We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Van Galis Cafe & Inn(Fergus)(Great Value!)
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn Elora(Elora)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$95
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Guelph)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$156
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
20
28
2
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
28
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson tapgrand riverexposed stonefriday nightcream cheesefish and chipspatioserverpubpintdipdishfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have only been to the Brew House for food and drinks. This is one of my favorite places to go while I am in Fergus. I have been here a handful of times, I have only sat outside on the patio. the patio over looks the river. If you go in the late afternoon, bring a sweater because it can get chilly, once the sun goes past the building. They have live music on Thursdays I think. The food is really good. They have a designated smoking area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Leah,
Thank you so much for your review. It was a cooler summer this year, but I'm glad you enjoyed the patio just the same :-) We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Cheers,
Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the two rooms that are available above the pub on the August long weekend. The room was very clean and large, had a comfortable bed and everything we needed, a huge bathroom and a lovely river view. No hairdryer though :)

A self-serve breakfast is included in your stay and the room is equipped with kettle, coffee maker, and mini fridge. Breakfast included 2 muffins, 2 bagels, some melon, cereals, juice, coffee and there was milk, butter and jams in the fridge as well. It is great not to have to leave your room to have something to eat and a coffee in the morning.

We also had dinner on the patio and had a table overlooking the river. Great atmosphere! Food was fantastic and plentiful. Staff was amazing - so friendly and attentive.

I would recommend staying here if you are visiting the Fergus and Elora area. We did find Fergus a bit 'sleepy' though - by 8 p.m. on a Saturday night of the long weekend the only things open in downtown Fergus were the Brew House, another restaurant/bar and Tim Horton's!

Thanks Katherine and staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenAMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you Jen for your in-depth review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as dinner at the pub. BTW: We have replaced the missing hairdryer. So sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Cheers!
Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The staff is extremely attentive(and not in an annoying way) and friendly. You can tell they take great pride in making everyone happy. The food is delicious. My wife is a vegetarian and they have a great vegetarian menu that even a carnivore would be happy with. Make sure you ask for it. The room was extremely clean and has a beautiful view overlooking the Grand River. Although the other window overlooks the road, once night comes, traffic is very light and quiet and down the river, LED light bars shine coloured lights on the river which is very nice.
Katherine, the owner, is very accomodating and willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. The rest of her staff is the same.
We'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsabadreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We dined at the Pub with friends. With a quick call about an hour before we were able to secure a 7pm reservation (nice). Upon arrival we were seated immediately even though the pub was very busy and a few others were waiting at the door.

The atmosphere: most tables full and the bar stools well occupied, the noise levels were high but exactly what you would expect of a Pub on a Friday night. The building is quite old, one of the original stone building from the mid 1800's perched on the edge of the Grand River in the downtown area. As a result the inside is gorgeous with lots of exposed stone and wood beams. The dining room had a nice warmth and made for a pleasant place to spend a few hours enjoying food drink and good company.

The service: The hostess was very prompt and took us to our table within a few minutes of our arrival. Our server arrived promptly with menus and an inquiry about drinks. Our friends arrived a few minutes after us and by that time we had drinks and an appetiser was on its way. Our server was consistent throughout the evening checking in with us regularly. He was very personable and his timing was excellent.

Beverages: the pub offers a very good selection of draught beer, 18 on offer that evening at very reasonable prices $5-6.

The Food: The appetiser of Antijitos was very well prepared, with the just the right amount of heat. The salsa and sour cream complimented nicely in quality and quantity. Our dinners were mixed. All dinners were reasonably well presented. We ordered The Trout, Chicken Pot Pie, Salmon and the Pork Chop Platter with Chutney. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her Salmon while the Chicken Pot Pie was also well received. The potatoes and vegetable served with my Pork Chop and with my friends Trout were both over cooked and the potatoes in particular were tasteless in addition his Trout was also a little over done. My pork chop and the chutney were both very good. We finished the meal with shared desserts of warmed brownie with ice cream and whipped cream and a warm caramel cake both were well prepared and presented. In all the menu held closely to traditional dishes in all areas.

Prices: were very reasonable ranging from $7-$11 for appetisers $14-$21 for entrees and desserts $4-$6. All prices approx. Our average spend per person was about $30 with tax included, gratuities extra.

Summary: I would recommend The Brew House for a traditional meal of good food well served and representing very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN-RS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

THE GOOD

-immaculate room
-comfortable beds
-good size bathroom and tub
-very friendly staff
-did not hear any noise

THE BAD
-The food in the bar.
-The service was painfully slow to the point of non existent
-The vegetarian menu was awful. No concept of protein, all the dishes felt like starters with cheese of variation on a vegetable.

THE INDIFERENT

-we had expected when you get B&B to have a cooked breakfast, but we realised we had not looked or asked before we booked. What we got was adequate, all in date and we have no complaints. But maybe they need to be explicit that it is cold breakfast. And maybe a little more choice.

Room Tip: we had loads of luggage and it was a killer getting up the stairs, if you are young and fit, great, if your a little older or have problems with stairs be warned. also parking, you have to find a spot in the pub car park with when we were there was very busy, travel light.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine B, Owner at Brew House On The Grand B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading the menu (it should be out in a few weeks). While we don't have a lot of vegetarian visitors, we are experimenting with edamame (soy beans) to improve the protein offerings. We have also had a great response to our new vegetarian wrap.

Staffing and service is always a challenge, but I take your comment very seriously. In future, if reviewers could mention what night of the week (or the date) they were in, it would help me pinpoint issues.

I hope you'll come back to see our improvements.
Sincerely, K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews