We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must place the any American tourist to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 15 Corbridge B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A must place the any American tourist to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here on day 3 of walking Hadrian's Wall with Mac adventure tours. We finished our walk at the Robin Hood pub at 17-30, so stayed for a meal and a few pints before going to Matfen House. When we rang up to tell them, they said no problem and I'll pick you up from the pub to save you the mile walk. This is a large farm house with very big rooms. OK so the decor of the rooms are maybe not to everyone's taste, but this is not a chain hotel. It's someone's home. The breakfast was as good as you'll get anywhere and more then enough for us.

The next statement is just a personal view. The owners where prefect, willing to help in every way, but I for one felt a little uncomfortable staying there. The owners are of a different social class to me. That was not a problem to them, but I got the feeling that we was invading their home. That is why I say that this B&B would be a perfect place for any visitor from abroad to stay if only to get the flavour of how a country squire lives.

Would I return? With regret I have to stay maybe not. Again a personal thing, nothing to do with Matfen High House, more to do with me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
a long way off
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Maften High House is an extraordinary B & B!
Geat welcome, good night's sleep in a comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and fine hospitality!
It's a good job that the brewery next door was closed (Wednesday), otherwise I could have been dreaming!.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank distantmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Jenny and Struan were very welcoming hosts and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Room large with large ensuite bathroom. Antique style decor not really to our taste but functioned perfectly well. The major downside was the hideously uncomfortably soft bed. At 4 months pregnant comfort is a priority and the sleepless night really did spoil an otherwise excellent stay.
The brewery next door is fantastic and there are lots of lovely local walks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveroftravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

we came here as a base to attend a funeral. B&B's are scarse on the ground in this part of the world and after a frustrating search I turned to Alister Sawdays guide to get some help. We have never put a foot wrong using this guide and once again we were delighted with our accomodation.
The house is a classic sturdy farm house with panoramic views of stunning countryside. Our room was huge, and the bathroom seemed to have been fashioned out of a corridor, meaning we had a huge wide and long space. Our daughter was able to tear around and stretch her legs after a long 7 hour drive up there.
The bedroom was not only extremley large and comfortable it was also full of antique furntiure, the largest most handsome wardrobe I have ever seen, a beautiful ornate bed, lovley pieces of decorative china, an antique cot. The bed was softer than what we have at home but for our short stay was very comfortable, it enveloped us and kept us cosy and warm whilst the wind whistled outside.
Right next door was a tastefully done out Micro Brewary with an excellent reasonably priced resturant with the most helpful congenial staff. Again, after a 7 hour drive it was a blessing to be able to walk round the corner to this place.
Our hosts were amiable and helpful and made us feel relaxed and comfortable.
My only slight critism would be that we were not shown the guest lounge advertised. This didnt affect us at all, our room was plenty large enough and we were out most of the time during our stay but this may be needed by others.....
Breakfast was good, in a dining room filled with oil paintings of country scenes and antique furnture.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have read the other reviews and I can't deny the charm of the Farm House and the owners. Struan was very helpful arranging to take us to the local pub for dinner and... collecting us after dinner.
The rooms were a good size and the shower/bath hot. Just what we needed after a days walking.
Two of our group stayed in a room with horse hair matresses... 60+ years old. Whilst this may add to the charm of the property the beds were uncomfortable and in the end it was more comfortable on the floor! This is not what you need after a 22 mile walk.
This house may work for you and be just what you are looking for but we would not go there again. The bedding was tired and worn out. Traditional was actually spooky and the decor tired and grubby.
Given a choice I would suggest you go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't take the room with horse hair matresses!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carriepalmer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corbridge
0.0 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.0 km away
The Dyvels Inn
The Dyvels Inn
#1 of 15 in Corbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 km away
The Robin Hood Inn
The Robin Hood Inn
#9 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dilston Mill B&B
Dilston Mill B&B
#7 of 15 in Corbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 km away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#6 of 15 in Corbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Matfen High House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corbridge NE20 0RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Matfen High House Hotel Corbridge
Matfen High House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing