We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
111
110
45
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
110
45
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle plants and flowers the main road lovely hotel hotel is located pool bar ayia marina minute walk down the hill comfortable rooms clean swimming pool good size the bus half board nice garden room number sea view air con
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The hotel itself is ok: very clean (but they changed our towel only once in 7 days!!!! I can understand that the sheets are to be changed once, but the towels…I didn’t want them to be changed every day, but once during our stay is unacceptable).
We had the superior room, with garden view. The furniture was new, but in the bathroom don’t expect to have other consumables then toilet paper and two mini soaps. No shampoo, no gel shower. The gardens are lovely, well maintained, with beautiful flowers and palm trees.
The food is good, a great variety for breakfast, but quite repetitive for dinner. For dinner the drinks are not included (this is ok), but they should offer water.
And, the BIG minus is the distance from the main road and from the beach. At a first look you would say is not that far, but imagine you have to go up the hill at 32 Celsius degrees. Not so nice. Yes, is true they have a shuttle BUT!!!! although there is a schedule the tourists have to make a reservation when they want to go down and more important when they want to come back! My question is now, why do you offer a service when you are limiting practically the access to it. I believe is not such a lost in terms of costs and time to do the ride at the hours you say you do and the tourist will know that they can be picked up at that time. For example, if you made a reservation to be picked up from the main street at 19 o'clock but you want to stay more and to be picked up at 21 o'clock when is the next ride, you can't do that because you have no reservation so you can't be sure that the bus will come. This kind of situations were a great minus to our vacation and from now on I will never make a reservation to a hotel that is not easily accessible. It is not worth to rent a car for all the days you are staying there only no to depend on the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnamariaCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel Eleftheria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review, every comment is really important to us. We would like to mention that the hotel is located on the hill above the central road of Agia Marina; no guide book mentions that we are located in the city center of Chania. We provide shuttle bus from the hotel to the central road of Agia Marina and back and there is night reception after 00:00 until morning. We are trying to improve all our services in order to provide the best holiday experience to our customers. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This hotel is an absolute gem in Agia Marina.
The brand new spacious rooms, sea view, excellent service, great swimmingpool with a nice bar and pooltable, big breakfast, friendly staff and overall cleanliness truly make this hotel a great experience.

Although not situated right in the middle of the centre and beach front, the 10 min walk down there is not much of an effort.
Definetely pay a visit to the bar where bartender Alex will make your stay truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dillivizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel Eleftheria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Dear guest

Your opinion matters as it makes us to want to be even better providing our services to ous guest.
From management and staff we thank you for your feedback and we are looking foward to see you again.
Best of wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a fabulous stay at Hotel Eleftheria. If your looking for a pleasant stay in a beautiful and clean hotel and a peaceful location then here is perfect for you.

Location
The hotel is located approximately 10-15 minutes by foot up a hill. This we really liked as it was so peaceful and also had beautiful gardens to compliment the setting. The hotel also had a bus that ran at intervals of 2 hours apart from the largest gap of 11.30-3pm. Nevertheless, this was fine, we just planned our trips according to bus times. We also hired a vehicle from the nearest car hire company which made our Crete experience much more exciting then heading down to the usual strip for everything. The hotel also had lots of parking spaces.

Room
The room was absolutely lovely, clean, and fresh having recently been renovated. It was cleaned daily and always left spotless and well presented. On arrival we were lucky to have been upgraded to a family room from a triple room so this made our experience a whole lot better. We also had a large balcony with a garden view. It was just brilliant.

Breakfast
Breakfast was ok. It was very hard to adapt to certain foods and towards the end it got kind of boring. The hot food was Greek and I guess being from the uk I'm use to it in its raw English breakfast style! Despite this you will always find something as there was always something of everything! - hot, cold, cereals, fruit, cake, juice, hot drinks.

Pool
The pool was a nice area to just chill out, and was perfect for both my husband and I, as well as the kids. It wasn't overly crowded and most of the time there were places to sit. There was also a pool bar that served drinks, food, and ice creams! But again the food was just ok. There was also a pool table.

Agia Marina
The hotel is situated up a hill which makes it perfect to get away from the noise of the loud main road at the bottom. There is everything u can find on this main road- restaurants, beach, entertainment like crazy golf, car hire places and supermarkets all within walking distance after you get off the bus. Try to drive out of the area for some amazing views and an insight into the real Crete. It was just amazing.

Overall we had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and nice and it had a family owned kind of feel. This hotel is not your lively/ party type of hotel, it's more of a family setting. Me being from the UK and my husband from the USA, and all of my family being of ethnic minority, was a problem for some particular guests which became very very annoying- we were constantly stared at and assessed- so we were never fully relaxed. This is however no fault of the hotel, and apart from that Eleftheria is definitely a good pick, and even better if you hire a car- definitely recommended.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Tatiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel Eleftheria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Dear guest
Elefteria hotel thanks you for taking the time to write your review regarding our hotel.
From management and staff best wishes and we are hoping to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

TOP Hotel with beautiful garden, trees, flowers.... / delicious food / comfortable rooms / very nice pool / great service. Everthing is perfect. I had 2 wonderful weeks at Hotel Eleftheria in june 2016 and I felt in Love on the first day. The whole team is absolutely poilte, very kind and great personalitys. I'll definitely come back soon! LOVE IT <3

Room Tip: Building 1 - seaview, Building 2 and 3 behind - beautiful gardenview
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank suepablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel Eleftheria, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are glad to know that you had a pleasant and relaxing holiday! Our staff is always ready to answer your questions and consider your comments to make your vacation an invaluable experience. It was great to have you here and we hope to see you again!
From management and staff bst of wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Great view from our room and also great view from the restaurant.Clean room, best value for money, friendly people , very good breakfast, the location was perfect, near the sea and very close to the town of Chania. Great experience ....

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank adavioti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Hotel Eleftheria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we are glad to know that you had a pleasant and relaxing holiday! Our staff is always ready to answer your questions and consider your comments to make your vacation an invaluable experience. It was great to have you here and we hope to see you again!
From management and staff bst of wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews