We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant for Miles”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I've been here four times now and it's 60 miles away from my house in Dublin. Keep coming back. Unbelievable food (award winning) and a great wine list. Not cheap, but the best things in life rarely. Great value for money. Can't recommend this enough. I haven't stayed but the restaurant is Michelin quality

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con_Keppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Step House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

My wife and I received a gift of a night in Step House, it was a rainy November afternoon and we arrived into the most welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and smiling staff, the room was large, warm, comfortable, with interiors to die for, we met the owner and her daughter, they were so friendly and accommodating, they really looked after us and our little guest Louis, Borris is a beautiful town with Step House being the Jewel in the crown, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I am just back from a lovely stay at the Step House Hotel. Myself and my partner stayed for one night. The room was gorgeous, very comfortable, the bathroom was very spacious and the bed which was in the centre of the room overlooking the huge bay windows was huge.

We had a beautiful dinner in Rubens with every course being recommended by the waiting staff. there was one very nice, professional waitress whose recommendations hit the nail on the head every course. really enjoyed it.

The pub was a nice little spot with a great deal on prosecco. All the staff in this hotel were some of the best we've ever encountered, from the restaurant to the reception desk to the pub 1808, they were friendly and accommodating.

We are already planning our next trip to this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to go for some unbelievable grub and a comfortable nights stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for one night as I purchased a City Deal offer. The stay did not disappoint. When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed there were no more standard rooms available so the receiptionist gave us the deluxe suite. The room & bathroom were lovely & bright, clean & very spacious. We had a meal in the restaurant which was only ok, portions were quite small and was really nothing special for the price. We got room service in the morning. The breakfast however was amazing & so much choice was on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We travelled 135 miles to stay just one night in The Step House Hotel. We were never in Borris before and probably will never be again, although this hotel could tempt us back!
The Hotel is right on the one street of Borris and has a dull grey exterior. However, reception is bright and friendly.
The lobby has a welcome open fireplace and the fire is up and warm early in the morning. Who doesn't like to sit before a good log fire and read the morning newspapers provided by the hotel? To the left of this fireplace you will find a splendid bar where you can have delicious food and a drink in comfort.
We were availing of a CITYDEAL offer and had the use of the Penthouse Suite. Boy, is it impressive! It's very private, cut off by its own door and staircase. Entry is by electronic key. The lounge area is massive, considering that the suite accommodates only two people. It is comprised of desk area, dining area with large table and six chairs, sitting area with loungers and easy chairs and a large tv. The lounge opens onto a large balcony with a view of miles of beautiful countryside, distant mountains and lazy clouds. Lovely to wake up to! The lighting set into the ceiling is on dimmers, so you can set your own mood.
The bedroom has a very comfortable six foot bed and lots of room. Off the bedroom is a very generous bathroom with double washbasins, bath, shower and toilet. (We were disappointed to find a constant unpleasant smell coming from the toilet area, but we brought this to the attention of reception so hopefully this has been remedied.)
We were surprised to find a separate dressing room complete with sauna and built-in radio.
The suite is very well planned, but the carpet is showing signs of overuse.
The suite was extra warm, so winter should be no problem.
In the morning we had a very tasty breakfast in the cellar room. This looks out onto a very well cared-for garden. The supply of juices, fruits, jams etc was plentiful. The cooked breakfast was excellent - after the gorgeous porridge with honey and cream.
Before you leave, take a stroll around the grounds of the hotel and enjoy as many as three beautiful gardens.
We loved this hotel and we imagine that it would be a fantastic venue for a small family wedding or other occasion.
Finally, the staff were fabulous and extremely friendly. Go visit www.stephousehotel.ie

Room Tip: Ask about a deal on the Penthouse Suite. Check the rackrate on the website and try to get a couple o...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
19.4 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
25.0 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
15.4 km away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
27.0 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
19.4 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: €85 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing