We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Heathrow Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Good basic accommodation and so what if it was old-fashioned, sheets were clean and crisp, bathroom spotless, staff friendly, breakfast plentiful, free excellent wifi and all at a fair price. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep and don't want to spend a fortune this is the place
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Having a 9am appointment in Weybridge and travelling from Derbyshire, my heart plummeted at the thought of trawling through websites again for a London hotel. They are all so ridiculously expensive, even the 'budget' chains, especially when they charge extra for parking, Internet and breakfast. When I fell upon the Cottage I couldn't believe my luck. The photos looked lovely. On arrival there was a slight delay but this was due to the friendly personal service and the fact that the Manager also meets arriving cars at the gate and allocates their space, adding to the security. You also get a mini tour. I originally booked an unbelievably reasonable single room but on the day decided to upgrade to a double deluxe. I'm so glad I did. It was in the detached single storey building, looking out over the gardens. It was also incredibly spacious for London. Very clean, sparkling contemporary bathroom with toiletries provided and spacious shower cubicle. Ample tea and coffee is provided with a fridge with free bottled water. It's so quiet it's hard to believe it's only a few miles from Heathrow airport. The car park is extremely secure with electric gates which they do not make a charge for, FAB. There's free internet which was fast and reliable. The FREE breakfast, cooked or continental, is an added bonus served in a delightful conservatory overlooking the garden. Shame on the reviewer who complained there was no bacon! The choice is still varied, served by a friendly and polite waitress. Nothing is too much trouble. I will definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: It's well worth the extra few pounds for the deluxe rooms, ground floor, garden views.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBusinesslady292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good B and B. Very near to Heathrow Airport. Neat and clean with lovely garden you will get here. Lot of choices in complementary brakefast. Napali manager is a good host. This property is value for money.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The one thing the Cottage has going for it is location. It is ideal. The soundproofing is superb and it is very quiet. However the place itself is in need of a lick of paint and new carpets. It is a place to stay for one night but no longer. The eleven o'clock checkout time is a good idea. Why then does breakfast finish at 8:30? It had been a muggy night and I never sleep well in strange beds. I could have done with another hours sleep! I staggered into breakfast at about 8:20 still half asleep. Looked at the menu and did not really make much of the heading 'Cooked Breakfast.' Then the breakfast arrived. No bacon! I asked the waitress 'Where is the bacon?' 'We do not do bacon,' came the reply. Before I had chance to ask her why she had gone. I then took another look at the menu. Most menus in places like this will have the headline, 'Full English Breakfast.' But of course without bacon that is not so. And then I noticed 'Beef sausages,' were specified. Perhaps someone could explain why in this most English of establishments they do not serve pork sausages and bacon? Not impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

arrived at Heathrow a day early (oops!) so had to scramble around for somewhere to stay nearby. Lucked out with this basic but very good-value B+B, a 15min bus-ride from the terminal. Staff very helpful in terms of checking in and out. Room had the amenities I'd expect - decent shower and the wifi was quick, reliable. Nothing fancy but much preferable to the faceless corporate chain-hotels which dominate the scene round major airports. Pub across the road (Queen's Head) does dinner till 9 and a very good range of craft/real-ale beers - very friendly service. Area isn't exactly "buzzing" but hotel is right on two bus-routes (which run 24 hours) if you want to explore a bit further afield. Traditional cooked "English" breakfast above-average for this type of establishment. I'd have no hesitation staying here again next time I need a Heathrow billet - at long or short notice!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.5 km away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
3.8 km away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
2.9 km away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Guest House

Address: 150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Cranford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranford
Price Range: €78 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Guest House Hotel Cranford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing