We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
131
97
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
97
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ground floorfishwalk straight outupstairs villaacross the roadcook islandsbus stoptropical breakfastloved our staythe hotel managercontinental breakfastfree kayakspaw pawwhite sand beachcleaning staffgreat beachpalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel's area is private, quiet and better beach. Better than Muri beach.

The hotel has upgraded the rooms, the shower is really good - decent warm water but the bed is average. The restaurant and bar next to it "the island" serves good meals I'll rate it to $$. Compare to other restaurant it can cost you to $$$-$$$$.


There breakfast theme is tropical brekkie . Toast and fruits and the local brewed coffee.

We usually go to a cafe to have a decent brekkie which can cost you from $19 to $22

I'll suggest to hire a scooter so you have freedom to go around. Bus is an option but they don't operate on Sunday so you'll get stuck in your hotel.

The beach where the Moana hotel located is very clean. The Muri beach is overcrowded, very busy and the water wasn't clean as the titikaveka beach. Most area in Muri beach is full of Big SLUG!!! Ewweee!!!! Hahaha

Enjoy your holiday, I hope you find this review helpful to you.

Cheers!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sakura1990_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The stay at this hotel had highs and lows. The highs were the terrific view from the hotel room on the second floor, the friendly staff and the reasonably good rooms. The lows were a deal breaker. I was woken up twice during my six day stay to drunken revellers in the restaurant bar after 10pm and last night (a Monday night) at 12.30am. There is no night manager at this hotel. The result is no control of noise, as the restaurant bar is separate to the hotel. Good luck complaining in the morning!
Breakfast as provided in our package "free breakfast" was adequate but not delivered to the seving table in a timely manner at 8am when the doors to the restaurant open (some would say an hour late if you have tours to attend).
Would I go back or reccomend this hotel to other travellers? No!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Huw H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

From the moment we arrived at the Beachfront Hotel the lady on the front desk was helpful, booking in my partner and I's drivers license for the next day, directing us to the closest walking distance shops and organising the bus timetable and chatting/helping us with any other queries for the duration of our stay.
The tropical breakfast was good and we dined in for dinner 2 out of 4 nights - food was good and cheap beers too!
Unfortunately for us the wind direction meant we couldn't swim out the front till the last day when it was beautiful and lots of fish, but we did borrow the snorkel gear and went to a sheltered beach nearby.
Rooms were clean, had a microwave and fridge so we could store/make snacks for in between meals.
We stayed on the ground floor and loved having a private patio with seats to sit at and have some drinks and read our books with the water right there.
Because it is smaller than the other resort accommodation, the staff recognise you and it gives it an added personal touch, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10LisaM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We were in an apartment and the room was very clean and had beachfront access to a nice beach. It was conveniently close to a large supermarket and coffee shop. There was no free wifi and our airport transfer was forgotten. The room was motel style, which was basic. The Cook Islands are expensive but this seemed overpriced for the offering and we thought there were better options nearby.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SunSeaAndRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and myself along with another couple! friends of ours shared a 2 bed Villa on the beach we had an upstairs Villa very roomy, one room is open plan but has sliding doors and shutters for visual privacy, both had ensuites, this was one of 6 villas in this particular block, the rear balcony looked over a shared sandy area with BBQ and deck chair s, a few steps led directly to the beach and then you were in snorkelling and swimming. We used the free kayaks. We took our own snorkel and goggles, but if you wanted to borrow snorkelling gear it was there! The front balcony looked into the a garden and then road and also the popular burger bar across the road which is beside Wigmores general convenience store where you can get most things you may need. There is a cafe beside us, a beauty spa ( which we indulged in a beautiful massage treatment ), staff were so efficient and polite friendly we will miss them !! We would highly recommend staying with WAYNE and his crew the meal at the Moana Sands restaurant was Devine it is situated in the other hotel complex approx 4 Ks up the road ! We got around on scooters we hired it was fabulous !! Will always hire scooters have done so on both holidays and will again in the future !!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rikichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews