We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it, plenty of better places to stay ”
Review of Atavai Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atavai Pension
Ranked #10 of 35 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

The good bits: it's cheap. The rooms are basic with a bed and separate bathroom.
The bad bits: the bedsheets and towels were laundered but had brown and grey stains on them. The location is close to the airport, but not really close enough to be walking distance with heavy bags down a dirt track. It's not close to the beach or town centre. The owners are not friendly or helpful, you wonder why they decided to go into the hospitality business as they don't really seem to enjoy having guests. Overall, there isn't really a reason to choose Atavai pension, there are plenty or equally good value pensions in Hanga Roa that offer cleaner accommodation and a friendly welcome.

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank Elsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015
Google Translation

Estimado pasajeros,
lamentamos su malestar, y esperemos que fue solo un malentendido.
Resulta que ustedes llegaron a las 01:30 de la mañana, siendo usted embarazada, no se tira las maletas, con camino de tierra o de asfalto... se toma un taxi mejor, ya que nuestro servicio de transfer tiene horario desde las 10:00 hasta las 20:00 horas, un taxi cuesta solo 3 euros.
Su malestar reside en dos puntos: el transfer y el late check out.
El primero ya ustedes fueron informados que a esta hora no podían llegar caminando, menos estando embarazada.
La segunda, ustedes se alojaron con nosotros una sola noche, porque justamente no teníamos disponibilidad en esta habitación, por la misma razón no estaba permitido un late check out. Para nuestro establecimiento, hubiera sido un placer y ademas una ganancia económica poder guardarlos unas horas mas por un 50% del costo de la noche.

Nuestras toallas y sabanas de primera noche, a la llegada, son siempre nuevas y sin manchas, ustedes buscan no mas a perjudicar sin ser objetivos.
Ustedes reservaron una habitación estándar, básica, con precio muy bajo, como usted lo menciona, pero ofrecemos bungalow superior, de lujo, pero por pocos usd de mas, ustedes no quisieron pagar.
Hanga Roa es un pueblo muy pequeño, en cuanta a la supuesta lejanía, su comentario es exagerado, ya que la playa real de la isla es lejos de todos, a unos 20 kms del pueblo y todos sus alojamientos, por ende, no se justifica comentar que estamos lejos de la playa, siendo que nadie puede construir cerca de Anakena beach.

Con todo lo expuesto anteriormente, dejo en evidencia que su malestar no dependió de nuestro desempeño y menos de nuestra hospitalidad.
Somos muy acogedores, nos complace recibir a huéspedes, como si fueran amigos. La Isla es mágica, pero no somos magos. Hacemos nuestro posible para darles los herramientas para una mejor estadía, al mejor precio, el resto depende de ustedes.
Muy cordialmente, la Dirección.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2015

First, I think some of the reviewers here have been very unfair. Dogs and cockerels? They roam freely all over the island so there's be no escaping them anywhere, and as for cockerels crowing in the morning- that's kind of what cockerels do. The distance? There is a map you can look at before you book- and a 20-minute walk may seem far if you're used to driving everywhere, but my partner and I had a few days of walking and cycling planned and this seemed perfectly acceptable to us, a 20-minute walk is nothing in a city. Wifi? It's slow everywhere as the island is so remote it relies on satellite telecoms, and in any case Easter Island is not a place you go to waste time messing around on the internet. The dirt road? That's the kind of thing you get with undeveloped, unspoiled places. If you want asphalt roads, street lights and fast wifi maybe you should try Benidorm instead.

As for our stay, our nice big room with a terrace cost £108 for two people for three nights, which was incredible value. The room was cleaned every day, we got fresh towels on request (you need to leave them on the floor if you want them to be replaced), and toiletries were provided- which was very handy as it can be a bit tricky to buy them in Chile. Antoine, the owner, was very knowledgeable and always on hand to give us travel advice. One tip- the airport transfer is included as standard, and we only learned this having walked to the hotel, so when you get to the airport look out for Antoine waiting there with your name on a board!

The distance from the village actually had two big advantages- one, it was quieter than the village itself (despite the dogs and cockerels) and two, there was less light pollution so as well as the room being nice and dark for a good night's sleep, the stars looked INCREDIBLE at night. One night we got some beers in and sat on the terrace (with the hotel's three friendly cats) just enjoying being able to see the Milky Way from Earth- the view was so clear we even managed to get some pictures with my little compact camera.

Top tip for this place? Just try looking up... we did and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Neazden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

very far and not possible to go anywhere if u don't drive. Our group got 2 rooms and stayed here for a week. There was NO service at all. at day 1, without our permission, the owner came into our rooms and moved all of our stuff to the floor. He states belongings shouldn't be left on the beds. He moved all of our friends' clothes out to the yard and let them outside wet and on the dirt. He claimed dirty clothes can't be left inside the bathroom.

No breakfast but they claimed breakfast is included when u book the room. No one ever come in the clean the room within this one week stay. We had to take the trash out daily. Broken windows, leaking toilet and sink, plenty of bugs got into the room as there was no window screen.

Double check your final bill because they will add a mandatory tip of 10%, I considered that as dishonest so I request to remove the tip for my Non-existence service of this place. With the price u paid, u can get plenty of better choices in town. Think Twice!

Room Tip: Simply avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank July L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

This is going to be a bit long but if you are considering staying in this hotel, I highly recommend you read this. I was traveling around the world for 3 months and wanted a hotel which was within my budget and I found this one. They said the rate did not included any “service” but I had no idea what was to come. Before payment: they were nice to me. After payment: I received the most horrible treatment EVER in ANY hotel in my life. It started as soon as I arrived.
First of all this hotel is FAR FAR FAR from the city. You need a car or a scooter for sure.
The wifi is very weak, almost no existent.
I paid through paypal which took a few days to clear but when arrived there they simply FORCED (“you have to PAY all NOW!!!” kind of style) to pay again with my credit card because they were so greedy. (Later they received the money on paypal and send it back to me)
The first night was already a nightmare: dogs barking till 2am, then the roosters start at 4am. Also I could hear the person staying in the room next to mine SNORING because the walls are paper thin.
Also the sink, shower and flush make some noise when used that I was scared to use them in the night and wake up the people next to me. It really sounded like a plane taking off.
There is a plastic under the mattress on the bed which makes annoying noise all night long.
I told the owner and he told me I had booked for the whole week and could not leave. He said if I wanted a better room, I had to pay more but I figured it would be the same, as I am sure I would hear the dogs and roosters anyway.
After that it was just went downhill.
I had a scooter accident, my arm dislocated and I hurt my legs and arms badly. Something I don’t wish to happen to anyone while on a strange country. A lady saw me on the side of the road and helped me. She brought me to the hotel to pick up my passport and insurance card. The owner saw me arriving, all wounded and bleeding, my clothes full of blood and mud, and simply IGNORED me, did not ask if I was ok, if I needed any help, if I needed a ride to the hospital. NOTHING. It was just the most inhuman treatment ever.
When I came back from the hospital, still all dirty with mud and blood and when I told the owners it was not nice how they treated me, the owner’s wife started to CURSE me! NO JOKE!
The next day I washed my t-shirt and put it to dry on a plastic chair on my porch and the onwer’s wife RUN to me , SCREAMING, and said I could not do that.
The morning I had to check out and they told me I had to check out at 10:00. As my flight was at 23:00, I asked if I could have a late check out and he said NO, YOU CAN NOT, LEAVE THE HOTEL AT 10 OR I CALL THE POLICE.
Some nice people staying at the hotel too felt sorry for me and offered to keep my luggage in their room. Well, the hotel owners busted into their room, SCREAMING that it was not allowed, seriously SCREAMING. We were all in shock.
And believe it or not, I asked the owner why he was being so mean to me. The answer? He simply said to my face: because I don’t like you.
So you stay in a hotel and they treat you extremely bad just because they don’t like you. I could not believe what I heard.
Also he told me I was a cheap tourist, that I should not even be allowed to go on holiday...among other things.
So I just left early to the airport, with all my luggage , using just ONE arm. And they did not even ask if I needed any assistance. I am telling you, this is the most inhuman treatment I ever received.
I don’t think anyone is forced to LIKE anyone but I believe a hotel host should not treat people based on his personal opinion about a guest. He should keep it professional in all cases. And this was not the case here.
When I arrived back home, I needed a delicate surgery on my shoulder (latarjet surgery) and I am still recovering.
Also, other hotel guests told me horrific stories about their stay. Like how they try to make you to pay for things, like when you ask for a load of laundry to be done and they come AFTER it was done and say it did not fit in one load and they had to do 2 loads, which was clearly not the case for a SMALL load. They don’t ask the guests before if they are ok with it. And also how they were not allowed to use the TOILET after checking out.
If you are considering staying at this hotel, I really recommend you stay somewhere else. This is really a HORROR hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank fransamsterdam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

We stayed there four nights, during low season. The service was none-existant and we felt like we were more of a bother than anything else. Never the less, it was clean, decent, hot water, the terrasse and surrounding garden is lovely.
Count 15 minutes walking from the airport, and 30 minutes to the center and beach.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bibistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.5 km away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
40 reviews
1.3 km away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
418 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Camping Mihinoa
Camping Mihinoa
#5 of 96 in Easter Island
301 reviews
1 km away
Kahina Lodge
Kahina Lodge
#8 of 35 in Hanga Roa
75 reviews
0.6 km away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#13 of 61 in Hanga Roa
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atavai Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atavai Pension

Address: Avenida Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 139, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: €35 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atavai Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atavai hotel is situated in the only village of Easter Island, Hanga Roa. It has 7 comfortable rooms with private bathroom with shower and toilet. Mobil internet access via pendrive. The hotel also has car parking for its guests. The hotel inform you about all the activities in the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Atavai Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atavai Pension Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing