We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabanas Anakena(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$274
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aukara Bed & Breakfast(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Marari(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hostal Tojika(Hanga Roa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
73
67
28
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
67
28
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterfresh towelseaster islandtaxitownairportpesos
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Group of 10 pax. We spend a good time (3 days) at Atavai. Fantastic family gave us a good service. Nice, clean rooms, really hot water, helpfull tourist informations, free wi-fi, bbq in the garden. It was lowely time. I do recomend Atavai Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

The staff was amazing and speaks fluently english. Breakfest is served almost in to your bed. It is possible to change dollars for pesos at reception for the great rate. The transfer from airport was free of charge. Best value for the money on the island!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2014

it is much better than it looks on the website! We took the separate bungalow with sea view for a little extra. It was like if we were alone.
Antoine and his wife gave us a TOP service! I dont understand some of the bad comments on booking cause i would choose it again without any doubt

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliDykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When I booked, I was advised that there would be limited service during my stay. Considering what I paid, I was not too fussed. Compared to what you would pay at other places in the Island. Easter Island is an expensive place as you would expect for a place in the middle of the ocean far from everywhere else. But a worthy place to visit. Richard, the son of the owner/operators was helpful. There was no towel in my room when I checked in. I asked for one and it was provided. I guess if you ask politely, you will get the answer you want. A group of us staying there at the same time were given access to the fridge in the kitchen to chill our beers and milk after we asked. Also given kettle to make hot water in our rooms to make tea and coffee for a light breakfast in the mornings. Again, we asked and it was given. The place is a bit far out of town, Taxi only cost 2000 pesos so not that expensive and Richard was quite happy to call for one if you needed it. The walk into town is not too bad except if it is raining. The room was clean and has what you need which is a nice bed to sleep in at night after being out the whole day. I am not sure what the normal rate is during full service, but I believe I got value for the money I paid.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the back. Rooms 5-7 are quieter. However, Wi-Fi doesn't work well here. Better Wi-Fi in the front rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esekaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After booking, we got a message saying it was "low-service" because it was low season. This means: no breakfast, a closed restaurant and no room cleaning during your stay. So we were prepared for that. However, we got there and apparently "low-service" also means no towels. It also means being treated rudely when you have a question, and no toilet paper.

Yes, you read it right: this place refuses to give you toilet paper because you are there during low season! (although in fact nearly all rooms were occupied, so the season was not that low!).

The location is also far away from town, which means that any savings you may make by choosing this budget location are lost on the costs of renting a bicycle to actually get there (plus breakfast, towels and toilet paper).

Summary: terrible service, terrible location, terrible accommodation. On an amazing island that is absolutely worth visiting! We had friends staying at the Kaimana Inn at the same time, where even we received much better service than at Atavai.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Terrible hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OlafdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero,
Lamentamos su comentario y apreciación.
Le escribo en español porque usted habla perfectamente este idioma.
Al momento de hacer su reserva, el sitio donde usted efectuó su reserva informo a usted las condiciones por el periodo escogido:
El hotel ofrece un servicio limitado desde el 1 de mayo hasta el 1 de agosto de 2014. Durante dicho periodo, las tarifas de las habitaciones solo incluyen el alojamiento. No se facilitarán servicios de limpieza ni desayunos. Se proporcionará la ropa de cama, pero no se cambiará durante la estancia.
Es como arrendar un departamento, tiene un papel higiénico de cortesía, y después usted compra solito. Es falso decir que le negué el papel por baja temporada, sino que fue informado de las condiciones, y que son iguales para todos.

Estando informado de las condiciones, usted critica al establecimiento sin informar a los demás viajeros objetivamente.
Al partir del 01/08/2014, ofrecemos nuevamente los servicios habituales, y las tarifas son ajustadas a estos.
Por lo tanto, toda su queja con respecto a los servicios no ofrecidos esta fuera de lugar.
Efectivamente, nuestro establecimiento estaba completo, justamente por las excelentes tarifas ofrecidas, no por baja temporada, no tenemos baja temporada, tenemos clientes todo el año.
Se agradece respetar las normas del hotel, y espero que le queda claro que usted esperaba algo que no había contratado, que si, ofrecemos servicios, pero no en dicho periodo.
Usted no puede comparar con otro establecimiento que ofrece estos servicios pero a precios bien superiores, lo que es normal.
Ademas, donde sea que usted se aloja en el pueblo, es indispensable arrendar un vehículo para visitar la isla, a pies en tres días no se puede conocer Rapa Nui. Y si usted pretende conocer solo el pueblo, no estamos tan lejos, primeramente si lo hiciera caminando lo máximo que demoraría seria 25 minutos, si va en taxi 7 minutos, y el costo que usted habla es tan poco que se ve su mala fe porque no creo que 2.000 pesos de taxi sea mucho, ni para un país subdesarrollado y usted viene de Europa, por lo tanto 3 euros es muy poco para pretender confundir a otros viajeros.
Se agradece reconocer la tranquilidad del lugar, la belleza de su entorno, el confort de su habitación y de su grande terraza.
Bien cordialmente,
La dirección.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews