good WiFi, with an excellent breakfast

Restaurant attached served a very good German buffet and had recently been fully refurbished so had a nice look and atmosphere

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank uskandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

The hotel is chosen by the nearby Salzbergen refinery to accommodate their guests and to meet them for dinner, it is the best choice in this area. Contrary to what has been said in other reviews here, I found the restaurant faultless. They had a large selection of venison, all those present were very satisfied, the service was attentive and gave no reason for complaint.

The hotel and the restaurant are in neighboring buildings. The hotel, although rated four stars, is somewhat simple. The reception has sometimes to be called from the inside of the hotel, the room key which you are handed is of a somewhat unusual design. You must hold it close to a turning knob, and it might happen that there is no reaction. However, you know that it must work somehow, so you just turn the knob a little and try the key again. It will answer with a green light and a sound. It isn’t a serious problem. The room, furnished with light wood, is comfortable and friendly, if somewhat simple. In the bathroom, my only complaint would be that the door to the shower wasn’t sealed well, so some water unavoidably goes into the bathroom.

In the breakfast room, there is an attendant only part of the time. The selection offered won’t leave you hungry, but for example you have a choice of scrambled and boiled eggs, you can’t order fried eggs.

All in all, you are in the countryside, things are simpler than in a big city. But it is a comfortable place, and you don’t have to look elsewhere for a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a rearside room, as the hotel is located on the road to the next city.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hansshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

HOTEL
The good:
Our hotel room was very good. It was clean and fresh, the bathroom and shower were great, the view over the garden was pleasant and it was very quiet.
The not so good:
The key. What an absolute shambles. It took three people to get the door open, and they all worked there so had experience. They've obviously had problems before as the man on reception gave us instructions on laminated card how to use the key. All I can say is, just keep asking for help. It isn't you, it is the key! And if you do manage it first time, you deserve a medal.
THE RESTAURANT
It was okay (ish). Portions are very generous size, we were brought bread (no charge) with three interesting dips. My steak was undercooked - I'd asked for well done and it was still saying moo - but the waitress took it back and I had another relatively quickly which was very perfect. However, one member of staff was truly appalling and, for me, it spoilt the evening. I think more training is definitely required which is a shame, as the other waitress was superb. Do be careful when you order wine - you are likely to be given a large glass (obviously at extra cost) if you do not specify the amount you would like. Overall verdict: pricey and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grafenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2014

we visited the restaurant of the four star hotel recently. Considering the level of the hotel, one would expect that the restaurant is equally up to standards. Sorry to say, it is not.
The waiters were unprofessional and slow despite the restaurant being almost empty. The food was kind of ok but pricey. However, worst part was that we found fruit flies in our aperitifs. Confronting the waiters with disgust we were offered a coffee as settlement. What a disappointment for an establishment within a four star hotel.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

If it is for business and you don't need anything more then a bed to sleep, this hotel will probably suit you. It is clean and simple, but it has clean rooms and beds. Next door there is the restaurant, owned by the same family. It is in a rather quiet are of Schütdorff, but be sure to take a room on the backside, because there is a through road passing just in front of the hotel. Breakfast was normal and OK. The hotel mainly lacked a good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Take a room on the backside, they are relatively quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews