We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Inn(Corbridge)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Golden Lion(Corbridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dyvels Inn(Corbridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
21
14
8
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
14
8
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadrobin hoodmatfen hallhadrian's wallnext morninglocal pub for dinnerper nightwet clothesb bsbreakfast was deliciouswonderful stayjennystruanbreweryfieldpathhosts
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Maften High House is an extraordinary B & B!
Geat welcome, good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and fine hospitality!
It's a good job that the brewery next door was closed (Wednesday), otherwise I could have been dreaming!.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distantmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Jenny and Struan were very welcoming hosts and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Room large with large ensuite bathroom. Antique style decor not really to our taste but functioned perfectly well. The major downside was the hideously uncomfortably soft bed. At 4 months pregnant comfort is a priority and the sleepless night really did spoil an otherwise excellent stay.
The brewery next door is fantastic and there are lots of lovely local walks.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveroftravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

we came here as a base to attend a funeral. B&B's are scarse on the ground in this part of the world and after a frustrating search I turned to Alister Sawdays guide to get some help. We have never put a foot wrong using this guide and once again we were delighted with our accomodation.
The house is a classic sturdy farm house with panoramic views of stunning countryside. Our room was huge, and the bathroom seemed to have been fashioned out of a corridor, meaning we had a huge wide and long space. Our daughter was able to tear around and stretch her legs after a long 7 hour drive up there.
The bedroom was not only extremley large and comfortable it was also full of antique furntiure, the largest most handsome wardrobe I have ever seen, a beautiful ornate bed, lovley pieces of decorative china, an antique cot. The bed was softer than what we have at home but for our short stay was very comfortable, it enveloped us and kept us cosy and warm whilst the wind whistled outside.
Right next door was a tastefully done out Micro Brewary with an excellent reasonably priced resturant with the most helpful congenial staff. Again, after a 7 hour drive it was a blessing to be able to walk round the corner to this place.
Our hosts were amiable and helpful and made us feel relaxed and comfortable.
My only slight critism would be that we were not shown the guest lounge advertised. This didnt affect us at all, our room was plenty large enough and we were out most of the time during our stay but this may be needed by others.....
Breakfast was good, in a dining room filled with oil paintings of country scenes and antique furnture.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have read the other reviews and I can't deny the charm of the Farm House and the owners. Struan was very helpful arranging to take us to the local pub for dinner and... collecting us after dinner.
The rooms were a good size and the shower/bath hot. Just what we needed after a days walking.
Two of our group stayed in a room with horse hair matresses... 60+ years old. Whilst this may add to the charm of the property the beds were uncomfortable and in the end it was more comfortable on the floor! This is not what you need after a 22 mile walk.
This house may work for you and be just what you are looking for but we would not go there again. The bedding was tired and worn out. Traditional was actually spooky and the decor tired and grubby.
Given a choice I would suggest you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with horse hair matresses!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carriepalmer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My Mum and I spent a night at Matfen High House whilst walking Hadrian's wall. After a long, muddy day of walking we were shown to a wonderful room with a lovely bath and the hottest shower I've ever had - just lovely!!

The hosts were both very friendly and gave us a couple of very helpful tips about walking the wall.

Breakfast was delicious - a full cooked breakfast along with treats such as a plum compote straight from the garden.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews