We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 people are viewing this hotel
Marriott Hotels
US$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$264
US$198
View deal
SAVE US$66
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
eDreamsUS$231
PricelineUS$231
Trip.comUS$264
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,750)
Filter reviews
2,750 results
Traveller rating
1,692
700
212
87
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,692
700
212
87
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course los suenos swim up bar costa rica kids club play golf piko travel breakfast buffet is zip lining amazing pool beautiful property manuel antonio herradura beach open air family vacation pool side pacific coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,750 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2021

The resort style pool was lovely and offered a nice view from our balcony. The room was outdated and not that special considering the price. The beach was unimpressive. The free breakfast was pretty good. We only ate at the hotel restaurant once because we were so disappointed in the quality of the food. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I am confident there are better options in the area. We paid $150 each for a doctor to come to our room for our COVID test because they had no appointments available for the next 4 days. He was very professional and we had our results in 24 hours.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melanee688689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencia Arenaza, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2021

Dear melanee688689,

Thank you for your recent stay in Los Suenos Marriott and for providing us honest feedback. All your comments are reviewed as a team with department managers.

I would clarify that all COVID test services are not part of Marriott, there are many options in this area, including a small clinic in the complex but is not part of our business. We offer to our guests contact information and they are able to choose the best option.

Once again, thank you for sharing your perception and for giving us the opportunity to improve our service.

Regards,

Florencia A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

When we booked we could only get a studio for 5 nights in the brand new Vacation Club building so we also booked 2 nights in the hotel and used suite upgrades. The studio was fine but small and not much view from any of the rooms. Also no table to eat on or washing machine/dryer. Did have a refrigerator and microwave. All restaurants and activities were on the hotel side. We loved our suite but no refrigerator or microwave. Awesome view from the suite. If you go be sure to arrange for Covid test when you arrive. Limited appointments and everything has to be filled out on your phone. Very complicated. The staff did help if you find the right staff member. There is a clinic nearby but still a $10 round trip cab ride. The test costs us $85 each. There is an extremely nice marina with some very good restaurants about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We also connected with a tour company called Piko Travel. Piko and his wife Lindsay were great. Arranged transportation to/from the airport. Then met with us the next morning to book several excursions. Very professional and highly recommend using them.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank 676krisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021

The service at the hotel is unparalleled! Pamela at the front desk is so friendly, warm, welcoming and competent. She set the tone for an amazing stay. We really enjoyed Hugo (manager in the restaurant) and Luis Enrique and Henry as servers. The bar service at the pool was slooooow, but when you could catch their attention, the service was excellent. The swim up bar is CLOSED due to covid.

Overall, breakfast is absolutely fantastic. You get a wide array of items and they are served tableside. It's SO much nicer than having to go up to a buffet. Lunch and dinner is pretty ho hum. There is not a lot of choice by restaurant or by menu, but the marina is a 15 minute walk for more options. We found we didn't need lunch after breakfast.

We had a gorgeous and spacious room with lovely views. Our balcony was large and we enjoyed cocktails there at sunset. The housekeeping was absolutely top notch - it was sparkling clean every day.

We had a really enjoyable golf course tour with Ryan! Definitely do not miss out on that perk!

The onsite gift shop, coffee shop and pro shop are reasonably priced with quality merchandise.

The only downside to this resort is the beach. It's not usable. The sand is silty and slimy and the small waves are full of dirt. However, the pool is large and welcoming. While we were there, the pool level was too low for the skimmers to work, so there were a lot of leaves and a film of sunscreen on the water surface. I think they might have been waiting for some rain. The pool was overly warm, but it was pretty hot out.

Overall, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!!

Room tip: Pay the extra for an oceanfront balcony. It's worth it!
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Los Suenos is a nice, if somewhat dated, resort located in a secluded cove next to Jaco beach. It has everything you'd expect from a Marriott beach property - great pools, decent restaurants, etc., however the service is seriously lacking and the pricing does not align with delivery.

I stayed three nights in a "swim-up" room and paid a premium rate - in spite of the fact that I have Titanium Bonvoy status. Getting service was next to impossible and I'd describe the food experience as mediocre at best.

I'd still recommend the property but just know that you'll be paying a high price for mid-level delivery.

Room tip: Swim up rooms are nice
Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ASTuttle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencia Arenaza, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Dear AndrewS381,

Thank you for your recent stay in our resort and for your comments.

We will work in all information shared with us, according with your experience. This comments give the opportunity to improve our service. We appreciate guest like you that offer a honest feedback.

Once again, thank you for your time and this opportunity.

Regards,

Florencia A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

The rooms and facilities are clean and well kept. Unfortunately, the pool bar, restaurant and bar on main floor have terrible service. We tried to place an order and we were continuously ignored. To the point that when someone finaly decided to come by the pool it was to tell us that the pool bar was closed. I told the waiter that I had been trying to order a drink for the last hour with no avail, and now it was closed. He said he would do me a favor and take my order even though the bar was closed. He was actually going to do me a "favor", really? I was floored at the odasity.
The bar upstairs same issue, we were seated no one came to acknowledge our presence there. 40 minutes we waited and nothing, so we left..
Other than that everything else was good. The beach seems dirty and murky but not sure if its naturally that way.
I just wont return here. I've stayed at many, many Marriotts around the world and never experienced such poor wait staff service. I even own a timeshare in Aruba. The service we received here is not what I would have ever expected from Marriott. Very disappointed. We wont be back. There are other resorts in the area and will stay elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank TrailBlazer702293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florencia Arenaza, General Manager at Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear TrailBlazer702293,

Thank you for your recent stay at Los Suenos Marriott in this unusual times.

Have been a challenging months after pandemy and we appreciate your honest oppinion and experience in this resort. We are a strong team looking to improve our service and offer the best experience and your comments are the oportunity to work harder.

Regarding your coment about the beach, that is its natural condition considering we are so close to one of the bigest costarican rivers, this beach and most of the beaches in Central Pacific have same caracteristics.

As I said before, thank you for take the time and give us the oportunity to improve and grow. We learn from our guests and their experiences.

Regards,

Florencia A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews